Amgen Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amgen Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
696 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance could be better(in 84 reviews)

  • "Multiple stakeholders and multi-level decision making engender rounds of reviews and buy-ins(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent as research tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Amgen part-time

    Pros

    This has been a great experience.

    Cons

    I wish I had more flexibility.

    Amgen2019-10-28
  2. "I need employment from amgen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amgen is a dedicated company that provides drugs to fight disease and illnesses. As a result of that I got the passion to work with the company

    Cons

    I would be very much grateful if amgen could widen it tentacles to cover all parts of the world.

    Advice to Management

    Extend your hands to cover all or most part of the world to give necessary medical attention to others

    Amgen2019-12-22
  3. "Great perks, not great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Bio-pharmaceutical Representative in Mississauga, ON

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    RRSP matching, bonus, reputation, team

    Cons

    top-down management, reps are not included in decisions

    Amgen2019-08-22
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coop 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Not much to say about it

    Amgen2019-07-04
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance - Enthusiastic and positive company - Ability to move up

    Cons

    - Limited young talent, a lot of people who have been with the company for decades

    Amgen2019-02-08
  6. "Truly innovative company with an excellent reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Bio-pharmaceutical Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High salary, approachable and down to earth leaders who lead by example, strong pipeline, stock options, “family” feeling among peers, opportunities for continuing education/development

    Cons

    I have been in my sales role for a year and cannot say one negative piece of feedback. I feel very lucky to be working for Amgen Canada!

    Advice to Management

    Your skilled leadership, honesty and transparency is appreciated. Keep up the great work.

    Amgen2018-10-23
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Technician in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the cozy friendly environment of Amgen company

    Cons

    No cons for this company

    Amgen2017-12-06
  8. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Smart, motivated people, good products, pipeline strong,

    Cons

    Flat organization, career development not prioritized

    Amgen2017-10-04
  9. "qc analyst(biochemistry)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Lab Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    good salary good collaboration and mutual benefits

    Cons

    good management and good team worker

    Advice to Management

    collaboration

    Amgen2017-08-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Local office in Mississauga Ontario

    Cons

    career opportunities to move up the management chain are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Time to stop outsourcing to CROs and start recruiting internally again.

    Amgen2017-08-14
Found 1855 reviews