Amgen Scientist Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
54 Ratings
  1. "big company with moderate support"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Amgen for less than a year

    Pros

    big company with good support and compensation

    Cons

    not collaborative work hard with bad environment

    Continue reading
  2. "Okay company..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate Scientist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best 401k, two weeks paid vacations.

    Cons

    Too much politics. Slow promotion, at least 5 years.

    Amgen Response

    July 9, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Hello, thank you for your review. We are always striving to learn and grow as a team, and your feedback is critical to ensuring we keep improving for our staff members around the world. If you'd like to share more details about your experience with our team, please contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good. Campus is nice. Lots of room for mobility.

    Cons

    As a contract worker you won't get benefits.

    Amgen Response

    June 11, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Hello, thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you're enjoying Amgen's campus life and opportunities for growth. Please know, you can always connect with us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience and feedback for our team. Thanks again for taking the time!

  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits, two week company shutdown, good people

    Cons

    large company, may move slowly at times

    Amgen Response

    June 4, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the benefits and perks we offer our staff members. Please know, you can always reach out to us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. Again, thank you for your time.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bad place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible working time

    Cons

    Too much politics, promotion too slow.

    Amgen Response

    June 17, 2020Social Media Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. At Amgen, we always want to ensure a respectful and collaborative environment where everyone feels they can reach their potential. If you would be so kind as to provide additional details of your experience by writing to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com, we will do our very best to prevent similar feelings in the future. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

  6. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lively, busy, great people, culture

    Cons

    a bit to far from main city

    Amgen Response

    April 1, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for the great review! We hope your positive experience continues. Please know, you can always connect with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com with any questions or concerns.

  7. "Internship"

    4.0
    Former Intern - Data Scientist 

    I worked at Amgen for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life Balance is great.

    Cons

    Headquarter locates in Thousand Oaks. a small town.

  8. "Good benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good benefit with two week of coMeant wide shut down, one in summer and one in holiday break

    Cons

    The company turn over is high

    Amgen Response

    February 18, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. As a valued team member, we sincerely appreciate your feedback as we strive to create an enjoyable work environment. If you'd like to share more about your experience, please contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com at any time.

  9. "."

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Scientist 

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    benefits are great and competitive

    Cons

    politics can create an unhappy environment

    Amgen Response

    January 28, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to create a respectful environment where team members can grow both personally and professionally, and we’re sorry to hear this is not your experience. We encourage you to speak with your manager so we can address this immediately. Please know, you may connect with our team any time at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amgen’s CEO must go!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stock options, medical benefits and year end bonus.

    Cons

    This once great company has been decimated and the staff demoralized by the greedy senior management which has wasted tens of billions of dollars on share buybacks to appease Wall Street and large shareholders. This money would have been better spent on more astute funding of research and superior scientific leaders. The main reason for the share buybacks is to maintain their EPS even though their revenues have been declining for the past few years. In addition, the decimation of the Cambridge site(Neuroscience, HTS, PKDM, Chemistry, and Toxicology) is an abomination and a perfect example of the treachery/greed/shortsightedness of the corrupt bourgeoisie of Thousand Oaks, CA.

    Continue reading
Found 119 reviews