Amgen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amgen Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
718 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You need to have strong personal boundaries because it's a 24/7 kind of work culture with little work/life balance(in 86 reviews)

  • "Very poor decision making with senior leadership - lack of leadership courage to do anything truly progressive(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent as research tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amgen part-time

    Pros

    This has been a great experience.

    Cons

    I wish I had more flexibility.

    Amgen2019-10-28
  2. "I need employment from amgen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amgen is a dedicated company that provides drugs to fight disease and illnesses. As a result of that I got the passion to work with the company

    Cons

    I would be very much grateful if amgen could widen it tentacles to cover all parts of the world.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2019-12-22
  3. "Great perks, not great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Bio-pharmaceutical Representative in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    RRSP matching, bonus, reputation, team

    Cons

    top-down management, reps are not included in decisions

    Amgen2019-08-22
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coop 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Not much to say about it

    Amgen2019-07-04
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance - Enthusiastic and positive company - Ability to move up

    Cons

    - Limited young talent, a lot of people who have been with the company for decades

    Amgen2019-02-08
  6. "Truly innovative company with an excellent reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Bio-pharmaceutical Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High salary, approachable and down to earth leaders who lead by example, strong pipeline, stock options, “family” feeling among peers, opportunities for continuing education/development

    Cons

    I have been in my sales role for a year and cannot say one negative piece of feedback. I feel very lucky to be working for Amgen Canada!

    Continue reading
    Amgen2018-10-23
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Technician in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the cozy friendly environment of Amgen company

    Cons

    No cons for this company

    Amgen2017-12-06
  8. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Smart, motivated people, good products, pipeline strong,

    Cons

    Flat organization, career development not prioritized

    Amgen2017-10-04
  9. "qc analyst(biochemistry)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Lab Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    good salary good collaboration and mutual benefits

    Cons

    good management and good team worker

    Continue reading
    Amgen2017-08-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Local office in Mississauga Ontario

    Cons

    career opportunities to move up the management chain are limited.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2017-08-14
Found 1843 reviews