K12 Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

K12 Reviews

Updated Jan 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
K12 Executive Chairman Nate Davis (no image)
Nate Davis
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interventionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Way better pay than local brick and mortar schools, students who attend our online classes are super engaged, focused on training teachers to become leaders in their areas, K12 will pay for a Masters degree for teachers through SNHU to hone their skills as a teacher and leader, very data driven to get results.

    Cons

    Tends to draw in students who are less interested in learning and more interested in keeping truancy officers away so more than half of my students don't attend classes and parents dodge phone calls home- hardest part of my job is trying to get students to attend even just one class.

    Advice to Management

    Require parents to be more engaged to make sure their students are attending classes or at least passing all classes. Students who make no attempt to learn and don't attend classes should be considered truant as they would be in brick and mortar.

    K122020-01-02
  2. "Great Salary, Tough Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Registrar in Maumee, OH
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great and it is very easy to be promoted.

    Cons

    The management does not always focus on the needs of all departments.

    K122019-12-30
  3. "High School counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to quickly advance and grow professionally.

    Cons

    There are no state benefits

    K122019-12-06
  4. "Great people /low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time

    Pros

    Great people and energy. Remote positions.

    Cons

    Low pay. Transparency and support was lacking from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees.

    K122019-12-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sorry it is over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Educator in Chicago, IL

    I worked at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with students who had dropped out of school and then saw the benefit of a diploma over a GED was highly rewarding. Most students were engaged and enjoyed conversations about real-life and learning. Enjoyed coming in to work. Positive environment. All staff really cared about these kids and it filled you with a strong sense of pride to see them cross that stage after all of the struggles (internal & external) that they pushed through.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of professional development opportunities outside of their internal trainings. Does not allow connections and networking with professional educators outside of those you work with on a daily basis.

    K122019-11-29
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company and great people

    Cons

    A lot of management transition

    Advice to Management

    Support Sales Team more

    K122019-11-25
  7. "Fun place for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, good support, fun people

    Cons

    It's basically a call center

    K122019-11-19
  8. "Data Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Counselor in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at home is always a nice perk.

    Cons

    Position entails lots of data entry and not a lot of meaningful student contact.

    K122019-11-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Let's Play Educators!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time

    Pros

    Working from home is great.

    Cons

    Giving students grades and points. Pushing teachers to pass students. Principals and Assistant Principals with no State administrative certifications. Constantly making up silly activities with "fancy names". Little to no diversity in leadership and in the classrooms. Salaries almost equal to that of a McDonalds head fry worker employee.

    K122019-12-06
  10. "LOVE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is great about the company

    Cons

    no TRS they have a 401 k

    K122019-10-21
Found 612 reviews
</>Embed