K12 "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

K12 Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
K12 Executive Chairman Nate Davis (no image)
Nate Davis
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great people /low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructional Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time

    Pros

    Great people and energy. Remote positions.

    Cons

    Low pay. Transparency and support was lacking from upper management.

    Continue reading
    K122019-12-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonus in August was nice & co-workers were very helpful

    Cons

    Way to much work for one person. Upper management does not care.

    Continue reading
    K122019-10-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Poor upper management, direction, lack of professional growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You have a wide scope of products in your tool belt. Some teams are great to work with. Descent benefits.

    Cons

    -Upper management are often hired from outside and have little to no experience in doing the actual jobs they govern. -Upper management often implements new directions or policies without thinking about what that means in terms of support or operations. -Nepotism so don't think about trying to move up or explore your career unless you are able to get into the "in-crowd"! -Benefits are expensive and there are few options. -If you put in your notice be sure to take most of your leave before doing so because they will do everything they can to keep your PTO. -They don't seem to stick with one plan for very long and tend to clean out the people instead of fixing issues that cause the high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    K122019-06-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great coworkers, students and families; below average pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - School Counselor in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers who make work fun Wonderful students and parents who are responsive

    Cons

    Glitchy tech and unreliable hardware makes it tough to get the job done Unresponsive upper management can be discouraging

    Continue reading
    K122019-03-08
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Run or stay away from this company...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are very few pros associated with this company and I struggle to think of any that can be noted. I used to believe in the mission of providing a solid on-line educational service but realized that corporate greed is truly the priority. There are a few co-workers with talent that remain which I attribute to being in a comfort zone and loathe looking for a new job which is part of the reason I have stayed.

    Cons

    I am pursuing other opportunities and do want others to know what to expect if you entertain pursuing a job at K12. I say "job" as I firmly believe "careers" no longer exist at K12. Pay raises are non-existent year-over-year, benefits are horrible, work/life balance does not exist, management truly does not care about staff, surveys are pushed for staff yearly but no results occur so most do not want to bother, those that do care and work hard end up doing the most while others surf the internet and leave early with management doing nothing to correct the issues. Upper management provides a very hostile environment for many which affect the staff in varying ways. Cost cutting via lay-offs, pushing vendors to the breaking point, and postponing needed hires are a huge priority even when the lack of staff affects the overall business. There are far better companies hiring these days that will treat you much better!

    Continue reading
    K122018-12-08
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Project Manager/Scrum Master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work flexibility, given that your boss allows it. Some people are quiet nice to work with. Wish I could give zero stars for other things

    Cons

    Confused upper management. Unorganized and unprofessional and will blame employees for their inability to stay organized and manage and lead teams. Can't use the word "weak leaders" because then that would mean that upper management is a "leader". They don't know how to lead. Will disguise budget cutting as employee's underperformance. Very tacky and not honest dealings.

    Continue reading
    K122018-10-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Check Transcripts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Paradise, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at K12 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are sufficient enough. The time-off is sufficient enough. Some co-workers are nice enough to work with. The fact you can work from home.

    Cons

    No communication with upper-management. People have no confidentiality and even more rumors are spread through e-mail. You are blamed for students placed in classes when you weren't the one who placed them there. Wrong people are being hired.

    Continue reading
    K122018-08-11
  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at K12 full-time

    Pros

    Friendly Coworkers A flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Upper management Career growth Salary and benefits

    K122018-04-17
  9. "Inside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at K12 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people who care about the well being of the team as a whole

    Cons

    Lots of upper management changes over the last year

    Continue reading
    K122018-01-03
  10. "Sr Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at K12 for more than 10 years

    Pros

    smart colleagues and positive vision

    Cons

    communications gaps with upper management

    Continue reading
    K122016-12-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews
</>Embed