LifeLabs Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
52%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
LifeLabs President and CEO Charles Brown
Charles Brown
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Medical Laboratory Technician"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist/Medical Laboratory Technician in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LifeLabs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional, on-going support and training, living wage, growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Performance pressure occasionally overrides ability to service effectively. It can be a bit overwhelming at times. Otherwise, a positive, encouraging, rewarding company to be a part of.

    Continue reading
    LifeLabs2020-05-25
  2. "Great place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Laboratory Technologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LifeLabs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great manager and team leader. Appreciated the experience. Very structured and organized with room to grow.

    Cons

    Sometimes growth took more time than I would have liked,

    Continue reading
    LifeLabs2020-06-02
  3. "Amazing job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeLabs full-time

    Pros

    Amazing, culture, amazing team, amazing work.

    Cons

    It was too far, but the building is still neat with a nice cafeteria

    Continue reading
    LifeLabs2020-05-15
  4. "Good place to start a career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Patient Technician 

    I worked at LifeLabs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to get your foot in the door. I learned a lot and took all my skills with me when I found a permanent roll at a hospital.

    Cons

    I hated "floating" to different sites. It would've been great if they at least paid for mileage. Some sites were paid parking and it was like pulling teeth just to get reimbursed for that. Most of the time they made up an excuse to not pay for it.

    LifeLabs2020-04-23
  5. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Continuous Improvement in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeLabs full-time

    Pros

    Great people work there, exciting projects

    Cons

    Organization is siloed and a little behind on technology

    LifeLabs2020-04-21
  6. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Programmer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeLabs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work culture, excellent support, many resources available to complete tasks at hand.

    Cons

    Location is far and difficult to commute to if using TTC. This has been a source of stress when the subway has unexpected closures. There are also a limited number of bus options.

    LifeLabs2020-04-13
  7. "Lots of work but great team to work with"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LifeLabs part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive team and good schedule

    Cons

    Long commute to go to from home

    LifeLabs2020-03-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to get experience/ Not great for growing career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LifeLabs full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gain experience, hires at entry level

    Cons

    Terrible compensation for type of work load and company expectations

    Continue reading
    LifeLabs2020-02-25
  9. "As advertised"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LifeLabs part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They are very transparent about wages and benefits. When you are eligible for increases and vacation time. With seniority the job gets much easier- with set hours and days.

    Cons

    It's a rough job to start. Lots of on call shifts, travelling to different labs. Low work-life balance to start.

    LifeLabs2020-02-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Up and coming"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Assistant in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LifeLabs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind co workers for support

    Cons

    Understaffed and unreasonable expectations from employees

    Continue reading
    LifeLabs2020-01-31
Found 170 reviews