Mattersight Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Mattersight Reviews

Updated May 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mattersight CEO of NICE Barak Eilam (no image)
Barak Eilam
1 Rating
Pros
  • "They have an above average work-life balance, you won't get burnt out and you get plenty of PTO(in 15 reviews)

  • "A lot of smart people and a lot of opportunities to have real responsibility early in your career(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is not in touch with the rest of the company and does not communicate well about developments and setbacks(in 5 reviews)

  • "no Team Building activities outside of work in the Austin office(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great promise, the reality a letdown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Mattersight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The concept of behavioral routing was very sexy and opened all sorts of doors at prospective companies. Great office location in Chicago. Lots of super smart people.

    Cons

    The reality is that a very specific set of attributes is required for the solution to actually produce positive results, and most companies did not fit that profile. So we had lots of initial interest but very few conversions.

    Continue reading
    Mattersight2019-04-22
  2. "Inclusive & Fun Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind and knowledgeable co-workers, employee engagement events, free beer and snacks, fun games!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    Mattersight2019-04-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Kinda ruined my resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    snacks, and a decent product, Smart people doing the best they can, If you work really hard you can see your position and influence change the company, people actively switched roles while I was there.

    Cons

    When your first PRO is the snacks i might feel like I wasted part of my life here. I feel very validated seeing other reviews here criticizing management. My experience was one of poor mentorship regarding the data structures that contributed to my poor performance. I felt like an alien with no where to hide and it was paralyzing. Seeing the reviews tank after my departure helps me validate my concerns. Biggest issue I had was a work culture that made it hard to make mistakes. Senior staff had childish outbursts that made it very hard to work. Combined with the faux open floorplan and there is no privacy when people should be having private moments. I feel like i almost made a coworker cry because i gave him questionable feedback on a report.

    Continue reading
    Mattersight2019-05-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cool place to work after work is over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent peers, a lot of team building but navigating channels within company is difficult.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency with regards to company goals and product development

    Mattersight2019-02-19
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn lots of new technologies

    Cons

    silos group in three locations

    Continue reading
    Mattersight2018-10-05

    Mattersight Response

    October 6, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the "Good luck" and thank you for the contributions you made during your tenure as part of Team Mattersight. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors. - Melissa

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Waiting for the Miracle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    Smart, smart people Beautiful office (Chicago) Social culture Lots of cool data

    Cons

    Lots of silos, many due to 3 geographically separated, functionally disparate offices Lip service to being/trying to be a software product company while continuing to entertain high touch engagements that distract teams from organizing around products Very few deals, low market power with customers

    Continue reading
    Mattersight2018-09-26

    Mattersight Response

    October 2, 2018Chief People Officer

    Mattersight has always been able to attract smart people wanting to solve interesting problems so it's great to see our people on the top of your Pro list. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions on the company and the current changes. As you noted, Mattersight has been acquired by NICE and we all look forward to the future as we embark on this new journey. Employee communications will continue to update on decisions, goals and our progress. If you have questions or comments that the communications aren't covering, please reach out to David or me. And get ready for that fun ride... - Melissa

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, no micro management, great coworkers

    Cons

    A lot of technical debt, slow adoption of new technologies, low end salary

    Mattersight2018-09-30

    Mattersight Response

    October 2, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your comments and while I'm glad to see the pros, it's the cons that concern me. The appeal of our company for our recent acquisition was our people and our technology. As we integrate our processes, I hope you see some of the positive changes you are looking for. Please continue to share your concerns and suggestions with management as we work together on this new journey. - Melissa

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good work... Here's a free soda!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed office settings. Some departments flexibility to work remote a portion of the time.

    Cons

    They will do everything they can to make you feel like you are important while not really doing anything to compensate you for your achievements. Going above and beyond is rarely rewarded. If you are more interested in benefits via consumables such as occasional catered lunches and free snacks and soda instead of progressive raises and promotions based on your performance then its great. Select individuals in senior leadership are counterproductive to accomplishing anything.

    Mattersight2018-09-26

    Mattersight Response

    October 2, 2018Chief People Officer

    I'm disappointed that we disappointed you during your employment at Mattersight. Our employee engagement programs such as catered lunch, snacks, soda and beer are only part of the equation. It sounds like our recognition programs failed to reward your above and beyond work and I apologize for that. I hope your time at Mattersight positioned you well for your new role and you receive the recognition you are looking for. Thank you for your contributions and I wish you the best of luck. - Melissa

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Full Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mattersight full-time

    Pros

    my team was great other than that nothing

    Cons

    Not run well by management No money

    Mattersight2018-08-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "It is a good work environment with good people, upper management is out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Mattersight

    Pros

    People, You can really run with ideas. Snacks and beer are provided. Lunch provided twice a month. Good team bonding.

    Cons

    Management can seem out of touch. Salary is significantly lower than average. Company is still stuck in the dark ages with some deployment practices

    Mattersight2018-05-16

    Mattersight Response

    May 29, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I agree with your pros and am thrilled to see that People were at the top of your list! Great people running with their ideas is one of the foundations of our culture at Mattersight. Your review shows that you are a current employee; I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you about your management comment. Clearly you have had some experiences that are inconsistent with the positive aspects of working here and I'd like to course correct if possible. If you would be willing, please im or email me. Best, Melissa

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 71 reviews