PBS Systems Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
PBS Systems President David Bradley (no image)
David Bradley
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much growth at PBS, that those who want to build a career can work with management to find a rewarding career path matching their strengths(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are also periodic staff lunches, and cookie day on the last Wednesday of every month(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No downside at pbs every thing is great(in 9 reviews)

  • "Unless you are family/friends, you will go nowhere (that's expected)(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Calgary Base Company!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Business Communications Specialist in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brand new office Courses are offered to achieve success in the company

      Cons

      Base pay is on the lower end for Calgary

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us with five-star review! At PBS Systems, we provide internal programs and courses to help staff learn about the software and achieve success in our company. If you have any concerns or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR: hr@pbssystems.com. Kira T- Communications Administrator

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent stepping stone

      May 5, 2021 - Software Trainer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to travel to some places you would never had gone to. This is a great place to gather some skills before your next career journey. There are a lot of broken links in the company and management is out of tune with their employees.

      Cons

      Vacation policy Benefits Compensation Vacation policy Benefits Compensation The salary here is below industry standards. You get the best treatment and perks of you are part of the cool kids squad. Only eligible for vacay after one year and only for 2 weeks. Doesn’t feel like you work for a software company. Listening to their employees would help this company achieve greatness. No care for traveling employees or compassion.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback on your time with PBS. This review is quite worrisome, as we genuinely feel bad that anyone who has worked for PBS could ever feel this way. At PBS, we thrive on a family-oriented culture, but this doesn’t mean that one employee gets treated better than the others. We always strive to ensure that all employees are treated fairly for the role that they have been hired for. As for employee benefits, we are in the process of re-establishing our employee benefits package with a different provider to ensure that employees receive the best benefits possible. I strongly recommend reaching out to hr@pbssystems.com, however, if you don’t feel comfortable reaching out to HR, please reach out to your previous Manager, a Director, or VP to discuss your experiences while working at PBS. We want to do everything in our power to ensure that all PBS staff are empowered. Every bit of feedback helps us to make our company a better place to work. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Entry level basic jobs. Use it for experience and move on.

      Apr 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Anyone can get hired and I mean anyone. However, One thing they do and I commend them for it is they do a fantastic job of being extremely diverse. No prejudice.

      Cons

      LOTS! Where to start...... Let’s see, they hire entry level people for just about every role because nobody with superior skills would take a job here unless they had no other options. (Myself included in that) Management is a complete joke. Qualifications to become a manager....., skills - nope, talent - nope, tenure - nope. Friends / family - yup! The turnover is tremendous outside of management and the overall compensation is abysmal. They are on the extremely low end of benefits and compensation. This is an ok place to start your career but if you have any skills or are even average in your abilities then there’s plenty of better places to have a career at. This company has the most basic medical and dental plan I have ever seen and they only cover half the premium so be prepared to shell out $150/mo for benefits if you have a family but then understand that the coverage they have chosen is extremely basic. I’ve never seen another B2B company make their employees pay half for medical coverage. (Though I’m sure they exist but definitely not a company I would want to work for) if a company doesn’t offer adequate medical coverage or benefits would you say they really value you as an employee? They offer $40/day meal allowance if you spend the night but if you travel for the day and are gone 16 hours, too bad. They make you pay for half of your work assigned laptop. They only offer $0.40/km for mileage and they make you pay for your own company branded clothing. Want company matched retirement options?..... don’t look at PBS then. They don’t offer it. They’ll have you on the road 4 weeks a month but tell you 2 weeks is all that is expected when you’re interviewing. You’ll be at dealerships for upwards of 12 hours a day with no added compensation. Quite literally, not only one of the the worst companies to work for in any industry but especially in the DMS space. There are other DMS companies out there bigger, better and more well managed than PBS. I suggest researching them and then applying. (Psssst, I work for one of them now and they are 1000% better than PBS in my opinion.)

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Hi there, This review is quite worrisome, as we genuinely feel bad that anyone that has worked for PBS could ever feel this negative while they were working for the company. It seems that you have had some expectations that management has not met. Even though PBS has a very family-oriented culture, this does not affect the hiring or promotion process. We value each individual and want the best for their career advancement. Every employee is hired after numerous interviews and careful consideration of individual merit, experience and potential, along with previous experience. We recognize that being an onsite staff member can be tough, mainly because you are one of the main contacts for clients while they are transitioning to our software. Install roles aren’t for everyone, but PBS has many employment opportunities available. Our travel allowance is not stagnant and is tied to staff accreditation and training to ensure our customers get the best support available. As for reviews on GlassDoor, we can clarify that PBS does not post “fake” reviews. All of our reviews are submitted freely by either current or former employees. We take reviews very seriously and believe them to be essential for us to know how employees feel about the business and their roles. Regardless of positive or negative feedback, our goal is to engage with reviews, to ensure that as a company, we are equipped to best support our staff. Currently, we are in the process of re-establishing our employee benefits package with a different provider to ensure that employees receive the best benefits. I strongly recommend reaching out to hr@pbssystems.com to let them know about your personal experience. If you don’t feel comfortable reaching out to HR, please reach out to your previous Manager, a Director or VP to discuss your experiences while working at PBS. Thank you. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company Review

      Feb 16, 2021 - Business Intelligence Analyst in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Conducive environment to work in.

