Sun Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Sun Life Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
232 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, work/life flexibility, growth opportunities, strong communication from leadership, amazing benefits! My favorite company to work for.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2019-12-18
  2. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Co workers..lovely environment..good benefits

    Cons

    Don't know of any...a place to grow and learn.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2020-02-11
  3. "Great learning opportunities, very busy depending on departement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A leadership team with a distinct focus on training for data professionals. Friendly and social coworkers. Frequent opportunities to move up.

    Cons

    Depending on the department, can be very busy compared to other companies. Underpays a little compared to the competition.

    Sun Life2020-03-20
  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company with many opportunities for people to potentially move around

    Cons

    Has a very big company feel so you have to consider that before starting

    Sun Life2020-03-19
  5. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    SL has a great Team Envionrment

    Cons

    Salary progression if you are internally promoted is a challenge

    Sun Life2020-03-17
  6. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Portfolio Management in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Well established enterprise environment, well defined policies, secure and safe place to learn and work

    Cons

    Process overhead; bureaucracy; slow and hierarchical decision making process

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2020-03-25
  7. "Great Employer, great work environment, great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My own hours, my own salary

    Cons

    Hard work, though sell, but worth it

    Sun Life2020-02-24
  8. "Life's Brighter Under The Sun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic company to work with. They value their client's with a Client First approach.

    Cons

    Slow adoption of digital services. Majority of of other insurance carriers have moved on to a digital platform in terms of application process.

    Sun Life2020-02-24
  9. "Typical corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Trainer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - paid overtime - good group benefit plan - room to grow and learn - well structure and standard - multicultural

    Cons

    - can be more flexible when it comes to processor - too many steps and departments need to go through to request one simple thing such as fixing a door - when there are 2 departments involved to complete a tast, it seems like left hand didn't talk to right hand

    Sun Life2020-02-20
  10. "Review for general BA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work, very friendly

    Cons

    Not a big company compared with banks in Toronto

    Sun Life2020-03-03
Found 768 reviews