Amgen Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Amgen President & CEO Robert A. Bradway
Robert A. Bradway
730 Ratings
  1. "Product Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Istanbul
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    global, industry, benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    culture, global opportunities, senior level management

    Amgen2020-05-15

    Amgen Response

    May 22, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. We're glad your experience was overall positive, but we'd love to hear more of your thoughts on how we can improve in the above areas. Please contact talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more with our team. Thank you very much for your time.

  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, people and benefits

    Cons

    West coast company means adjusting your working day to meet with colleagues

    Amgen2020-05-14

    Amgen Response

    May 22, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for reaching out -- it's so nice to hear from staff from all over the world. We appreciate all you do to advance our mission. We understand that working in different time zones can be challenging. We are constantly striving to make it easier for our global teams to collaborate because the last thing we want is for your work/life balance or productivity to be negatively impacted. If this is the case, please get in touch with your supervisor or connect with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to help us decide on the best course of action. Thank you for your time!

  3. "Was a great company to work for in the past"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good compensation package for permanent staff.

    Cons

    Poor company culture, too focussed on shareholders

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-05-05

    Amgen Response

    May 10, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. We are constantly brainstorming on ways to improve our culture for our employees, and this is the kind of feedback we're interested in hearing. Please know, you can always reach out to talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience.

  4. "Great benefits package"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for development. Great benefits especially 401k.

    Cons

    Highly political and that’s probably it

    Amgen2020-04-26

    Amgen Response

    April 27, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your growth and leave positive feedback about our comprehensive benefits package. At Amgen, we work to ensure we have direct lines of communication at all times to address your concerns, whether that be speaking with your manager or contacting our team through our support line. Please do not hesitate to connect with us at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. Thank you!

  5. "Great place overall"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong company in term of product, people and benefit

    Cons

    Maybe have frequent internal movements

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-04-23

    Amgen Response

    April 23, 2020Social Media Manager

    Hello, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your experience at Amgen, but we'd like to connect to hear your thoughts on how we can further grow our career development opportunities. Send our team a message at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more of your feedback. Thank you, we appreciate your time.

  6. "Following their updates"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amgen

    Pros

    The rare specialty and the access driven mindset

    Cons

    Low vacancy and low portfolio of products

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-04-20

    Amgen Response

    April 28, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're very pleased to hear of your positive experience. Please know, you can always leave more feedback for our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com.

  7. "Great experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Close and supportive scientific community

    Cons

    Tough timelines for fundamental research projects

    Amgen2020-04-20

    Amgen Response

    April 21, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear you've found a supportive community at Amgen. It's important for us to have an environment that is built on collaboration and respect for each other's contributions. Please know, you can always reach out to our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to provide feedback and share more about your experience so far.

  8. "Biotech in transition"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Medical Director in Zug
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amgen full-time

    Pros

    Innovative, culture, pipeline, open minded, people to work with

    Cons

    Change management, US driven not yet truly global

    Amgen2020-04-20
  9. "Too much politics"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Director, Marketing in Thousand Oaks, CA

    I have been working at Amgen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good campus and 401 k plan

    Cons

    Too much politics. Everyone is only looking after themselves and not willing to stand up for what is right. Lots of busy work that does not add any value. We say we put patients first but it’s all about the bottom line. Less competent employees being promoted with little experience because all the good people are leaving Amgen. Management cherry picks information that is shared with staff. Lack of accountability and transparency at the management level.

    Continue reading
    Amgen2020-05-23
  10. "Great Team Members, Unrealistic Workoad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HRIS Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amgen full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at Amgen for a long time and am very grateful for the wonderful people I had the opportunity to work with. There is definitely opportunity for growth and learning at the Thousand Oaks location.

    Cons

    Continually releveling of jobs to pay less for added responsibilities. Management doesn't seem to value all employees. With all the reductions, those left are forced to do more work for the same or less pay. Some roles are definitely underpaid in market.

    Amgen2020-04-30

    Amgen Response

    May 1, 2020Social Media Manager

    Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear this has been your experience, and appreciate your transparency. We take these matters seriously. We'd like to hear more about your experience so we can be sure to address it. Please connect with our team at talentacquisitioninquiries@amgen.com to share more about your experience. Thank you.

Found 1862 reviews