Flipp Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Flipp Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Flipp Managing Director, Chief Executive Officer Wehuns Tan
Wehuns Tan
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very flexible in terms of Work From Home policies(in 19 reviews)

  • "Many organizations say they have 'great people'; 'no politics'; they "care about making a difference" - this is a truly authentic company that cares(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance - the culture is filled with hypocrisy(in 15 reviews)

  • "Each mistake or new product that didn't do as well as expected means senior management will yell at employees accusing them of under-performing(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (13)

    "Amazing place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    - Flipp is a company that absolutely stays true to who it is. The founders and execs have built a culture that is lasting and they invest in their people and teams. - Flipp really is the type of company that will make room for you to grow if you showcase your value. If you raise your hand and show that you're willing to work hard, Flipp will make space for you to do your thing. I have always had my coaches be... receptive to my interests and career aspirations and have also had them ask me how they can help get me to where I want to go.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Like any startup, Flipp has gone through growing pains. There have been company pivots in strategy and vision and there have been times where changes in company strategy have affected the company in challenging ways. The ability to pivot and be agile is important here and I can see how the pace can be a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to bring in experienced outside leadership (already making strides in this area) who can help shape the overall vision for Flipp. Additionally, continue to invest in more junior level employees who are looking to grow their careers into the management level.

    Flipp2019-02-24
  2. "Great culture and amazing team in a not so close location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer in Etobicoke, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the company and the people they hire are great. Lots of snacks and free lunch, as well as social events. It feels awesome to work in a place with good challenges, but it feels even better when you notice you have a lot of great people with amazing skills putting effort into these challenges. Definitely the best work experience I ever had.

    Cons

    The only con I can think about at this point is the location of the office, which is in Etobicoke, meaning a long commute for many people.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work on being transparent with your team.

    Flipp2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (10)

    "A lot of changing, shifting... wild ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people work here. They are awesome and direct team members are supportive, easy to communicate with, always hands on deck team-attitude (this is true of 90% of teams at Flipp). Great benefits, decent payroll standards, used to have VERY fun summer and winter trips to Muskoka/Blue Mountain etc... awesome events planned out throughout the years. Very flexible in terms of Work From Home policies.

    Cons

    Where do I even start... A lot of things have been shifting for a while now. There is no priority set on certain teams right now, and lots of false hope is instilled in us in terms of vision and future opportunities of growth for most. Be cautious of this company - management pivots and changes their mind way too often, there is lots of miscommunication amongst management and different departments. There was a... recent mass lay-off in the company, and people are waking up to just how much has changed in such a little amount of time. For people that have been here for a long time, it is a bit disappointing, but priorities are changing and you have to keep up or else this isn't for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with your company (this is happening more now); You're not going to please everyone. Stand true in your vision and objectives, and the people who want to be along for the ride will stand by you. The rest will find something more suitable for them in their career path.

    Flipp2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Company is changing a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - People you work with

    Cons

    - no longer feels like a start-up (more corporate) - recent mass layoffs - a lot of cuts in company trips/friday lunches/events in general - company vision and management is not aligned

    Flipp2019-11-26
  5. "Disappointed - Mass Firing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I started it was an amazing opportunity for me. The people are truly phenomenal, most management puts a lot of effort ensuring the right people get hired for the job and mesh well with existing teams. Free friday lunches and snacks at all times, great benefits, amazing company wide trips, working from home whenever you want within reason, no cold shoulder when you're sick, they really care about your well being... and work vs. personal life balance. Regardless of high level "vision" which indeed did seem to be ever-changing, I truly loved going into work every day and felt as if I was valuable to the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    After almost 3 years of me working my butt off for the company, they had yet again, another MASS FIRING. 70+ people laid off on the same day. Some for performance, which granted, needs to happen. Some based purely on the fact that upper management didn't do their jobs to better sustain certain team members, including me. I put a lot into Flipp and was wiling to continue to do so. I had seen the signs of this... happening, I can't say I was completely surprised unfortunately and am not one to shame based on rash feelings. I understand why this happened, and know that my services will be well appreciated somewhere else, but the way they went about this "mass firing" lumping us all in together, some over the phone, some on maternity leave, giving us little to no explanation and handling our questions, emails, replies etc. with what seemed like very little care is unforgivable. I felt completely forgotten and truly set up for pure failure. I continually got told that I was valuable, and that "this was one of the hard ones" but no follow up as to what actually happened. The little clarity given and the little respect for my time and life was shocking. Everything they preach prior you being out that door sounds good until you're on the other side of it realizing it's just talk and no follow through. The amount I had to continuously email, call, to get clarity on things like my severance just to turn up with no response for days was completely frustrating and unprofessional. The team that was dealing with all this is small, but yet again, Flipp bit off more than they can chew and didn't properly prepare. I was Flipp's #1 cheerleader, and this has left me with nothing but resentment and disappointment in not only the Company but the founders/upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do your job and budget for the company. Better, use the money leftover from all our salaries to hire someone to do it properly so you don't do this to more people. You shoot too high and end up disappointing not only those you laid off but those that still work there in the 3 crammed floors from 5, less benefits, no trips, not to mention extremely low moral. Give those that deserve it, who performed nothing but... properly and well over years, the decency of an explanation.

