Nuance MLS Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance MLS Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
8%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The guy at the gas station makes more than me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - MLS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work at home and that is it.

    Cons

    One word can literally sink your whole paycheck. The only time I hear from management is to be reprimanded for not meeting turn around time.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-10-09
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Canadians need to band together!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - MLS in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only pro is being paid on time.

    Cons

    Too many to list. They are selling out the Canadian and even US MLS' to hire cheaper workers in foreign countries. We Canadians need to go to our Members of Parliament and raise awareness of what is happening (which should be illegal but it is not because we are independent contractors). The bottom line is the transcription service is ultimately funded by our tax dollars (OHIP pays the salaries and then pay it to Nuance) so we are funding this scam!!!! I am researching now what I can do and I will pass on anything I gather, if others are willing to step up and raise awareness. I would like to see a Canadian company take back these accounts (which Nuance is losing quite rapidly to yet another US company). Perhaps our Minister of Health will get on board to help us Canadians before we lose our homes and our careers.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-04-10
  3. Helpful (15)

    "MLS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MLS in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nuance

    Pros

    Work from home, that's all. Chained to your computer all day long really...

    Cons

    Pay Grid is a joke! No room for error. We are expected to work like machines. Daily minimum is 2200 edited lines a day, or 11, 000 lines a week. This is very hard to obtain with 90% ESL dictators. In order to complete this in 8 hours a day, you must consistently edit 300 lines per hour. That is nearly impossible to do when most of the dictators don't speak good English. This is complicated medical language, not children's fairy tales! 300 lines per hour CONSISTENTLY, not unless you TL is cherry picking reports for you...

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-06-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Run!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MLS in Minnedosa, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance

    Pros

    Work from comfort of own home.

    Cons

    The new minimum lines is ridiculous. Told minimum would be 500 dictated minutes per week, but their new compensated lines per week is away over that. Do not care that employees have life outside of work, i.e. hounded all weekend that the accounts need help. No incentive to work holidays. After 4 years of working for company even with excellent QC and QA ratings, I may be cut due to not meeting new minimum CLW (compensated lines per week) New MLS Patient Safety Compensation Plan (pay scale) is so damn confusing, it is near impossible to figure out what you are earning each week.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-06-13
  5. Helpful (12)

    "I regret paying for school for this type of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MLS in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Nuance for more than a year

    Pros

    - Low pay is at least on time - Ability to set your own work schedule - Working from home is nice

    Cons

    - The pay is piece work and is extremely low. In the first 4 months I worked for them, I actually had my pay decreased when they implemented a new “easier” transcription platform. When I started we were paid 0.70 cents/per minute for voice recognition and 1.15 for typing. When the new systems came in, they decreased voice recognition to 0.57.5 cents/minute but typing stayed at 1.15; however, 99% of the transcription (on my account anyway) is voice recognition. Training on these accounts and platforms is unpaid with each sessions lasting usually 3 hours. There are no raises to earn and everyone gets paid on the same pay scale, meaning if you have 25 years of experience, you will be making the same amount per minute as someone who only has a couple months of experience. At this point, I would make more money working part-time at my local McDonald's. - Recently, they informed everyone that they will be switching our contracted minimum minutes per week from 300 to 400. For me, this would require working nearly 40 hours per week, making around 7.00 - 8.00/hr. I admit I am not the fastest editor, but I am definitely not the slowest either. On some days, I call them “lucky days”, you can get long dictations and easy dictators and get done very quickly, but I find these days are the exception. For the most part though, the dictations are very short, many under 30 seconds, which means I am literally making a couple of cents per job. I am required to “set up” the correct patient visit date, verify the name and add copies to other physicians, all of which takes precious time (especially when you are searching names of doctors you can't quite make out) and this affects how fast you can edit reports and therefore takes money out of your pocket. - You are required to maintain an accuracy of 98% or higher. I fortunately have not had the quality assurance problems I see a lot of people having. I do however want to stress that this is difficult. It is not uncommon to get dictators that are eating, walking around, flipping though charts or even talking to patients or other doctors while dictating. These take a lot of extra time to edit because the software just puts whatever it thinks the dictator is saying and most of the time it is just plain wrong. I am not sure if it's just me, but I have found that the VR (voice recognition) software actually has gotten worse at figuring out what is being said. When this software came in, we were told it was “the best of the best” and it would learn what the dictators were saying and it did, kind of, but with so many different dictators, accents and people editing, I think the software gets confused. I find now that sometimes it simply skips words or whole sentences and I am nearly retyping whole reports while still being paid the editing rate. - The supervisors and management do not see you as a person. I dread checking my emails on the weekends, because it's not uncommon to wake up to nasty emails telling everyone that they NEED to get on and work because the account is behind. This is probably one of my biggest problems with this company. It does not matter to them if you have hit your quota or surpassed it entirely, they are always pushing for MORE, MORE, MORE. The bottom line is I can't survive on the pay. Looking back, I would never have gone to school for this. Do not believe all of the information online stating transcriptonists can make $42,000/year from home. This, for the most part, is not the case! In-hospital jobs (which I had hoped to find) are very, very few and far between with most hospitals now outsourcing to companies like this. I would seriously advise anyone thinking about going to school for medical transcription to strongly consider something else entirely. I am disappointed to have wasted my time and money.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2016-08-23
  6. Helpful (6)

    "such a horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MLS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working from home is the only pro

    Cons

    bad management and not enough pay

    Nuance2013-10-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - MLS in Bangalore

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    bad management, should remove all management and recruit new and younger ones

    Continue reading
    Nuance2020-02-25
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MLS in Thiruvananthapuram
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good flexible timing. easy work.

    Cons

    Nothing much. They are the best,

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-05-26
  9. "MLS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MLS in Gāndhīnagar, Gujarat

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay package and opportunities

    Cons

    Too much work burden and odd schedule

    Nuance2019-05-01
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MLS in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Less stress, working conditions are great.

    Cons

    Scaling up the ladder is impossible. CTC part needs drastic improvement.

    Nuance2018-08-23
Found 111 reviews