Flipp Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Flipp Reviews

Updated May 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 151 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Flipp CEO Wehuns Tan
Wehuns Tan
92 Ratings
  1. Helpful (24)

    "Still very much a startup company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time

      Pros

      The people are amazing. The building and work area is nice. The work from home options and benefits are top notch.

      Cons

      Feels very much like a dictatorship. Whatever the CEO wants, will happen and we have to change everything based on his ideas that are not fully tested to be successful.

      Advice to Management

      Do more market research before launching a whole product to see if it is successful. This would save dev time and money.

      Flipp2018-03-21
    • Helpful (29)

      "Definitely not the place for everyone... be very careful."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time

      Pros

      - Incredible technology and market opportunity - Employee benefits

      Cons

      - Upper Management is seriously underqualified. - Public ridicule - Employees were constantly berated in public. - CEO has serious anger management issues and is very immature. - No work/life balance - the culture is filled with hypocrisy.

      Flipp2018-05-08
    • Helpful (23)

      "Polarizing..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      You get ownership over exciting projects in the SDLC you wouldnt normally have in an enterprise or otherwise large company Friday lunches and a generous benefits package, because you know, what other selling points are there

      Cons

      While the culture was very process-oriented (although they're not a startup anymore), there are some situations where processes set arent just feasible but bog you down. I remember being called out and shamed in meetings for not following something to a tee regardless of the end result. Flipp prides itself on its culture or "having the best teams". While a lot of whats said is propaganda, your manager is not your "family"...

      Show More
      Flipp2018-05-05
    • Helpful (25)

      "This place is a NIGHTMARE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Etobicoke, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Nice office. - Some smart people.

      Cons

      - No job stability - Office politics, secret meetings, people are let go without the rest of the company knowing. People talk behind your back. - No work life balance. Expected to work weekends and nights. - Too many meetings, many unnecessary and a waste of time. - They tax you on the benefits. They made a mistake on the taxes and then everybody's taxes were re accessed and everyone had to pay more taxes...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Do not shoot and move. Do not over promise to partners. Try to keep your employees(I don't think you can find 10 people in the company that have been there for over 2 years)

      Flipp2018-04-20
    • Helpful (15)

      "Great Culture and Place to Own Your Business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Development Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The team members are the reason to come to work. Everyone is driven to win and supportive of one another. The business has gone through a lot of change but feels like we have the right direction and great strategic partnerships with our customers. Good pay and benefits and the ability to manage your own work/life balance. Finally, excited about the future and what we can do if we stay focused on what we do best...

      Show More

      Cons

      For all of those who ask for feedback but do not mean it this place is not for you. However can say in our team the feedback is generally to strengthen us all so we can be our best. Some travel which can make for long weeks once in a while.

      Advice to Management

      Stay focused on the strategy and do not always create a pivot when one is not needed. Continue to listen to the business owners and give us a say in the strategy so we can help grow the company.

      Flipp2018-02-04
    • Helpful (16)

      "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time

      Pros

      - great company culture, great people - interesting and exciting work - opportunities for growth and development - competitive salary and excellent benefits

      Cons

      - while not a startup anymore, they are still developing and refining their long term plan in a changing marketplace

      Flipp2018-01-25
    • Helpful (14)

      "Graphic Designer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Flipp full-time

      Pros

      -Amazing company culture. Working with the team with high trust is the best thing. -Work/life balance -Mentorship and coaching helped me to grow as a designer

      Cons

      Can't think of anything

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing!

      Flipp2018-01-29
    • Helpful (7)

      "Jr. Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Great work environment and teammates - Lots of growth and exciting new projects - Flexible work hours - Great benefits - Lots of very smart people

      Cons

      - Sometimes repetitive work - On call schedule for some teams

      Flipp2018-02-14
    • Helpful (6)

      "Love Flipp!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Flipp full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Really great place to work.

      Cons

      I luckily don't have any complaints!

      Flipp2018-02-16
    • Helpful (36)

      "Zero work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Toronto, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      You'll make really good friends.

      Cons

      There's no separation between work and life. You're always connected and the leadership team (exec) has no idea what they're doing. They've done a good job getting the company to where it was by end of 2016 but everything beyond that has been smoke and mirrors, missed revenue targets, failed product launches and partnerships. The app is so complicated and not user-friendly that I don't even know how to work it.

      Advice to Management

      Leverage external resources and understand that employees have the right to habe a life beyond flipp. It's not always #flipp4lyfe

      Flipp2018-01-12
    Found 151 reviews