Sun Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sun Life Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 361 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes senior management is there only for their own benefit(in 23 reviews)

  • "no room for advancement, stressful(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Excellent and caring Management. Genuine interest in staff development and growth. Much emphasis upon learning and desire for each employee to contribute and participate in department goals and objectives.

    Cons

    Routine daily responsibilities can sometimes become boring.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course...

    Sun Life2018-12-03
  2. "Actuarial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Currently experience no down side. might add in later

    Sun Life2019-05-07
  3. "Stable company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tableau Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Great people to work with

    Cons

    Below avg pay for top Talent

    Sun Life2019-05-23
  4. "Learning and Development Trainer - Great overall experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Direct leadership was great at the managerial and director level. I personally cannot comment on Senior Leadership as I did not have more than a couple of interactions with them. From my experience (5 years) we were allowed to be professionals and given projects that had an impact on our business and helping to serve the teams we were directly responsible for. We had the opportunity to share our expertise with other...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing significant. Management was open to discussion and refining/considering our team/individual contributions.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work towards Mr. Dave Jones's vision of fanatical customer service and continue to develop the processes to serve clients.

    Sun Life2019-05-20
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support from management. Through training to help advisors like myself run their practice. Management in the Scarborough office give you incentives to and training round to fully perfect your skills in each and every department of your process. Friendly environment to work with the people in the Scarborough office. Everyone is there to help you assist in business. One good thing about he Financial centre 14...

    Show More

    Cons

    The success ratio depends on your individual capacity to make your own schedule and be disciplined. This job offers a lot of flexibility so some advisors may not fully utilize it to its capacity. So success relies on your hard work solely. You either win at his job or you lose, depends on your efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Great Scarborough Diamonds management style. I perhaps have the best team to rely on. They give you their time and help to help you in every aspect of your business.

    Sun Life2019-04-29
  6. "Decent first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kitchener, ON

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent salary for an entry level position

    Cons

    Not many young people working on my team

    Sun Life2019-05-11
  7. "good company to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good managers open to new ideas

    Cons

    need to improve some systems need more support, training

    Sun Life2019-04-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Meh - Too many "lifers" causing issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Large company, with potential for exposure

    Cons

    Too many "lifers" who say, it has always been this way, that are reluctant to change. And rather than looking at themselves to promote change, they blame the younger generation for not having worked there as long as them so they couldn't possible know how to do/fix a problem.

    Advice to Management

    Be innovative and strategic.

    Sun Life2019-05-03
  9. "Frustratingly bad work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Salary is fair, benefits good

    Cons

    You are a number, not a name. Principles you are expected to adhere to in serving customers is not adhered to by management. The tools you are given to do your job are insufficient and highly in-efficient. The disappointment of your clients wares you down, management doesn’t care.

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time managing your employees, be more hands on with your help and advice rather than constantly deferring responsibility on others or the employee

    Sun Life2019-05-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Advisor Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor Assistant in Charlottetown, PE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Best reason to work with Sun Life Financial is being able to develop yourself and gain more skills.

    Cons

    A great company to work, I did not experienced any downsize

    Sun Life2019-03-30
Found 361 reviews