Shopify Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
407 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Oberlo Customer support"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Oberlo Customer Success Manager in Squamish, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - low stress, work remote, great team

    Cons

    - extremely limited growth opportunities - growth is only available to people based in europe - no salary bonuses or raises, doesn't even keep up with inflation

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-13
  2. "A challenging and exciting work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great deal of responsibility and autonomy Perks, including catered breakfast and lunch

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Shopify2019-12-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A company that cares deeply about both its employees and customers - a rare find!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Amazing Talent: The people that work at Shopify are world-class at what they do, which makes learning from their experience a massive perk. The “Don’t be an asshole” mantra is something everyone lives by, eliminating a lot of the toxicity of other workplaces I’ve been a part of 2. Growth Mindset: Shopify preaches the growth mindset from Tobi down to the frontlines, but they definitely also put their money where their mouth is. You can “Own your own development” and attend whatever relevant conferences you want, make book/workshop/online course investments, take dedicated study time to level-up (perhaps during meeting-free Wednesday) 3. Lifestyle Perks: From the free restaurant-quality breakfast and lunches, to the beer and kombucha on tap, to the spending accounts for fitness, travel, etc. Shopify constantly makes you love being at work and a part of the Shopify team. 4. Exec Team: Shopify’s executives are just very smart, logical and pragmatic people. From the regular townhalls they hold to answer ANY question that comes up and is voted on by employees, to the “default to open” mentality of corporate information, you don’t feel as though you’re working in an opaque corporation as is too often the case with most tech companies nowadays.

    Cons

    1. Startup Quirks: Shopify is very much so still a start-up in many ways. Not all processes are well defined, and who owns certain components can be hard to track down. But this also means things aren’t super rigid and bureaucratic. Personally a lot of this I’d still consider a pro, but I didn’t have much else to write here. 2. Internal Movements: Shopify does love promoting people internally, but there are definitely some times when being internal hurts. Usually, if you’re a Guru, since the demand to get a non-support role is so large. There are also very significant compensation discrepancies for internal hires vs external ones, which can suck for people getting promoted.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-12-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    People, culture, management. I love that everyone loves working there

    Cons

    I had a great time there. Literally nothing I can say here

    Shopify2019-12-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Positive growth environment - though still in development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning, Encouragement, Growth opportunities, Perks

    Cons

    Poor organization, young inexperienced management

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-12-11
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Promises dreams, sells nightmares"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Lead in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -salary is decent -benefits are good

    Cons

    -this company will drain your heart and soul and then send you packing out the door when they have a replacement for you that costs them less money.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-15
  7. "Opportunity is yours for the taking"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Team Lead in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Unlimited (personal and professional) growth opportunities if you show interest and engagement - Ability to come to work as your authentic self - Ability to speak freely about your opinions on how things get done, even if you don't agree - You can learn from and observe the practices of some of the smartest people in the world

    Cons

    - More people to depend on so it takes longer to get the same stuff done compared to a few years ago. - Terrible HRMS to work with. GET RID OF WORKDAY! :) - Some teams are bloated.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-12-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Choose your own adventure"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Strategist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Despite being relatively large at this point, Shopify has retained its scrappy, 'choose your own adventure' culture. You are literally in control of your own destiny here, which is both daunting and empowering—if you don't push for a project, team, or promotion, it won't be handed to you. If you chase it, you will be rewarded, and the company is very focused on fostering people that can show this. That may sound like a red flag, but the company has focused heavily on ensuring this isn't only promoting the loudest voices. Instead, it's methodical about ensuring everyone is considered, regardless of if they're introverted or extroverted. It's a great place to work, if you like big, meaty challenges that let you hone multiple skills at once- and they'll take care of you. Most importantly, through all of this, you'll be able to leave by 5.30 every day, and you're encouraged not to work late—which demonstrates just how much the company is focused on people.

    Cons

    Context overload. Unlike every other company, Shopify is obsessed with documenting both the failures and successes, as well as how to repeat the latter. While this is complete overload at first, I've come to realize that this isn't negative once you push through it—at any company you'd be figuring out unspoken rules constantly, and having to ask for basic information.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-12-12
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Not What You Think"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are pretty good, they are very customizable. You get 5000 every year in a Lifestyle spending account, dedicated to improving your health eg. shoes, canoe, etc. Th benefits are what are keeping me from leaving right now.

