Nuance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1784 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good place to work in waterloo area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    people will make it or break it

    Cons

    just like in any other company - if you join a good team - you are ok, if not then....

    Nuance2019-03-16
  2. "Coop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Nuance full-time

      Pros

      Good culture. Flexible hours and good area

      Cons

      Had No immediate cons recognized

      Nuance2019-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Average Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - QA Analyst in Montreal, QC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible Work hours Have some greats minds out there Free Coffee

      Cons

      Not good enough to retain employees for long. Need to work upon internal team environment Frequent Layoff's

      Advice to Management

      The management needs to understand that the employees are human resources and not just resources.

      Nuance2019-04-29
    • "Better off working in retail"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Vancouver, BC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      - Sometimes your leads are nice - Flexible schedule - Work from home

      Cons

      - Wages are way less than transcriptionists are paid in the hospital - You make the same money as incompetent people - Most leads do not care about you or your time; most don't bother to respond at all - Awful, prehistoric systems that only dinosaurs would use - No paid training - Tech support expects to fix their prehistoric system issues on your own unpaid time - The list goes on

      Advice to Management

      Pay your employees what they're worth and by quality. I have been a transcriptionist for almost a decade and you're paying me the same amount as people who can't even spell medication names properly. What a slap in the face.

      Nuance2019-05-21
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Nuance

        Pros

        Nice office, free coffee, free food

        Cons

        No dogs at the office

        Nuance2019-04-05
      • Helpful (7)

        "Big promises, disappointing reality"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Montreal, QC
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nuance was very kind to me, they brought me from my home country to their Montreal office, followed through on the hiring process, were willing to help and train me, and recognized my efforts with good reviews, raises, a promotion, and business trip for more training. I worked day and night to guarantee I was giving back and they were happy with my contributions

        Cons

        But that didn’t mean a thing because their layoffs are decided by accountants and not actual management. I got cut with 15 other people in my office and overall 200 people as part of this Azure restructuring. Now I’m stranded in a new country needing to try and make things work with work permits, residency, etc and why? Because of some top-heavy decision

        Advice to Management

        Seriously take a moment and reflect on what your company is all about. Strapping managers with 35+ employees, half of which are remote, is not a recipe for effective communication. Cutting massive numbers of people doesn’t inspire your remaining teams to work hard for the sake of producing a superior product. Nuance sadly isn’t on the cutting edge of this field anymore, and buying up tons of companies won’t change that,...

        Show More
        Nuance2019-02-13
      • Helpful (1)

        "Chaos"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Interesting projects and smart people

        Cons

        No process whatsoever. Lack of planning and organization. Same people assigned to work on everything while others in the cafeteria

        Advice to Management

        Slow down and improve your process

        Nuance2019-03-28
      • "Solution Architect"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Nuance full-time

        Pros

        Friendly working environment, good benefits and perks and flexible hours

        Cons

        you could get assigned by tasks with lack of instructions or clear guidelines

        Nuance2019-02-09
      • Helpful (5)

        "Disgusting company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Nuance

        Pros

        Work from home, make your own hours.

        Cons

        It’s really gross reading these reviews. Apparently you pay INTERNS really well and give your IT guys lots of vacation time. Why then, do you essentially break the law by classing your transcriptionists as independent contractors and pay them way less than minimum wage?

        Nuance2019-03-13
      • "Growing company with opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Nuance full-time

        Pros

        Interesting products, flexible work schedule, fair benefit

        Cons

        Process and documentation need to be improved

        Nuance2019-02-07
      Found 1784 reviews