Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shopify Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
401 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet(in 57 reviews)

  • "Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can think of(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fastest, biggest game in town. Once in a lifetime phase of growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Engineering in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shopify is at the top of the Canadian technology scene. Smart, performance oriented, crazy sustained growth means you will see things you can’t see anywhere else. This is how the big companies you know about happened and it’s happening to a Canadian company. You can help. Wins matter in this business and Shopify is winning.

    Cons

    Pace and growth rate mean even though the company has the best of intentions, often challenges happen because no one has solved issues yet. Sometimes it’s fun being in the rocket but sometimes the g-forces can get you.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Salary, good environment and friendly teammates

    Cons

    Not much to complain about

    Shopify2020-03-25
  3. "One of the best places to work in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, wonderful perks and beautiful office (Toronto). Absolutely love working here.

    Cons

    Recruiting is broken, wish it was more transparent, feels a bit embarrassing to be fairly high up in the ladder (staff engineer) and not have your referrals matter. Meanwhile I interview candidates sourced by recruiting that are subpar, where my interview rejection rate is probably over 70%. It's not just me, it's an opinion that is shared by many in the company.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company in the past, troublesome employer at current."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - V P of Support in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, culture, culture. Wanna feel like you’re working at Apple HQ? Then Shopify is the company for you. From catered meals, to alcohol on tap, to Robots randomly wandering around the campuses ... it’s got it all.

    Cons

    Has outgrown its sense of self, that Startup Culture that was so vibrant that it made everything seem so exciting and fast paced.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-21
  5. "Make a difference while growing as a human being- this is the place to do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Support Specialist in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great compensation * Amazing culture * Not obsessed with degrees (CEO is a dropout, too!) (fair opportunity) * Super impactful work, easy to feel incredibly fulfilled in it * steady stable hours * clear and direct expectations * personal as well as professional growth coaching * ^ No actually though- My leadership has helped me grow more than my therapist. ;) * did I mention the inclusivity? * those perks, though. * Amazing health and dental benefits with the option to maximize them to be even better (Really great for families with kids who need braces etc * 1 year of salary top up for parental leave to like 85% of your wage. (So not neccesary, but so so good) * Baby bonus? Have a baby, get $1000! * Shares in the company (5k USD worth. Stellar!) * Incredible leadership * Incredible senior leadership * more opportunities for growth than you will know what to do with *

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. Oh! Got one. I work remote, so I don't leave my house enough. Shopify has that covered though, I could expense with my spending account a sitter to watch my kid while I hit the Gym with the gym membership I *also* expensed to my spending account. I just don't do that ;)

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-26
  6. "The Real review of the Guru role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working remote, good co-workers, time for professional growth, team building activities

    Cons

    lots of overtime, can be fired at any time, no opportunity of growth, hard to get time off, isolated from other product lines that work at the office

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-07

    Shopify Response

    March 16, 2020Social Care

    Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to give such candid feedback, it’s always welcome. I’m glad to hear you enjoy your time with your co-workers and working on team-building exercises. We understand how important it is that you are surrounded by good people in a positive work environment. Professional growth is something we encourage in every employee. We build for the long term here; having the time to explore your areas of interest and becoming an expert in your role means you can provide the best advice for the merchants, and that you will enjoy a long career at Shopify. I’m sorry to hear you've experienced issues with overtime. You are scheduled for 8 hours shifts and are not required or expected to work past those set hours. I would recommend speaking to your Squad Lead, or if you would feel more comfortable, you can reach out to your HR representative. The same thing applies for growth, this is something your Squad Lead is responsible for advocating. If you’ve come across any situations where you feel like you weren’t given the best chance to advance in your career here, please reach out to your lead or your HR rep. Regarding dismissal, we believe strongly that feedback is a gift and ensure that employees receive extensive coaching and performance management. We take these hard decisions seriously and with limited exceptions in cases of gross misconduct, a dismissal would never come as a surprise to an employee. Remote working can definitely have its challenges; meeting other teams is one for sure. It can be hard to meet or speak to new teams outside of your own squad or Guruland itself! We have a Sidekicks program that will match you with a random person in order to chat via slack and foster new relationships. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback, hearing honest feedback like this is how we can improve and grow in the future.

    Continue reading
  7. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work remote and this is a place that gives you freedom to work whenever you want as long as you get your work done. If you are self motivated, love to learn, can handle stress and change then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    May seem hard for people who are not self motivated or need a lot of guidance at work.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of issues - especially with leads/managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You'll work with the most amazing people. I've met my lifelong friends here. - Working for a company that people recognize globally is great - Great perks (food is taken care of including breakfast and lunch, lifestyle benefits, health benefits, mat and pat leave is unheard of) - Work on some really great projects

    Cons

    - There's a huge problem with leadership. A lot of the leads that are in place should not be leading people. They don't know what they're doing and don't get proper training. - A LOT of politics. It's all about who you know and it sucks for people who just want to work hard and mind their business - The marketing department has a lot of issues they need to work on. It makes for a pretty turbulent team to be on - They don't pay for the cost of living so there are huge wage disparities within the company. They try to make it seem like you should be grateful for the other benefits - so they don't pay what they should. Especially in such an expensive city like Toronto.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating if Your Lead is Disengaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities, new-age company tries their best to have a good culture.

    Cons

    Limited room for growth within the support team.

    Shopify2020-02-18
  10. "It's a really great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good salary, paid sick days, awesome coworkers and okey benefits

    Cons

    very, very high stress. You have to be tough to do this job. It burns everyone out at some point and it can be really overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-05
Found 533 reviews