Flipp Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Flipp Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Flipp CEO Wehuns Tan
Wehuns Tan
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "Well established culture, great benefits (snacks, drinks, work from home once a week)(in 15 reviews)

  • "Many organizations say they have 'great people'; 'no politics'; they "care about making a difference" - this is a truly authentic company that cares(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance - the culture is filled with hypocrisy(in 15 reviews)

  • "Each mistake or new product that didn't do as well as expected means senior management will yell at employees accusing them of under-performing(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (12)

    "Amazing place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    - Flipp is a company that absolutely stays true to who it is. The founders and execs have built a culture that is lasting and they invest in their people and teams. - Flipp really is the type of company that will make room for you to grow if you showcase your value. If you raise your hand and show that you're willing to work hard, Flipp will make space for you to do your thing. I have always had my coaches be receptive...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Like any startup, Flipp has gone through growing pains. There have been company pivots in strategy and vision and there have been times where changes in company strategy have affected the company in challenging ways. The ability to pivot and be agile is important here and I can see how the pace can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring in experienced outside leadership (already making strides in this area) who can help shape the overall vision for Flipp. Additionally, continue to invest in more junior level employees who are looking to grow their careers into the management level.

    Flipp2019-02-24
  2. "Finally Real People who are Crazy Smart & Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart People who are really passionate and go out of their way to help others; challenging work and the ability to make change and drive innovation

    Cons

    Very fast paced so if you can't respond quickly you will struggle

    Advice to Management

    Management seem to be very passionate about growth of the business. There is a lot of focus on people and making a difference. This is very exciting. Keep sharing the vision and plans for growth of the Company

    Flipp2019-08-22
  3. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst/Junior PM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office and nice views.

    Cons

    Not killing it. Might be able to do better.

    Advice to Management

    Be ready for change.

    Flipp2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (35)

    "Love this place. Brilliant!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    CEO rules with an iron fist. People that don't understand should leave, I've learned so much from him and I can't thank him enough for his tutelage. When people confront you, just bury them in work until their complaint is no longer relevant. When you confront others and they ask you to justify it, just let them know that they don't understand, belittle them until they no longer have the will to contradict you. Brilliant!...

    Show More

    Cons

    How could a place like this have any cons? It's been an amazing journey, I just hope that I can survive to see the next phase of brilliance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing. As you've said, we must be relentless with your vision and we can't let things like facts slow us down.

    Flipp2019-04-01
  5. "Great work term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Co-op 

    I worked at Flipp

    Pros

    Culture was a great fit for a modern company.

    Cons

    Happened rarely, but there was a bit of disorganization at times.

    Flipp2019-07-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Satisfied but not Engaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, bonus structure, work from home, 6 weeks paid vacation.

    Cons

    We shift focus A LOT. Everyone seems to be running on empty. No wonder we are not as engaged as we could be.

    Flipp2019-07-29
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Culture is not as good as acclaimed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good perks Some good people Convenient location

    Cons

    Disorganized Strategy seems to change all the time Product/features change all the time, confuses clients and team members Tons of required meetings that don't offer enough value for the time taken BD team is not supportive, lack of training, overall a "better than you" attitude exhibited by some members

    Flipp2019-06-27
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great company but a bit slow to innovate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work / life balance Generally fantastic / smart people working here Great, ambitious company vision

    Cons

    Retailers move slow and it seems like the company is content to move at a similar pace on the client solutions side. On the user side, product innovation felt slow to non-existent and user growth is stagnant as a result. Lots of potential, just too slow to execute! Culture not as data-driven as it should be for a tech company. Partially blocked by tech debt in legacy systems which is acknowledged by management. Severely...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    True transparency is acknowledging faults and losses from time to time. Be upfront with issues the company is facing and build a rallying cry around addressing those problems instead of constantly beating the same high-level vision drum or giving the same talk about culture again. Bitter sweet when I left, but don't regret moving. All in all still hope to see Flipp succeed and reach its potential.

    Flipp2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fast Pace & Hard Working : You will get challenged and you will grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth Mindset - Always growing, learning and challenging (work and personally); Hardworking - Everyone is working hard with you (i.e. peak periods like Black Friday, teams support each other.. even if they are not on the team). Humble - You always have the few that aren't but I would say 95% of people I work with are very humble. When you compliment them, they shy away and prefer to compliment others. Results Oriented...

    Show More

    Cons

    Easy to get overwhelmed - There will always be more to do - my biggest learning is working on prioritization. It is hard to do because this is A LOT you can do, but we are encouraged and supported in looking for ways to prioritize Growing Pains - there are opportunities to streamline, simplify. That would make it easier to drive efficiencies and balance.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring a breath of knowledge across industries - it helps drive growth and different perspectives. There are some instances where legacy Flipp opinions are very apparent - sometimes good, other times potentially inhibiting. Continue to drive process, consistency and structure, as we continue to grow, that continues to be more important to grow more consistently.

    Flipp2019-05-10
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Amazing People, Amazing Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    Flipp is a great place for people who are really focused on team work and who want to build authentic relationships and solve massive problems. We all work very hard and I've been so impressed with the calibre of people around me every day. We work really hard to hold our standards high so we do have a work hard play hard culture. We've grown through the years and we're not a young startup anymore - that comes with...

    Show More

    Cons

    There are lots of places to improve at Flipp like any organization. We could improve the way we look at our benefits like Goodlife, or the way that we do performance evaluations as there aren't any perfect ways to do that yet but we're looking to make it better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being humble, and keep driving improvements. We can only get better if we stay humble constantly.

    Flipp2019-04-18
Found 172 reviews