Nuance Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
20 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + great culture + cutting edge technology

    Cons

    + average salary compare to market

    Nuance2020-02-28
  2. "Nice Comany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    Office is located in downtown Montreal

    Cons

    Gat coffee needs more waiting time, maybe too many people

    Nuance2019-08-01
  3. "Interesting company, Great location, Awesome people, Not-so-amazing projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work along the finest of software engineers who are extremely talented, modest and were super helpful. Some intense work happening out here. You aren't treated as an intern but as a regular employee. You are assigned tasks, you get to participate in team meetings and daily status calls.

    Cons

    The work can get way too monotonous at times. Not as interesting as other projects.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-02-16
  4. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great benefits -4 weeks starting vacation (great for travelers) -Good starting salary -Ability to grow and climb to new positions -Can work from home fairly frequently (some teams even allow permanent work from home)

    Cons

    -Worked with proprietary technologies which hinders my ability to learn standard industry used tech -Some deadlines were unreasonable and upper management would not realize how much how pressure they were applying on some teams. -Sometimes hard to get feedback on where you stand on the team and the quality of your work. Waited about 1 year before asking about how I can get promoted to the next level up

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-03-26

    Nuance Response

    March 29, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear you are enjoying the overall benefits and amenities. We appreciate your advice to management.

    Continue reading
  5. "Software QA Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software QA Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    free drinks, coffee, personal work place

    Cons

    when the project's budget is not enough, they will don't hire the contractor whatever the contract is finish or not

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-03-18
  6. "Good salary for an intern, Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good work / learning opportunities -Senior Engineerins / mentors are very understanding

    Cons

    -Some teams are not worth joining

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-02-04
  7. "Great company to learn from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    -I have been working in Nuance for 5 months now as an intern. -It's a great place to learn, but to be honest, it all depends on your team and manager. I have seen interns who can't wait to get out as their tasks are boring or the team doesn't really give them values, which wasn't my case really. -I have seen many layoffs, which makes me worry to stay or not after my internship is over. -I have been working on good projects with challenging tasks that gave me the opportunity to learn in the 4-5 months what I haven't learned during my academic years.

    Cons

    -I don't really know about the budget of the company but I have seen many companies who offer free lunch everyday. -The HR people treat the interns badly except the recruiters, they are really friendly. Otherwise, everyone else look at you as you are here for a couple of days and that's it.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-02-03
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of benefits, good work balance and environment to work

    Cons

    Not the highest salary, but you get benefits that worth it

    Nuance2017-12-06
  9. "Software Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours Fun project Cutting-edge technology Looks great on resume Well respected company Meaningful work Good intern pay

    Cons

    Intern work can be hit or miss. Really depends on the team. Bring back the foosball table and other cool perks that most other tech companies have.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-11-05
  10. "software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Software Engineering Intern in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    good environment, good people and interns

    Cons

    boring task, slow pace, not challenging enough

    Nuance2017-06-16
Found 138 reviews