Tipico Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Tipico Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Tipico CEO Joachim Baca
Joachim Baca
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid internship with accommodation in Malta(in 10 reviews)

  • "Wasser, Kaffee und Obst umsonst(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    Forward Thinking and ambitious with a good culture

    Cons

    Office environment could be better

    Tipico2019-10-06
  2. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits given for employees

    Cons

    They give good benefits for the employees but the quality of work life is poor. No recognition given for the work done. Managers are immature. People with zero people management skills are in the managerial level. Basically they are allowed to do whatever they want and are not questioned or corrected on their actions.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t trust your managers blindly.

    Tipico2019-10-07
  3. "Best place to work as professional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software QA Engineer in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing office - Great Work Culture - Supportive environment - Accessibility to C- Level people

    Cons

    HR department needs to improve. They need to focus on other offices. Disconnection with malta office

    Tipico2019-08-30

    Tipico Response

    September 4, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. As always we are pleased to receive good feedback from our employees, past or present however equally we want to take actions where we can on any negative feedback. Should you wish to discuss the issues you have mentioned in your review, feel free to contact me on corrina.galea@tipico.com.

    Show Less
  4. "The best company for developmental opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Malta, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tipico full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company focuses on the professional development of each individual member. Regular feedback is encouraged and this creates a safe environment that allows employees to learn from themselves and others and focus on improvement. Progress is one of the main values at Tipico and it is clearly embedded into the culture. There are so many programs and opportunities such as Xchange Programs, Internal training, training... budgets, mentoring, collaborative working, on the job learning, shadowing, online learning.... the list goes on and on. There is also a culture group specifically focused on designing, creating and implementing new initiatives that are focused on learning that is highly supported by Jochen, Tipico's CEO.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some programs and initiatives take quite some time to commence because of all the restrictions and long processes, but once they do they're worth the wait.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and open with training opportunities.

    Tipico2019-08-29

    Tipico Response

    September 4, 2019Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. This really helps us to continue doing what we do well, and take note on where improvements can be made.

  5. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    Offices are in Central Location

    Cons

    We can always communication I believe

    Tipico2019-02-24

    Tipico Response

    March 25, 2019Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Dear colleague, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Indeed, communication is an area where we continue to focus on. As for the offices, things are going to get even more awesome in a few months ;-)

  6. "great company used to be better, things are changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great bonuses The xmas bonus is unique

    Cons

    micro management difficult to communicate with managers

    Tipico2019-02-13

    Tipico Response

    March 25, 2019Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. I appreciate the transparent feedback; if you'd like to connect offline to talk further about your recommendations and ideas, I'd welcome a conversation. Feel free to reach out - antonio.arias-lopez@tipico.com

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible environment, detrimental to career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - KYC Analyst in San Ġiljan
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - If you can keep your head down, you can get away with browsing social media and the web for about 2 hours a day, this is not really a pro. - Paycheck is on time, but too low, Renting a studio apartment sets you back55-60% of your salary, good luck with that

    Cons

    - Everything, really, high staff turnover, Team leaders last 3 months on average - No procedures, whatever procedures are written down is minimalist, god forbid you run into an edge case and have to ask - Training does not deserve to be called training - Abusive team leader, verbally, be prepared to face roll-eyes expression when asking reasonable questions - Culture of fear and absolute micro management - The... verification procedure and the UI are disfunctional, compared to modern apps, this is unbelievable outdated. Same issues are never fixed - Almost permanent mandated overtime aka management failure - Desperately understaffed, try to take holidays while another co worker has holidays and see how that goes - Upper management detached from the reality and severeness of technical debt, the workflow is very inefficient, the blame always goes to the innocent staffers. - Mobbing by management in collaboration with HR, there are 2 honorable exceptions. - Culture of backstabbing and throwing "friends" under the bus, the higher the job title, the more pronounced this issue shows - Over-promising on training, totally under-delivering, you will not learn much here, you will do repetitive "monkey tasks" and do patchwork for the non functional software - Minimalist behavior on assigned tasks by many, the motivated people will be fixing the mistakes of others and then turn minimalist themselves - You suggest improvements, you will be greeted with hostility or inactivity, sometimes your ideas could be presented as someone elses. - The minimalist attitude could have the root in an unrewarding salary(rumour has it, the new people get less salary!) or unrealistic KPIs - I would never recommend this place to a friend - No handshake , no eye contact on the day of leaving, after 2 years in the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The management has exceptionally poor feedback handling, to the point that most of the staff avoids to even suggest improvements. If the management would know how the staff talks in private, they would fall out of their chairs. The point is, the management does not want any true feedback outside their comfort zone, they believe they know what they are doing. I strongly object. Advice to HR, please stop posting... fake 4 and 5 stars reviews, try to get to the root of the candid and horrendous reviews.

    Show More
    Tipico2019-03-17

    Tipico Response

    March 27, 2019Group Human Resources Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Whilst we appreciate that there have been some challenges over the last couple of years, there are however already a number of improvements which have happened or are in progress and we are confident that these improvements will help Tipico be an Employer of Choice. We do not tolerate any form of abusive or mobbing behaviour and we do have the appropriate channels in place to deal with any such issues. Finally, we do not post our own reviews and do take all feedback on-board. Kind regards Wayne Searle Group Human Resources Director

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Values and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tipico full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company values and the company culture you see advertised is actually true. C level and head of departments are the ones who push and lead by example of these values. Being part of Tipico means you need to work hard, but in return not only do you get benefits, you get personal growth and a chance to improve yourself everyday. Communication is good and management is always trying to ensure that the level of... good communication is sustained.

    Show More

    Cons

    Different departments need to work better together. However, this is common in most companies .

    Tipico2018-12-29

    Tipico Response

    January 16, 2019HR Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your experience with us. We really appreciate your constructive feedback. Thanks!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Full of politics and people without knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Tipico full-time

    Pros

    benefits, environment location and salary

    Cons

    full of politics and people without knowledge in crucial positions

    Tipico2018-12-27

    Tipico Response

    March 25, 2019Group Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that it didn’t work out the way you expected. As we did undergo some big changes and expansion over the past years, we are doing our best in investing in our culture and values as well as in leadership development. Thanks again and best of luck to you in the next opportunity!

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Payments and Fraud Analyst in Malta, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tipico for less than a year

    Pros

    -Good benefits -Free ice-creams and fruits -Big bonus

    Cons

    -Constantly understaffed -Bad management -No proper training, no clear procedures -Lack of communication -Bad work-life balance (aweful shifts) -high turn over, so the knowledge doesn't stay

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees, stop micromanaging, hire more people, work on your people skills

    Tipico2019-01-03
Found 89 reviews