Nuance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1955 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
150 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be challenging at times(in 50 reviews)

  • "Why then, do you essentially break the law by classing your transcriptionists as independent contractors and pay them way less than minimum wage(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "High responsibility, quick learner, work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Tester 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment and nice colleagues

    Cons

    Much more the repeated job

    Nuance2019-06-23
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for more than 8 years

    Pros

    All employees are very friendly and helpful. Great pay!

    Cons

    No complaints at this time.

    Nuance2019-08-07
  3. "Overall pretty good place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is competitive. Benefits are awesome! Personally my managers have been very supportive and fair towards me. Can't say the same for all managers at Nuance from some colleagues/ex-colleagues testimonies. Location of MTL office is a plus. The impact of my work is satisfying. In my division, you know that your work will be used by thousands of people.

    Cons

    Teams are always understaffed. Hiring could be better both in terms of quality and quantity. While Nuance strives to maintain compensation parity among employees based on seniority, competence is not necessarily used as a factor. This can result in highly performing young people being rewarded less than average/low performance people who have more years in the business. No or very limited team bonding activities...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reward top employees better so you can retain them. Improve hiring process. Make sure goals set by upper management is being properly implemented by mid level managers. Reward teams generously for their successes.

    Nuance2019-08-19
  4. "Nice Comany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    Office is located in downtown Montreal

    Cons

    Gat coffee needs more waiting time, maybe too many people

    Nuance2019-08-01
  5. "Salary and Benefits are good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They hire exceptionally talented people and all sales engineers and sales people work from home when not travelling

    Cons

    Management doesn't always communicate the corporate vision to the people who carry the responsibility to fulfill their sales goals

    Nuance2019-08-14
  6. "Good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere and a good place to gain experience

    Cons

    Nothing, perhaps they can stop using free software only

    Nuance2019-07-30
  7. "RUN FROM THIS SWEATSHOP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Medical Language Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nuance for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got to be chained to PC at HOME. Only chose 1 star rating because I had to. If possible it would be minus 5 stars. Ridiculous!

    Cons

    Too many to list. Pay went from average of $24 an hour to $3-6 hour. That's what you get for working for them for 4 years. They pay you for half the lines you do and call them "converted". It should be illegal to do what this company does. I have 18 years of experience being a medical transcriptionist and the way they treat their independent contractors is disgusting. Couldn't survive and had to leave, as I have to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers what they're worth. Minimum wage is $14/hour and you somehow get away with paying $3 to $6 an hour. How is that even legal?

    Nuance2019-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Transcription Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, comfort, quiet

    Cons

    Bad pay, bad attitude, treated like a slave

    Nuance2019-08-06
  9. "I have been working at Nuance full-time for 7 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good, experienced people, friendly environment.

    Cons

    Social life is at minimum level.

    Nuance2019-07-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Leading voice recognition and artificial intelligence software development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Latest technology and very collaborative team using subject matter experts around the world

    Cons

    Very little career development support

    Nuance2019-07-11
Found 1955 reviews