    Show More
    Flipp2019-12-11
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Insights in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    some nice people but that's the same with every organization.

    Cons

    Leaderless and quickly sinking - no new product innovation, insights team are clueless and CEO is more focussed on going to the gym and squatting with his bro's than running an actual company. Typical example of a founder thinking they can be a CEO. Bunch of man-children running a company into the ground.

    Advice to Management

    Advice is to investors - change the leadership ASAP or you'll lose your investment.

    Flipp2019-12-05
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Not As Advertised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some genuinely bright and good people here that you can learn a lot from and will help you grow in your career. Company benefits were good with gym memberships, subsidized transit passes, Friday lunches and a pretty comprehensive benefits package. Salary will also be in the higher range. With recent poor performance, the majority of these benefits are now gone. Depending on the team and on your... leader, improving processes and moving things forward is actually encouraged. Location is good with access to subway, gym and grocery store all within the same commercial complex.

    Show More

    Cons

    Where to start? First, the culture. Your experience with the culture will generally depend on where you work in the company. The positive culture that Flipp has somehow come to be known for only exists in certain silos. If you find yourself on a team with a strong leader that has actually worked at other companies and managed people, the chances of you having a positive work environment are slightly higher.... Otherwise, you will find yourself in the same shoes as the rest of the company, in toxic environments where people are overworked, stressed and where inexperienced leaders openly discuss other people's personal lives. With all this going on, the company culture is constantly shoved down your throat and it feels truly inauthentic. Leaders use buzz words such as "coaches" and keep preaching the company mantra but you never see any of them being examples. Truthfully, it's all just a magic show where the CEO loves to put together slideshows and give his sermons about how the organization is doing something profound with its culture but in reality, most people have not had that experience. Management. Like any organization, there are strong leaders and then there are leaders who have taken the company as far as it can go. With flipp, the majority of the leadership falls into the second camp. They have zero idea on how to execute a strategy and love to build incredibly unattainable annual plans that have minimal chances of landing. As a result, you'll find yourself constantly switching gears, putting out fires and completing everything at half of your potential because there is no focus. Management also loves to sugarcoat results. They preach transparency but are very selective. Everything is spun off, reality is hidden and when major changes have to be made, people are shocked because they were constantly painted a rosy picture. Consider yourself lucky if you never sit in a meeting with the CEO himself. Product. The company has not invested in product innovation. The app is catered to an aging user base and other apps are quickly taking up market share. The CEO is more concerned about paying out bonuses than building a product that actually generates enough revenue to keep the company afloat. In reality, this company will probably be extinct before flyers are.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a clear focus and vision of what you want your product to do and where you want the company to go. Stop trying to do anything and everything. Either be transparent or don't. Be honest about the state of the business. Lastly, replace the CEO.

    Flipp2019-11-30
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Priorities are whack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are always willing to help

    Cons

    CEO is too focused on "helping" impoverished countries. Management decides to layoff dozens of employees so they can spend more money Christmas parties with cool lights and company-wide retreats. Too much re-structuring and shifting within the company. Too much time wasted on useless meetings throughout the day - I don't need daily reminders of what everyone else is doing. Everyone says "YAAAAASSS" too much,... even if it's not a hype moment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step down.

    Flipp2019-11-20
  9. "Finally Real People who are Crazy Smart & Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart People who are really passionate and go out of their way to help others; challenging work and the ability to make change and drive innovation

    Cons

    Very fast paced so if you can't respond quickly you will struggle

    Advice to Management

    Management seem to be very passionate about growth of the business. There is a lot of focus on people and making a difference. This is very exciting. Keep sharing the vision and plans for growth of the Company

    Flipp2019-08-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst/Junior PM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office and nice views.

    Cons

    Not killing it. Might be able to do better.

    Advice to Management

    Be ready for change.

    Flipp2019-08-15
Found 158 reviews