      Cons

      salary is very low compared on same grounds

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. PBS managers conduct employee reviews twice per year, to ensure that every member of the team has a chance to be heard. During reviews we typically discuss salary, raises, opportunities for growth and any other relevant matters. We do encourage open communication outside of review periods and it is not irregular for staff to discuss these topics with managers in impromptu meetings or book a conversation directly with HR (hr@pbssystems.com). We are very fortunate to be in a situation of continuous growth, with this comes recruitment and it is no easy task when our standards are so high. That said salaries do vary throughout the company and depend on the position, industry experience, level of employment and tenure with PBS. I hope you will utilize HR or your own manager to ensure any concerns are dealt with. If you’re uncomfortable speaking to your manager or HR then please reach out to Employee Relations or any member of the PBS Management Team. We continuously evaluate our staff offerings to remain competitive and if there is opportunity for growth we’d love to hear it! Kira T - Communications Administrator

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay

      Mar 19, 2021 - Client Service Representative in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Nice office - Opportunity to travel - Good foot in the door opportunity

      Cons

      - Exhausting work - Onsite time is up to 12 hour days with low travel bonuses and very low per diem ($40/day)

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review with us. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive and are glad that you see PBS as a ‘nice place to work.’ We want to ensure that the company continues to maintain this positive reputation. Employees always have the option to speak to their manager or HR if there are concerns with pay, benefits, or anything in between. We want to do everything in our power to ensure that all PBS staff are empowered. Every bit of feedback helps us continuously strive for this goal. Thank you again for your feedback! Kira T - Communications Administrator

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Amazing people

      Feb 14, 2021 - Technical Support Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Forward thinking, great work environment .

      Cons

      Not perfect not one company is.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us a five-star review! I am very glad to see that you have mentioned “forward thinking” and “great work environment” as these are some of the most valuable assets at PBS and help to define who we are. If you ever have any concerns or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR: hr@pbssystems.com. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      IT support analyst

      Feb 2, 2021 - PBS in Milton, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team spirit and good interactions between co-workers

      Cons

      I do not see anything for now

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on Glassdoor. If there is anything that is stopping you from having a 5 star experience at PBS please reach out to HR: HR@pbssystems.com. We want to do everything in our power to ensure that all PBS staff are empowered and every bit of feedback helps us continuously strive for this goal. Thank you again for your positive feedback! Kira T - Communications Administrator

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Nov 19, 2020 - Analyst in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company to work for

      Cons

      Salary and benefits not that good

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review with us. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive. We are glad that you see PBS as a ‘good company’, and we want to ensure that the company continues to maintain that positive reputation. There are two review periods each year that present the opportunity to discuss salary, opportunities for growth and other relevant matters. I recommend taking this time to bring up any concerns you might have about your position or the company with your manager. Keep in mind that PBS is growing and there are plenty of roles in the company, so there may be a different role that will interest you and help to advance your career. Please note that we are in the process of improving employee benefits, so stay tuned for more information or contact your manager or HR (HR@PBSSYSTEMS.COM) to discuss any concerns. Thank you again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! Kira T - Communications Administrator

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place if you're motivated to be great!

      Apr 28, 2020 - Developer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good sense of team unit - love the people I work with. I feel like I've always had the ability to make a difference for customers and impacting my work experience. I have seen great people rise quickly and create opportunity for themselves and others. There is so much growth at PBS, that those who want to build a career can work with management to find a rewarding career path matching their strengths

      Cons

      There's been a lot of growth and hiring in the past couple of years... starting new means you have to shine to get accelerated career growth. That said, I've seen the people who invest themselves get rewarded.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us with a five star and an honest review of PBS Systems. I can really relate to your reference to PBS promoting a “good sense of team unit” within the work environment and the sense of community that PBS creates – it makes PBS a great place to come to work. PBS has grown over many years and as we continue to expand, we are continuously working to improve our process and growth for the company’s success. We want to ensure that PBS is a place where every employee receives the attention or recognition that they deserve as an individual and as a professional. Thank you again for your positive feedback! If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Family run

      Aug 27, 2020 - Software Developer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a good place to get experience if you have no qualifications for the job you are applying for, they will hire anyone with a pulse to do any job.

      Cons

      They have a lot of turn over so the people you are working with rarely know what they are doing and the managers are not qualified to manage people or develop software so they aren't really of much help. It's just a lot of friends/family of the owners playing politics to try to get by

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our goal is to take both positive and negative feedback from Glassdoor to improve our relationships with all of our current and previous employees. I can assure you our hiring processes are stringent. We take great pride in the fact we have such an experienced team that come from various Automotive backgrounds. That said we do hire people that have a little less experience on rare occasions. However, we think that is a strength to have people that have a different perspective. When given the chance we have seen some people with a little less experience grow into industry leaders. I am sure we can all remember the person or company that gave us a break? We are glad that as a company we can do that from time to time. We always balance these hires so that it is mutually beneficial for the new hire, existing staff, and our customers. I highly encourage that you speak with your previous manager or HR (hr@pbssystems.com) to discuss concerns you have in relation to the company, that is if you didn’t do it during your exit interview. We are prepared to listen and take your feedback into consideration for the future at PBS. We wish you every success in your future career. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PBS Systems Job Seekers

    Accounting Customer Service
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Technical Support Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at PBS Systems? Share Your Experiences

    PBS Systems logo
    or