Flipp Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Flipp Software Developer Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Flipp CEO Wehuns Tan
Wehuns Tan
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing people & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Management cares about the people who work here and has built an open and transparent culture. The new leaders we've hired also seem consistent with the culture that we have. - The business is healthy and the product has come along way but still has much more to improve but that's what I'm excited about. - In most roles, there is a lot of opportunity for ownership - the new mission based teams that we... rolled out were rocky to start but I think we're getting the hang of it.

    Show More

    Cons

    We've done alot of rework on our technology to make it faster to move, but there is much more to be done.

    Advice to Management

    I'd encourage management to make sure we continue to invest in things that will make it faster for us to dev.

    Flipp2019-04-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flipp hires partly based on personality, so most it creates a great social/work environment -Interesting challenges -Upper management had positive interactions with interns -Accessible location via subway

    Cons

    No real cons for me, it was one of my first internships

    Advice to Management

    Keep on hiring interns

    Flipp2019-04-03
  3. Helpful (20)

    "Bad Execs with No Product Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great compensation - Good perks - Fun people - Most teams have flexible hours. Don't expect it if you're on the sales or product teams. - A lot of potential

    Cons

    - Exec team gets their fingers into everything. It never goes well. CEO used to yell at people alot but that might have stopped. - Most product decisions are failures. Spun to be great successes until someone needs to be fired. - 50/50 your promotion to a senior role was so that you can be fired as a scape goat. - Moral is aweful. People leaving all the time and no one is replacing them. - Culture looks great... from the outside but can be toxic. Drink the kool aid or get out. - So much potential but the leadership isn't good enough lead the company to greatness.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire senior management from outside. Stop hiring, promoting, and protecting people just because they are your friends and family.

    Flipp2018-06-01
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Family's growing fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Junior Software Developer Co-op in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fast paced work - 1 on 1 mentor system to foster growth in career and life in general - Interns aren't just shoved to the side - Lots of perks and monthly outings

    Cons

    - Rapid growth means somewhat disorganized management - Large size of company means less startup-y feel

    Flipp2018-01-28
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Software Developer 

    I worked at Flipp for less than a year

    Pros

    - Free Friday Lunch - Ping pong/pool/board games/FIFA - Great Culture/people - Company trips and events - Casual dress code

    Cons

    None that really come to mind. A small annoyance (which they don't really have control over) is that the office is located in the far West end of Toronto, but the ability to work from home alleviates that a little. Keep up the good work and continue to improve!

    Flipp2017-03-03
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Awesome Co-Op Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Flipp

    Pros

    - Great people - Learned lots - Amazing overall experience

    Cons

    - Hard to think of a con to Flipp

    Flipp2016-06-05
  7. Helpful (20)

    "One of the best tech companies in Toronto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Flipp full-time

    Pros

    - Having been in the industry for some time, it's rare to see a company with this much growth and potential. Flipp is definitely the place to work if you're looking for high growth high tech within the Toronto area. - Good benefits and compensation: In addition to good paying salary, they also give free friday lunches, gym membership, monthly metropass (on top of islington station is good for me), snacks, lunch... and learns, training, etc. - Challenging work: This place is great for those who want a challenge. I never find myself doing the some old thing, and they always encourage personal growth. My coach at Flipp has helped me a lot. - Amazing and smart people: the people here do care about each other, and are the smartest people we have ever worked with.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Fast pace: can be challenging at times to keep up with the growth of the company: new faces, new products, new projects, etc. There have been times when the product roadmap changed. On the plus side, this stuff is expected in this environment. In the past the product teams didn't communicate as much about the roadmap (mid and long term), but the past 2 months they're turned it around and are doing a great job... at telling us what's coming up. I don't think non-communication was intention in the past, because it was just so busy around here. Good work on fixing that!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the good hiring, and please continue the recent good work on better product communication to the team - I see some negative reviews on Glassdoor. I don't think they're real because I've personally never seen some of that stuff. I have a feeling they were ex-employees who didn't like the toughest of the place. At the same time, I think we need to have better channels for employees to voice their... opinions instead of Glassdoor. Perhaps a simple survery software?

    Show More
    Flipp2015-07-20
  8. Helpful (27)

    "Scary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Flipp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, shiny office, games nights and a few fun activity days each year. Most of the employees are good people.

    Cons

    Don't let the interview process and endless promises trick you. Everything seems great during the onboarding process, but once you start, you will witness the company's true colours and how the executive team manages their employees. You'll work until 2am every night not because you love your job, but of out fear of losing it. You'll triple check everything you do, not because you strive for perfection, but out of... fear of making a mistake and being publicly criticized for it. It won't take long for the excitement to wear off, for your confidence to be flushed down the drain, and for you to lose respect for those at the top in this organization.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect.

    Flipp2015-06-09
  9. Helpful (31)

    "Shaping the future at a high pace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Flipp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flipp is amazing! I don’t know why people sometimes confuse our high pace work environment with being poisonous or infectous. We’re revolutionizing flyers, just like Google revolutionized the Map. We’re a big family, with lofty goals, and it takes sacrifice to be a disruptor in this industry. In order to get things done at this level, sometimes have to work really really really long hours, for months at a time, but... the end result is always worth it. Achieving our goals as a company is always worth the sacrifice and time away from our loved ones.

    Show More

    Cons

    We’re all very smart people, are we’re all expected to do big things. This is what’s required from everyone at Flipp, every day of the week, including weekends. Some former employees complain that there's too much work or that they don’t have time for anything other than Flipp. Some former employees complain that they didn’t get any recognition or were never told “job well done”. If you need time off or need nice... things told you every day, then this definitely isn’t the right place for you. We're a highly functioning group. But this high paced environment isn’t for everyone, so make sure you pull up your socks before you decide to learn what Flipp is all about. This isn’t your typical a 9-5 job: think of it more as 24/7, 365 days a year. You can’t get by doing mediocre work. We can’t win by being average. Everyone at Flipp is incredibly driven, is an overachiever, and is always delivering at well over 100%. That’s what it takes at Flipp, and if you think you fit this mold, you will love being surrounded by others like you! If you can’t hack it then this isn’t for you! This isn’t a job where you can forget about work once you go home, but why would you want to when you work with such a great family?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to make sure our awesome culture lives on and continue to promote high performance. Keep doing what you're doing by not accepting failure and keep up the high firing pace for those who underperform.

    Flipp2015-04-07
Found 9 reviews