Nuance "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
204 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "work-life balance can be difficult at times(in 55 reviews)

  • "I heard later that Nuance fired all its California-based transcriptionists because that state instituted a higher minimum wage ((in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Best place to start your career at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started my career at Nuance as an intern and then I converted to full time. I worked with different teams, under different managements. It's the best place to learn at, great technology and super team mates that are always willing to help. Work from home as you want, some people work from home everyday and it's okay as long as you do your job perfectly. Depends on the divisions you work in, you may end up working with old boring technology OR the top trending ones. I have been into both and I'm glad as it gave me the opportunity to experience both.

    Cons

    Nothing in my opinion. All is great as far as I experienced

    Continue reading
    Nuance2020-01-12
  2. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You can work from home - Great colleagues - Good balance between work and life

    Cons

    - Executives only cared about the stock market

    Nuance2020-01-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nuance Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Freedom to work from home

    Cons

    Heavy workload, minimal salary increases

    Nuance2019-11-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best employers in Montreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President & General Manager, Security & Biometrics in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, great working environment, generous compensation, ability to work from home, perfect location downtown, global workforce and global customer base

    Cons

    Non-stop work load - need to be always connected.

    Nuance2019-11-01
  5. "Technology company, not an MTSO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Superior technology and abundant workflow, work from home.

    Cons

    Low pay, standard price for all kinds of dictations,

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Salary and Benefits are good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They hire exceptionally talented people and all sales engineers and sales people work from home when not travelling

    Cons

    Management doesn't always communicate the corporate vision to the people who carry the responsibility to fulfill their sales goals

    Nuance2019-08-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Transcription Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Work from home, comfort, quiet

    Cons

    Bad pay, bad attitude, treated like a slave

    Nuance2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Better off working in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Sometimes your leads are nice - Flexible schedule - Work from home

    Cons

    - Wages are way less than transcriptionists are paid in the hospital - You make the same money as incompetent people - Most leads do not care about you or your time; most don't bother to respond at all - Awful, prehistoric systems that only dinosaurs would use - No paid training - Tech support expects to fix their prehistoric system issues on your own unpaid time - The list goes on

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-05-21
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Disgusting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Nuance

    Pros

    Work from home, make your own hours.

    Cons

    It’s really gross reading these reviews. Apparently you pay INTERNS really well and give your IT guys lots of vacation time. Why then, do you essentially break the law by classing your transcriptionists as independent contractors and pay them way less than minimum wage?

    Nuance2019-03-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The guy at the gas station makes more than me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - MLS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work at home and that is it.

    Cons

    One word can literally sink your whole paycheck. The only time I hear from management is to be reprimanded for not meeting turn around time.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-10-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 375 reviews