Shopify Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
406 Ratings
  1. "Excellent people and benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with smart and driven people who care about their work. Employees are treated well and benefits are excellent

    Cons

    Leadership sometimes lacks direction and communicates poorly

    Shopify2020-04-29

    Shopify Response

    May 8, 2020Social Care

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! It's so great to hear you enjoy your role. We understand how important it is that you are surrounded by good people in a positive work environment. We’re building a company where everyone has the potential to have a positive impact on our business. This includes everything from our products to our technology to our people. Putting care into everything we do will benefit everyone in the long run, both inside and outside Shopify! As I'm sure you've experienced yourself, our company has doubled in size over 2018/19 and is still growing. This means we need to keep up with that growth internally to make sure we are all on the same page! This is great feedback for us to take on-board, so thank you for being so open. Thanks again for the review!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Assistant in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    oh my god its just so good

    Cons

    nothing bad at all for sure

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-04-19

    Shopify Response

    May 7, 2020Social Care

    Hey, there! Oh wow, that's so kind of you! It's amazing to hear that someone who has been here are long as you have is still so happy in their role. Success stories like this show how great it can be when a company and an employee grow together. Thank you so much for leaving a review, and we look forward to many more happy years together!

  3. "Best company in canada"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Web Developer 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Nice challenge, good environment and friendly teammates, good benefit.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain, I'm really happy here.

    Shopify2020-04-18

    Shopify Response

    May 6, 2020Social Care

    Hey! Thanks so much for the review here. It's always great to hear when a current employee is so happy in their role. Being a constant learner is something we value highly here, so I'm glad to hear you have a role that challenges you and helps you grow. Your teammates and your work environment are also so important. You’ll have limited impact if you act alone; the best products come from a mix of ideas, experiences, and perspectives. This is the path to collective impact. You seem to be on the right path with such positive surroundings! Thanks again for the review. Heres to many more happy years!

  4. "Guru"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Company cares about its employees

    Cons

    Taking call after call can be very draining Have to do 3 chats at one time.

    Shopify2020-04-14

    Shopify Response

    April 28, 2020Social Care

    Hey, thanks so much! It's great to hear you enjoy working with us. The products we build here are critical to our merchants' livelihoods and the success of their businesses. Our employees are vital to that product, so we absolutely care! The workload can be tough; especially as the platform grows and we have more and more merchants to support. Your wellbeing is important, so do be sure to reach out to your Squad Lead or HR rep if you would like to request some personal time to rest! In the meantime, I can pass your feedback along to our Support Solutions team so they are aware of this pain point. Thank you again for the review!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Remote Shopify Success Guru"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Offices, Culture, Lifestyle Spending

    Cons

    High stress, burn-out, lack of diversity

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-04-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Salary, good environment and friendly teammates

    Cons

    Not much to complain about

    Shopify2020-03-25

    Shopify Response

    April 8, 2020Social Care

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to be able to offer our employees a competitive salary and a great work environment; I’m glad to hear you benefitted from it. Thanks again, and have a great day!

  7. Helpful (3)

    "One of the best places to work in Canada"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, wonderful perks and beautiful office (Toronto). Absolutely love working here.

    Cons

    Recruiting is broken, wish it was more transparent, feels a bit embarrassing to be fairly high up in the ladder (staff engineer) and not have your referrals matter. Meanwhile I interview candidates sourced by recruiting that are subpar, where my interview rejection rate is probably over 70%. It's not just me, it's an opinion that is shared by many in the company.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Made to feel old and worthless!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Guru 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See pros aren't pros, because they are to pay off the cons. So nope, not worth it.

    Cons

    Sink or swim, they don't care. They do not help you in areas you are struggling with, they just consistently bash you with terrible QA. All about the merchants! During the Covid we have been taken abuse from merchants, have to take it BC they are under stress! What about us? Just BC we work does not mean this situation isn't affecting us! Let's push our support over the edge. If you have a lead who cares, your golden, if not, crash and burn. People off of work stressed because they fire people for no reason, other than, the SL doesn't like you. HR is so full of themselves, flouncing her I'm better than everyone else attitude, upper management so disillusioned about how great Shopify is. Workers are a number, easily replaced. You aren't a millenial, goodluck surviving! They don't care, they are hoping you will quit. Don't like it here, bubye is their motto.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-04-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing company in the past, troublesome employer at current."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - V P of Support in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, culture, culture. Wanna feel like you’re working at Apple HQ? Then Shopify is the company for you. From catered meals, to alcohol on tap, to Robots randomly wandering around the campuses ... it’s got it all.

    Cons

    Has outgrown its sense of self, that Startup Culture that was so vibrant that it made everything seem so exciting and fast paced.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "The Real review of the Guru role"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working remote, good co-workers, time for professional growth, team building activities

    Cons

    lots of overtime, can be fired at any time, no opportunity of growth, hard to get time off, isolated from other product lines that work at the office

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-07

    Shopify Response

    March 16, 2020Social Care

    Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to give such candid feedback, it’s always welcome. I’m glad to hear you enjoy your time with your co-workers and working on team-building exercises. We understand how important it is that you are surrounded by good people in a positive work environment. Professional growth is something we encourage in every employee. We build for the long term here; having the time to explore your areas of interest and becoming an expert in your role means you can provide the best advice for the merchants, and that you will enjoy a long career at Shopify. I’m sorry to hear you've experienced issues with overtime. You are scheduled for 8 hours shifts and are not required or expected to work past those set hours. I would recommend speaking to your Squad Lead, or if you would feel more comfortable, you can reach out to your HR representative. The same thing applies for growth, this is something your Squad Lead is responsible for advocating. If you’ve come across any situations where you feel like you weren’t given the best chance to advance in your career here, please reach out to your lead or your HR rep. Regarding dismissal, we believe strongly that feedback is a gift and ensure that employees receive extensive coaching and performance management. We take these hard decisions seriously and with limited exceptions in cases of gross misconduct, a dismissal would never come as a surprise to an employee. Remote working can definitely have its challenges; meeting other teams is one for sure. It can be hard to meet or speak to new teams outside of your own squad or Guruland itself! We have a Sidekicks program that will match you with a random person in order to chat via slack and foster new relationships. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback, hearing honest feedback like this is how we can improve and grow in the future.

Found 551 reviews