Shopify Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
464 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet(in 57 reviews)

  • "Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "There were no cons during my time there(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "It's a really great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good salary, paid sick days, awesome coworkers and okey benefits

    Cons

    very, very high stress. You have to be tough to do this job. It burns everyone out at some point and it can be really overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-05
  2. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture, a place where you can really be yourself. Incredible perks, benefits. Flexible vacation, flexible work hours, work from home option. Great leadership so far in my experience. A lot of movement within the company, a place where you can grow if you really put yourself out there (of course having the relationships and connection helps). They're constantly moving forward so it's an engaging environment to be part of.

    Cons

    There's a lot of change at the company- things don't stay the same for long, so you have to be comfortable in that kind of environment. There wasn't a lot of formal training for my job, and for a lot of the positions at the company.

    Shopify2020-01-12
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Recent Guru"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being able to work from home

    Cons

    Unbelievable expectations from gurus. It is always expanding and covers all aspects of the front facing business. Includes trouble shooting, coaching and SALES WHICH THEY TRY TO DISGUISE. The pay is in no way aligned with the work required. You are contantly micromanaged by less than competent managers and get hammered for stepping away from your computer for a minute. 30-minute lunch break! What??? Unless I'm ordering takeout every day, it doesn't work. They expect you to have fast internet, but don't pay for it?? Expect you to be reachable by the slack app on your cell phone but don't cover your plan or phone???? Supremely unprofessional and use all the colorful language you can think of, which is endorsed by corporate because I guess they're hip? Everybody you meet talks about how they moved up from being a guru into whatever role they are in now. YA OK, when there were 100 employees that's bound to happen, not when there's 10000. This also results in incompetence all across.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-11-13
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Shopify is not taking employee burnout seriously"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and working from home is ideal. A lot of really nice people work at this company.

    Cons

    The guru role is expanding all the time and it is almost impossible to keep up. Management is just not listening and I've been here for 2 years and can see they are not listening. Burn out is frequent and real, and with only 10 sick days a year allowed, you end up taking days off and not getting paid for them if you go over those 10 days. The work load of the role has increased 100% but the salary definitely has not kept pace with that. 30 minute lunches and being micro managed is really frustrating. Shopify says they trust us and we are adults, but they micro manage guru's and watch our every move - even bathroom breaks! Steer clear of this role if you are thinking of this company.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Rapid growth was not handled well by management and Gurus suffered"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good, hardworking teammates Working from home has its perks Nice benefits

    Cons

    - Management/leads did not convey expectations for the role, and they seemed to change constantly without notice or context, which was frustrating and I was often left feeling like I didn't know how to succeed in the role - No real room for career growth, because of how big the role is now, I would say don't hold out expecting this to be an 'entry' position as it might have been a few years ago

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-08-20
  6. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Ability to work from home • Benefits include company stock

    Cons

    • Employees that work from home don't get as many 'perks' as those in the offices

    Shopify2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Great mission- guruland needs work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Easy mission to get behind: make commerce better for everyone - Visionary CEO - Working from home can be awesome - Great peeks + benefits - The guru role will give you a strong knowledge base not only of the Shopify platform, but also allows you to learn how to be an expert in commerce in general. If you are into business/entrepreneurship, this is a great way to learn and get paid at the same time. - People you work with are really genuinely nice. Your squad becomes your family. - Very progressive company in many ways when it comes to inclusion, diversity, mental health, and self care

    Cons

    Shopify is a great company to work for. If you are able to embrace the role of guru until mastery and then move on to something better, I think it’s a great stepping stone into other areas of the company. The cons below reflect my views of guruland. - Some gurus are straight up smarter + show more potential than their squad leads. From a high performer perspective, it’s tough to be coached by someone you know you can do the job better than. Unfortunately, if you want to advance and/or keep your position, you will need to get this person on your side and let them believe they are helping you so that they feel like they’re good at their job. - Reward for high performance is minimal. Even if you exceed your KPIs by 2x or 3x the expectation, the alleged “maximum” increase after a performance review is not much. If someone is putting up metrics that are equivalent to the work of 2 or 3 people, should they be getting paid only slightly more than the weakest link? - 30 min lunch is too short in my opinion. The issue is that scaling an extra 15 or 30 mins across hundreds of employees equates to a serious loss of productivity. I still think it would be worth it for employee morale, but there’s no data to show that. - Middle management and upper-middle management have some blind spots when it comes to the front line. Sometimes it feels like they are too removed. I’d love to see them hop back into the job 1 full day per quarter to regain perspective. - I don’t think the comp increase to go to a squad lead matches the responsibility increase. - advancement into another role is a grind. You can go through multiple rounds of interviews to find out that they are no longer hiring for that role. - internal talent movement can be better leveraged. The talent available in guruland is very high, but I feel like many high performers are not being used to their full potential. - the kool aid is good at first, but after a while it’s just kool aid, and you can spot it very easily - sometimes you will interact with incompetent and or disrespectful people.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-24
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Poor Upper Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constant learning, work from home (no commuting), great teams

    Cons

    Management very young with no experience, schedule horrible have to work every holiday, tied to the desk hard to even take a potty break, 3 technical chats at the same time saying do not need to code but you do. They made many training errors and threatened to fire immediately instead of taking responsibility for their errors.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Happy"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Guru 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home, flexibility, learning opportunities

    Cons

    Weekend work, difficult to disconnect

    Shopify2019-06-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Best Training Program I've ever seen"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great training, (4 weeks of training, 2 weeks of mentoring) makes you feel confident going into the job. -Work from home is amazing -Pays better than similar jobs -Benefits and League spending account are amazing.

    Cons

    Working Some stat holidays sort of sucks, but you DO get 2.5x your pay for that day.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-24
Found 57 reviews