Nuance Medical Scribe Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Nuance Medical Scribe Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
0 Rating
  1. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good for gaining experience in the healthcare industry. Google suite was a good choice imo

    Cons

    Low pay considering the value scribes provide and what I'd imagine the doctors pay the company, but that is the market salary for remote scribe jobs so yeah can't complain I guess. Oh yeah and you have to sign a non-competition agreement. The idea is that since they trained you, you'd be exploiting them by turning around and starting your own business with the skills you learned from them. Which kind of makes sense. But at the same time, that's a bit like if you were working as a mechanic and then the guy you worked for got mad because you quit and then used the same skills to open up your own shop.

    Nuance2019-09-10

    Nuance Response

    September 11, 2019HR/Recruitment

    Hi! We actually have a surprisingly competitive pricing for the Providers, I'll be glad to talk to you about it if you'd like! Thanks for your insight, we love the Google Suite of products too :) Andrea

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "iScribe Job Review and Recommendation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Scribe in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team leads, work from anywhere, opportunities to move up, plus great experience.

    Cons

    There is only one tough side to iScribes (technically it's not a downside but common sense quality insurance) and that was the initial training. It's certainly not a bad thing but it is fairly tough and requires good time management skills as well as a decent grasp of the English language and grammar rules.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-08-27

    Nuance Response

    August 30, 2019HR/Recruitment

    Thank you for the input and insight!!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Abysmal pay, repetitive grunt work, and unresponsive supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing can be spun as a pro for working with this company

    Cons

    Starting pay was $8.75. Constant belittlement from the medical provider that you are scribing for and audio distortion that makes it nearly impossible to understand what providers are saying. The management are so afraid of losing an account that they will not rectify situations where you are supposed to scribe for providers who mumble, speed talk, speak in code, or place their recording device in a location where you have to hear scratching (and the occasional bathroom break) while you are forced to listen to the recording from start to finish. I am a doctor and even I found the effort put forth by iScribes and the providers to be ridiculous. Would not recommend this slipshod cash grab to any job seekers or medical providers.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility. You can set your own hours.

    Cons

    Low pay, no room for growth, management does not listen

    Nuance2019-06-06

    Nuance Response

    September 11, 2019HR/Recruitment

    Was this review meant for iScribes? Our scribes do not set their own hours, they have a deadline of noon of the following day, but they have very clear estimations of work load for each week. We promote from within very heavily, and promote scribes to management and leadership positions pretty much weekly. Pay starts at $10 per hour, a minimum of 24 hours per week, with no limitation of how many hours you can take on. Please contact me if there's any confusion? Andrea Schwartz

    Continue reading
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Remote Medical Scribe in Mount Juliet, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    I just started working here

    Cons

    There aren't really any I can think of

    Nuance2019-04-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Negative experience. I wish I would have read the real reviews before wasting my time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Remote position. - There are no other pros.

    Cons

    - Extremely low pay. The company does not compensate their scribes fairly for the services they expect. Pay starts at minimum wage and then only after 2 months will it increase to just $10 an hour. There is no room for advancement. - The company advertises itself as flexible, but often times you have less than a full day to complete all of your charts. In addition, some providers work late in the day, so this results in late nights of charting in order to finish by the next morning. -The initial training is extremely tedious and redundant. You don’t get paid hourly for this, so you will most definitely spend much more time working on it than what you’re actually being paid for. - Once you graduate training and are assigned a team lead, you will find that a majority of the concepts learned in training are abandoned, which is frustrating. I found my team lead to be extremely demanding and rude, which was discouraging seeing that I had already spent so much unpaid time to progress through training. I was constantly criticized over the most minute mistakes, such as adding a comma or period- never anything context related. I never received any positive feedback from my team lead, even when I know I provided good quality charts.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-04-22
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe 

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    VERY flexible schedule. Supervisors are understanding, knowledgeable, and supportive.

    Cons

    Pay. Hard to hear recordings at times but you get better at it.

    Nuance2019-01-29

    Nuance Response

    August 26, 2019HR/Recruitment

    Thank you! So true about the providers :) Andrea Schwartz

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Scribe in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training process is tough, but it prepares you well for what you'll encounter. There's amazing support from team leads, senior team leads, and other scribes. I can post a message on the Work Place and have an answer from ten people in twenty minutes. Everyone shares information. You learn to trust these folks and go to them for guidance. Working at home takes a lot of dedication and discipline and not everyone has that. If you need to be babysat or micro-managed, this is not your gig. If you have zero medical background, you will struggle. If you put in the time, it's well worth it.

    Cons

    I can't think of even one. People complain about the pay but when I consider how much I'm saving in commuting, gas, meals, clothes/uniforms, etc. I don't get dragged down by chatty co-workers or roped into office parties I don't want to attend. To me, the lower pay is worth the convenience and the quality of life.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-10-09

    Nuance Response

    October 15, 2018Sr. Scribe Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your experience!!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Extremely poor pay for the work required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - work from home - employed position, not independently contracted - very communicative company - feels very connected even though nearly everyone is a remote worker The best thing I can say about this company is that they have got it together communication-wise. They have a good training staff and training program. There is a Facebook Work connection that brings coworkers together, and the CEO delivers weekly video reports.

    Cons

    - requires much more medical interpretation than transcription - it is not as flexible as advertised, as you have less than a full day to complete all your charts. - every team lead has different rules and expectations which do not match training This is not a transcription job. Transcription plays no role whatsoever. If it were, it would probably be much easier. Instead, you are listening to doctors' exams/notes and creating a medical record of each patient encounter. Although they will hire people who do not have a medical background, it is very difficult to figure out the context of the patient encounters in order to know how to fill out the chart accurately. I thought the training was great and very comprehensive on how to write charts. When I graduated training and was assigned a team, my supervisor basically demanded I throw the whole thing out the window and do it her way. I struggled with it since the company has standards and I did not want to break the standards to write my charts. Before long, I was transferred to a different team lead, who had a different set of expectations for filling out charts, which also were not in line with the company standards. Because I'm a perfectionist and because I don't have the medical knowledge to be able to translate the doctor-speak, I spent hours trying to figure out terms and decipher what the physicians were actually doing during the exams. I was frustrated A LOT. The pay is lower than any transcription job I've ever taken, and a lot more is involved in this role than listening and writing down what's said. Interpretation and translation are also of utmost importance, and the company does not pay fairly for the services they expect from their scribes.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-09-15

    Nuance Response

    October 3, 2018Sr. Scribe Recruiter

    Thank you for your input and advise. We are constantly trying to improve. iScribes is indeed not a transcription group, and what we do is much closer to what a ghost writer would do for an author than anything else. We are sorry that we were not a good fit for you and wish you the best. Andrea

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Medical Transcription work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Medical Scribe in Calcutta

    I worked at Nuance for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best company in MT field

    Cons

    There is no downsides to work at Nuance

    Nuance2018-08-08
Found 13 reviews