Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shopify Reviews

Updated 22 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 457 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
340 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, and the benefits(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, you can make a lot of good friends, working remotely is nice(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's not enough being done to show care for gurus mental health(in 19 reviews)

  • "Creating your healthy work life balance is important(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (13)

    "Senior Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great growth mindset: learn, grow as fast as you can. Books, conference, training, etc: you own your own development - growth: growing company equal lots of opportunities to improve the platform - fast paced environment and hard problems with huge impact: if you like to solve problems, meaningful problems for millions of buyers and merchants this is the place to go! - no short term vision: we are here to build a 100 year company not make as much cash as possible. Tu are encouraged to do the right thing

    Cons

    - growth: there is no user manual and things change quickly. Lots of new people and an ever changing environment. - self motivated environment: no hard deadlines and there is no end to make commerce better.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-03-02
  2. "Cool place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits

    Cons

    You'll likely get less guidance/mentorship in what it takes to become a Product Manager than in more developed APM programs.

    Shopify2019-09-22
  3. "Smart people, focus on impact and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I moved to Shopify after years at a FAANG company in California. I see a lot of the pros that I liked about my previous company - smart people, focus on impact, transparent and open culture, solving hard problems, etc. I also found a much much better work/life balance here and a greater emphasis on investing in employee development and learning.

    Cons

    Comp is less than you could get at FAANG companies in California, but that's a tradeoff I was okay with for much better quality of life inside and outside of work

    Shopify2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Researcher in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Own your own growth and career progression Your talent is recognized and every step is taken to make you feel included and valued as an employee Company believes imperfection is perfection, never fear from making mistakes and learning from them Great Work Life Balance Ensured

    Cons

    There is nothing to report here

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-09-11
  5. "Lots of ownership & independence; change is constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, opportunity to make a real impact in your role, compensation package is competitive.

    Cons

    Performance transparency/accountability for management could be improved.

    Shopify2019-09-13
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, lots of opportunity to make an impact.

    Cons

    Salary for the guru role could be better.

    Shopify2019-09-11
  7. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work, excellent benefits, great support, great people

    Cons

    Keeping up with growth is difficult - lots of work to be done.

    Shopify2019-08-29
  8. "Amazing opportunity. You wont regret working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Learning Opportunity - Get your own store - Amazing Bonuses

    Cons

    - Being remote can feel isolating - Can get boring once you a high understanding of the role

    Shopify2019-08-28
  9. "Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with wonderful people

    Cons

    A lot of long hours and disconnection is tough

    Shopify2019-08-26
  10. "Good company, not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks and benefits, awesome coworkers

    Cons

    Only one speed. If you cannot keep up, you are drowning. Not the best for any with health problems or for any intersectionals, although they say they are improving this. Difficult to get time off. Inconsistent management seems to be a widespread problem, other employees were only too eager to tell me.

    Shopify2019-09-09
Found 457 reviews