K12 "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

K12 Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
K12 Executive Chairman Nate Davis (no image)
Nate Davis
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great online virtual schools!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home teacher positions.

    Cons

    Must self manage as you work from home. Very different experience teaching online opposed to teaching in a classroom with students. Perks to both, just know going into it.

    K122020-01-20
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Let's Play Educators!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time

    Pros

    Working from home is great.

    Cons

    Giving students grades and points. Pushing teachers to pass students. Principals and Assistant Principals with no State administrative certifications. Constantly making up silly activities with "fancy names". Little to no diversity in leadership and in the classrooms. Salaries almost equal to that of a McDonalds head fry worker employee.

    K122019-12-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Eh, only time will tell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at K12 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home is great. I also like the teacher mentor program. I am still in training, so I can't help with the pros too much.

    Cons

    I was hired by K12, only received emails from K12. Filled out paperwork all under K12/fueled. I needed some employment verifications and I contact HR, only to be told I am a temp agency employee! K12 stated this company was their HR company and they did all the hiring paperwork, but I was their employee. This wasn't an outside HR company, but a temp agency. I'm rather irritated with the bait and switch, especially since I never got a job offer from the temp agency! I never talked to them. I only filled out papers with them after K12 indicated I had to in order to work with them. So, now I cannot get employment verification from either company because K12 states I am not their employee and the other one states K12 must provide the hours before they can finish the employment verification. This is what I get for trying to get a car that runs! Good luck to the rest of you!

    Continue reading
    K122019-10-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Micro-managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allowed to work from home. Great, hard-working teachers!

    Cons

    Admin micro-manages everything to make sure you are putting in you 8 to 5 hours with only a 30 minute lunch. They require so many admin responsibilities that teaching and students are second and you end up working more than your 8 to 5, M - F.

    Continue reading
    K122019-10-17
  5. "K12 and Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work from home is a definite plus. Good benefits.

    Cons

    It can be lonely sometimes but networking helps.

    K122019-09-25
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great program and love the flexibility of working from home.

    Cons

    teacher pay is not competitive

    K122019-08-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Think before you enter the vortex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home, computer supplied

    Cons

    Workload is hideously uneven--often there is way too much to do, and the message from above is suck it up and do it. Rising in the ranks can depend on who you're friends with. Pay is bad, but cost of benefits is even worse.

    Continue reading
    K122019-08-12
  8. "Virtual Teaching Jobs not comparable in salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle School Science Teacher 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *work from home *excellent staff and administration *great support

    Cons

    *salary is $15,000 less than classroom teacher position *benefits are not cost friendly and not like most insurance options for teachers

    K122019-06-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility option to work from home

    Cons

    401K contribution could be improved.

    K122019-04-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School English Teacher in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Serving Students At-risk, Working from Home

    Cons

    Balancing Work and Life can get overwhelming

    Continue reading
    K122019-04-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 144 reviews
</>Embed