Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Shopify Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
378 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet(in 54 reviews)

  • "Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some gurus are straight up smarter(in 25 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can think of(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (15)

    "Senior Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great growth mindset: learn, grow as fast as you can. Books, conference, training, etc: you own your own development - growth: growing company equal lots of opportunities to improve the platform - fast paced environment and hard problems with huge impact: if you like to solve problems, meaningful problems for millions of buyers and merchants this is the place to go! - no short term vision: we are here to build a 100 year company not make as much cash as possible. Tu are encouraged to do the right thing

    Cons

    - growth: there is no user manual and things change quickly. Lots of new people and an ever changing environment. - self motivated environment: no hard deadlines and there is no end to make commerce better.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-03-02
  2. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture, a place where you can really be yourself. Incredible perks, benefits. Flexible vacation, flexible work hours, work from home option. Great leadership so far in my experience. A lot of movement within the company, a place where you can grow if you really put yourself out there (of course having the relationships and connection helps). They're constantly moving forward so it's an engaging environment to be part of.

    Cons

    There's a lot of change at the company- things don't stay the same for long, so you have to be comfortable in that kind of environment. There wasn't a lot of formal training for my job, and for a lot of the positions at the company.

    Shopify2020-01-12
  3. "Worth the investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance Salaried pay Health benefits

    Cons

    Can be stressful Lots of multitasking A lot of responsibility

    Shopify2020-01-17
  4. "Great company and great job but you might start lookig to move up quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Safety Manager in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work Opportunity to be creative Learn about running a business from the merchants you speak to Lots to learn in a short time Great benefits

    Cons

    Can get tiring quickly, emotionally and mentally Pay for the amount of work can seem like little compared to other positions Can be hard to grow into other positions when you're busy focusing on this job

    Shopify2020-01-14
  5. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    There are no cons I can think of

    Shopify2020-01-14
  6. "Challenging in a mostly good (and sometimes bad) way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really innovative culture. For example, We have Meeting Free Wednesday every single week. This kind of thing is supported and practiced by our execs. Other small things: You feel trusted with your time and your projects. No one looking over your shoulder or micro-managing. If you're working in-office the food is top-notch. Extremely flexible hours and unlimited vacation which is a godsend for parents.

    Cons

    Change is constant and can be exhausting. Most people change leads/orgs at least once a year. We're still learning how to grow and scale our culture across thousands of people in multiple countries. Lots of the leadership rose up with the company, which has led to a perception that OG Shopifolk (5+ years) are front-of-the-line for new opportunities because of their tenure rather than their talent.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-08
  7. "Great company with great benefit package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    RSUs, free food, lifestyle spending account, super talented and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    The company moves quite quickly and things aren't always well written down and documented which makes it hard at times to keep up with the latest status of things

    Shopify2020-01-06
  8. "Oberlo Customer support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Oberlo Customer Success Manager in Squamish, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - low stress, work remote, great team

    Cons

    - extremely limited growth opportunities - growth is only available to people based in europe - no salary bonuses or raises, doesn't even keep up with inflation

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-13
  9. "Care more about stats than customer which is disappointing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Kelowna, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have very great benefits.

    Cons

    My manager got mad at me because my time in between calls was a minute longer than other people. It was pointed out that I finish my calls 6 minutes quicker than the rest of my team so I should just keep the customer on the line for an extra minute while I take notes so that my stats look better. This is from a company that "doesn't care about stats". I gave my notice after that because I don't want to take a customers time up just to make my stats better. It's sad because they seem like a good company but that just screams caring more about stats and bottom line than customers.

    Shopify2020-01-13
  10. "A challenging and exciting work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great deal of responsibility and autonomy Perks, including catered breakfast and lunch

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Shopify2019-12-24
Found 510 reviews