Allstate Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Allstate Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Allstate Chairman and Chief Executive Officer  Thomas J. Wilson II
Thomas J. Wilson II
1,969 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great home office to work at for a company that really wants to push for work/life balance(in 527 reviews)

  • "Ample vacation time and good benefits(in 214 reviews)

Cons
  • "minimum work/life balance, high stress due to call volume(in 136 reviews)

  • "With my agency there were no benefits at all(in 102 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Agent in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and flexibility

    Cons

    Can be difficult sometimes working long hours

    Allstate2020-01-16
  2. "Good work environment at head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner in Markham, ON

    I have been working at Allstate full-time

    Pros

    Development opportunities and annual incentives

    Cons

    Not all that glitz is gold

    Allstate2020-02-10
  3. "This used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Damage Adjuster in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Allstate full-time

    Pros

    Fair pay, decent benefits, decent vacation time, good staff

    Cons

    Disorganized, poor management (in this department specifically) cliques, training is now done by someone who has not worked in claims, too much trial and error

    Continue reading
    Allstate2020-01-23
  4. "Not a great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allstate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a big company and is well known The location is good for those who live uptown There could be opportunities but I think I would need to invest a lot of time

    Cons

    During the interview process the one interviewing person didn't seem like they were engaged Read some negative reviews of the company culture

    Allstate2020-02-06
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Allstate full-time

    Pros

    They care about their people

    Cons

    The company is slow moving

    Allstate2020-01-17
  6. "A very good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CCA in Ottawa, ON

    I have been working at Allstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have chance to develop your communication skills.

    Cons

    Late shift is not good for your family.

    Continue reading
    Allstate2019-12-09
  7. "Good company can use better management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDA 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allstate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay for sales is good

    Cons

    micromanaging by mangers is a turnoff

    Continue reading
    Allstate2019-12-02
  8. "Good entry position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service and Sales Representative in Markham, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Allstate full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people, good benefits, convenient location, work from home opportunities, good yearly bonus opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of movement for growth. Favoritism within the organization.

    Allstate2019-12-05
  9. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Systems Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Allstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment is awesome, very positive

    Cons

    Benefits could be better

    Allstate2019-11-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Agent in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Allstate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent base salary although bonuses could be much better.

    Cons

    Tons of micromanagement. Extremely old-school in approach to sales. Daily outbound call/quote quotas. Managers willing to break provincial regulations.

    Allstate2019-11-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4791 reviews