    Cons

    Initial Observations: I was actually very excited to work for Shopify, I thought it would be a good opportunity for me to elevate my skills and try a new field, but it didn't really go as planned. I realized very early that, Guru's are not paid nearly as much as they deserve - considering the amount of work that we do. Your bi-weekly pay will be around 1,250 (if you are working in Ontario). I know some may be like, “thats not bad, why the complaints," it’s really hard to explain exactly what the job entails, because of how much I do - I would be writing an essay, but I know for sure it is definitely not enough. Training Experience: I was part of a training pilot which was only 4 weeks long. Usually, training for Guru's is 6 weeks, but they shorted it to 4 for my team, as a “test.” I believe this really negatively impacted me as a Guru, not only in terms of preparedness when I hit live channels, but also what was expected of me in my role. During training, it was a constant race against time. My trainer was always rushing, always cutting things short or giving us unreasonable deadlines because there wasn't enough time to truly go through all the content. I found myself skimming through the Bridge Courses (course readings) because there was simply never enough time to fully read through them. At times, this resulted in me having to spend 2-4 hours completing tasks that were suppose to be done in training, on my own time after work. Which isn't really ideal nor is it fair. Furthermore, you only have a few days to learn how to navigate 3 chats at once. This may sound like "oh a fews days, not bad" but in reality it requires a lot more time/practice, it not as easy as it seems, it is actually very stressful. The questions in chats, can be extremely complex considering how dynamic the platform is. You are also required to take notes for every ticket, reach out to live channels, and do follow-up emails, while simultaneously trying to solve the problem. Most of the questions I have received in chats, I did not learning training, it required my own research during the live chat. Furthermore, another common rumour about Shopify is that is it easy to move up. During training, you have various people from different teams that chat to you about how they moved up to different teams. One thing they all have in common is that they “started as guru’s, just like you.” I can’t even begin to explain how many times I heard that phrase. Actually, it is not that easy to move up. I witnessed members of my team (who have been there 3-4 years) mentioning they would love to move to other teams - eg. Risk or Theme Support. They would ask about steps and how they can reach their goals. Squad Leads and trainers, literally say “Master the Guru role first.” Which to some degree I understand, how can you move on to another role is you haven’t mastered your current role. The thing is though, you can never really “master the Guru role,” you can never know everything about the Guru role because of how dynamic the role is. Instead, it’s really based on who you know and how likeable you are. It really depends on your Squad Lead, they stand between you and your goal. Management Attitudes/Guidance: As the weeks began to draw closer to my time to hit live channels solo, I became extremely anxious, I knew I wasn’t ready and I felt extremely unprepared. I was struggling in my mentored chats, and also just struggling with what my role was and how to answer merchant questions. It was not only me who felt this way. I remember a peer on my training team, literally saying in a video call, “I do not feel prepared, there are a lot of Guru horror stories about this feeling, how do I navigate this, how can you guys help me?” Our lead, completely dodged the question. The answer was, “all starting guru’s feel this way,” and he later sent her a video on how to manage stress. That is the problem with Shopify. They do not take Guru concerns seriously or at all. I was feeling burnout during my training and I am still feeling it now as a regular Guru, and no one actually addresses this issue head on. Instead, they glaze over it with comments like, “everyone feels this way,” “you’re not managing your stress properly,” “maybe this isn’t the job for you,” “you’re not being resourceful enough,” THIS IS NOT OKAY. By doing this, Shopify is taking accountability off of themselves, and placing on the Guru, this is extremely dismissive, toxic, and not an appropriate way to address/solve concerns. This type of dismissive behaviour, has really had a negative impact on my mental health. I know that the employer comment to this is going to be something like, “Surprised to hear this, we take our employee’s mental health seriously, we try to provide the best training and support, blah blah blah,” I know this is what you believe in and strive for, but it is not actually how it manifests. I am constantly feeling like I am not good enough at my job, that this job isn’t for me, that my feelings aren’t valid, that my stress is my own fault. It wasn’t until recently that I realized, these are all things I heard from Shopify Leads, as a way to shift accountability and not actually address issues within the structure of the Guru role. The feelings Guru’s are having, speak more to the training/support not being as effective as it should be, it is not solely the Guru.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-12-17
  10. "Great company culture, amazing growth opportunities, plus all the added perks!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Two words. Amazing culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes directions on a project are unclear but team is always there to help clarify.

    Shopify2019-12-11
Found 550 reviews