Mattersight Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 of over 77 reviews

3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Mattersight CEO of NICE Barak Eilam (no image)
Barak Eilam
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have an above average work-life balance, you won't get burnt out and you get plenty of PTO(in 15 reviews)

  • "A lot of smart people and a lot of opportunities to have real responsibility early in your career(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is not in touch with the rest of the company and does not communicate well about developments and setbacks(in 5 reviews)

  • "no Team Building activities outside of work in the Austin office(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great, but room for improvement

      Dec 2, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Motivated and high-caliber coworkers, work flexibility, ability to impact customers

      Cons

      Lack of transparency and sometimes long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Consulting company who doesn't understand what SAAS stands for.

      Apr 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Edina, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some employees are genuinely willing to come to work every day and make a difference. Some awesome people, and the culture was really good for a long time! Three different offices with cool technology.

      Cons

      Crazy turnover, massive layoffs with no new talent brought in. Management has no clue how to promote teamwork, drive projects or keep people on track. Everything is about pleasing the guy above you. Absolute worst workplace conduct and politics I've ever had the misfortune to be a part of. Hard work is expected, stolen and given to the person who management wants to give credit to. Projects are started and managed by people with absolutely no formal education or credentials, limped along half of the way through, and dumped on the people willing to try and make them better. Employee personal information is used to create jokes, and further promote the disfunction. Lots of behind closed doors joking and mockery. Management handles this by constantly swapping roles around, and hanging on to the 'good ol boys club' because of seniority. 10/10 would quit again.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Meh

      Oct 15, 2020 - Devops Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers to share the days with.

      Cons

      Acquired by NICE and it was rough.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great people but not profitable

      Mar 30, 2020 - VP-Technology in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and very cool facilities

      Cons

      In business for a long time, but never profitable

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Kinda ruined my resume

      May 3, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      snacks, and a decent product, Smart people doing the best they can, If you work really hard you can see your position and influence change the company, people actively switched roles while I was there.

      Cons

      When your first PRO is the snacks i might feel like I wasted part of my life here. I feel very validated seeing other reviews here criticizing management. My experience was one of poor mentorship regarding the data structures that contributed to my poor performance. I felt like an alien with no where to hide and it was paralyzing. Seeing the reviews tank after my departure helps me validate my concerns. Biggest issue I had was a work culture that made it hard to make mistakes. Senior staff had childish outbursts that made it very hard to work. Combined with the faux open floorplan and there is no privacy when people should be having private moments. I feel like i almost made a coworker cry because i gave him questionable feedback on a report.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great promise, the reality a letdown

      Apr 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The concept of behavioral routing was very sexy and opened all sorts of doors at prospective companies. Great office location in Chicago. Lots of super smart people.

      Cons

      The reality is that a very specific set of attributes is required for the solution to actually produce positive results, and most companies did not fit that profile. So we had lots of initial interest but very few conversions.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Waiting for the Miracle

      Sep 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, smart people Beautiful office (Chicago) Social culture Lots of cool data

      Cons

      Lots of silos, many due to 3 geographically separated, functionally disparate offices Lip service to being/trying to be a software product company while continuing to entertain high touch engagements that distract teams from organizing around products Very few deals, low market power with customers

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Mattersight Response

      Chief People Officer

      Mattersight has always been able to attract smart people wanting to solve interesting problems so it's great to see our people on the top of your Pro list. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions on the company and the current changes. As you noted, Mattersight has been acquired by NICE and we all look forward to the future as we embark on this new journey. Employee communications will continue to update on decisions, goals and our progress. If you have questions or comments that the communications aren't covering, please reach out to David or me. And get ready for that fun ride... - Melissa

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Inclusive & Fun Environment!

      Apr 1, 2019 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kind and knowledgeable co-workers, employee engagement events, free beer and snacks, fun games!

      Cons

      I cannot think of any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Good work... Here's a free soda!

      Sep 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed office settings. Some departments flexibility to work remote a portion of the time.

      Cons

      They will do everything they can to make you feel like you are important while not really doing anything to compensate you for your achievements. Going above and beyond is rarely rewarded. If you are more interested in benefits via consumables such as occasional catered lunches and free snacks and soda instead of progressive raises and promotions based on your performance then its great. Select individuals in senior leadership are counterproductive to accomplishing anything.

      5 people found this review helpful

      Mattersight Response

      Chief People Officer

      I'm disappointed that we disappointed you during your employment at Mattersight. Our employee engagement programs such as catered lunch, snacks, soda and beer are only part of the equation. It sounds like our recognition programs failed to reward your above and beyond work and I apologize for that. I hope your time at Mattersight positioned you well for your new role and you receive the recognition you are looking for. Thank you for your contributions and I wish you the best of luck. - Melissa

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cool place to work after work is over

      Feb 19, 2019 - Service Delivery Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Intelligent peers, a lot of team building but navigating channels within company is difficult.

      Cons

      Lack of transparency with regards to company goals and product development

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 75 Reviews

    Work at Mattersight? Share Your Experiences

    Mattersight logo
    or