Nuance Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1837 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
139 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work from home.

    Cons

    Very unfair wages for Canadian employees. Very demanding and stressful work when you have to meet a consistent 99% or higher accuracy on workload with a lot of poor dictators. Do not work here!

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-01-22
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of process, infinite email threads, overallocation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code and attitude. Nice people. Many PHD’s (not sure this is a plus though) and interesting product. But this doesn’t make up for the cons unfortunately.

    Cons

    Not a place you want to join. People work in silos. Managers go to meetings to update on behalf of the developers. Everybody is over-allocated (3 times their capacity) so when they deliver it’s often low quality and a few quarters behind. Everybody knows it so they pad their estimates... still no work life balance , nobody cares about employee satisfaction... managers make decisions without consulting anybody...

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-01-13
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of benefits, good work balance and environment to work

    Cons

    Not the highest salary, but you get benefits that worth it

    Nuance2017-12-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Job is not secured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Chance to experience ASR, Dialogue, etc.

    Cons

    They are not a research-oriented company.

    Nuance2018-01-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Sometimes your leads are nice - Flexible schedule - Work from home

    Cons

    - Wages are way less than transcriptionists are paid in the hospital - You make the same money as incompetent people - Most leads do not care about you or your time; most don't bother to respond at all - Awful, prehistoric systems that only dinosaurs would use - No paid training - Tech support to fix their prehistoric system issues on your own unpaid time - The list goes on

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-12-14

    Nuance Response

    December 21, 2017

    Thank you for your review. This glassdoor page is actually for our corporate roles. Please feel free to provide feedback directly to our Transcription Services page here: https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/Nuance-Transcription-Services-Reviews-E537513.htm

    Continue reading
  6. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Work from Home 4 weeks PTO from day 1

    Cons

    I got laid off since company was restructuring

    Nuance2017-10-25

    Nuance Response

    October 25, 2017

    Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that this occurred to your however like many larger organizations layoffs do occur. We are glad you enjoyed the flexible schedule and time off as that is important to us.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NLU Engineer / Dialog Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good entry level salary, good environment. Friendly staff, Video games during lunch time. Awesome perks (4 weeks vacation, RRSP, Share purchase program, gym membership compensation, transport compensation). Work incentive bonus programs. Great opportunity for growth if you are motivated.

    Cons

    You might have to work nights and weekend's every now and then. Certain departments use proprietary programming language. Employees might have negative attitude towards work at times.

    Nuance2017-09-21

    Nuance Response

    September 27, 2017

    Thank you for your response. With a fast moving technology company there might be times non-traditional work hours are needed. As for the negative employees, unfortunately with any company there will be some negative insight that is out of anyone’s control. We hope these people voice this to their managers so it can be properly addressed. We're happy to see you enjoyed your experience and the amenities in our Montreal office.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Ever felt you were in a washing machine hardset at spin?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time

    Pros

    Flex time, WFH (depends on your senior exec), good benefits, great location in Montreal. Interesting tech. Large scale data centers. Some very smart people in this hen house

    Cons

    Ever seen the video where the guy riggs a washing machine to spin uncontrollably and throws a brick in it? This is what you are in for. Every day will feel like you are losing your mind. Every day you will be asked to park your brain at the door and take it back when you get out. Entrenched 1st level management does not want things to change as they are comfortable in the chaos. Senior management focus on getting the biggest bonus. In the middle, workers have very little room to maneuvre & expand. The occasional internal promotion does not take into consideration if the person has the skills or the interest in being promoted to management. They are and with inexperience, make the rest of the workers suffer.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-10-05

    Nuance Response

    October 16, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that in your time here you felt you were working in a chaotic environment. Like many technology companies, there is a lot of change. We hope before your departure you shared your experience with your manager so proper changes could be done to avoid these feelings in the future.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Transcriptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Medical Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    Work when you want. Great for moms with small kids

    Cons

    New pay structure is terrible...Have to work harder for less money

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-09-16

    Nuance Response

    September 27, 2017

    Thank you for your response. We have a separate page for our transcription services that your input would be valuable on as this is the Corporate Nuance page. Please feel free to share your valuable input here: https://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/Nuance-Transcription-Services-Reviews-E537513.htm

    Continue reading
  10. "QA Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Nuance

    Pros

    - Lots to learn. -Fun environment. - Excellent Team to work with -Beautiful workplace

    Cons

    - Poor Management of the intern. -Lack of clear specifications

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-09-15
Found 1837 reviews