K12 Virtual Teacher Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
K12 Executive Chairman Nate Davis (no image)
Nate Davis
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Overall I love teaching from home!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Virtual Teacher in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to teach without the classroom management issues.

    Cons

    When students go MIA it is difficult to re-engage them.

    K122019-06-17
  2. Helpful (20)

    "Too much for too little"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Teacher in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility (less as years have gone by).

    Cons

    Pay is the same or lower than the lowest-paying state in the US. And that is for working ALL YEAR, with only corporate holidays, 12 vacation days, and 10 sick days - none of which can be rolled over. Work time is usually more than 40 hours per week, just like brick & mortar teachers, but there is no summer break, spring/Thanksgiving/winter break. You are expected to attend meetings in the evenings, regardless of family obligations, or be subject to bad reviews. If you think working from home is a way to be with your kids, think again. The handbook now says that working from home is not a substitute for childcare and you are expected to maintain proper childcare during your work hours. So what used to be the only thing that made the low pay worth it is not allowed anymore. Over the 7 years I've worked as a virtual teacher, the micromanaging has increased to a suffocating level, and as other reviewers have said, many supervisors are into the "got ya" way of managing.

    Continue reading
    K122018-04-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Under Paid for Education and training."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Teacher in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the kids. Love working 1n1 with students.

    Cons

    Don't hold students or learning coaches to their responsibilities. To much administrative work. Supplies for students are hard to get.

    Continue reading
    K122017-08-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Virtual Teacher in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12

    Pros

    Work from home, flexible schedule, amazing administration. teachers and admin alike really care about the students and we love our jobs.

    Cons

    There are not many cons to this job. The salary is a little less than in a b&m school but I don't have a commute, tolls, traditional day care, etc.

    K122017-05-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "There is not much support from the supervisor and they definitely have their favorites"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Teacher in El Mirage, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home and being able to be flexible. Make your own schedule and able to have child at home with in home sitter

    Cons

    Very demanding and not much support from supervisor. The students complain to supervisor to get teachers in trouble. The teacher gets into trouble

    Continue reading
    K122017-06-03
  6. Helpful (5)

    "IST Teacher"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schedule is fairly flexible. Overall the bottom level employees (teachers) have a family like attitude. There is great teamwork amongst everyone.

    Cons

    Paltry pay in comparison to the competition. Barely a livable wage. There is a revolving door of teachers. No opportunity for advancement. They also bend to every whim of parents in order to retain them.

    Continue reading
    K122017-05-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Virtual Teacher in Rochester, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12

    Pros

    Flexibility Individual time with students

    Cons

    Run as a business not a school

    Continue reading
    K122016-11-02
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Teacher"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Teacher in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, with the exception of monthly outings or staff development, immediate supervisor (Principal/Asst Principal) well liked, medical/dental/vision/short term disability benefits good.

    Cons

    Work/Life balance hard to manage, talk time was often back to back with little to no breaks for multiple hours, large caseload of students, upper management did not consider teachers valuable employees, low pay, long hours (often more than 8 per day), poor training for new hires.

    Continue reading
    K122016-10-11
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Teacher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Virtual Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, work at home, technology provided, data driven instruction. I don't have the health insurance, but the vision and dental is a good deal.

    Cons

    There are days that I wonder if I am really educating students since we rely on our learning coaches so much. Hours are business hours 8-5. Only 15 days off in summer.

    Continue reading
    K122016-08-30
  10. Helpful (5)

    "K12- Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Teacher in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people - teachers and immediate supervisors Average pay for at home job Work from home

    Cons

    On the computer 8-5 No flexibility Back to back online classes Upper management is more concerned about numbers than people

    Continue reading
    K122016-07-31
Found 24 reviews