PBS Systems Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 94 of over 94 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
PBS Systems President David Bradley (no image)
David Bradley
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much growth at PBS, that those who want to build a career can work with management to find a rewarding career path matching their strengths(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are also periodic staff lunches, and cookie day on the last Wednesday of every month(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No downside at pbs every thing is great(in 9 reviews)

  • "Unless you are family/friends, you will go nowhere (that's expected)(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      Aug 13, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive, good salary, nice bosses, good team, insurance coverage, new office, coffee, pantry, modern, technology

      Cons

      None none none none None none none none None none none none None none none none None none none none

      1 person found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us a five-star review and positive comments. If you ever have any concerns or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR: hr@pbssystems.com. Kira Thin - Communications Administrator

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fast growing company, lots of opportunities

      Aug 6, 2021 - Annoymus 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great place to work! The company is growing so fast and there's lots of opportunities. We have a brand new office building in the south east as well! There's always going to be negative reviews because most people don't always bother to write good reviews when they're happy but disgruntled people always write bad ones! Yes it is a family owned private company. Yes some of them are friends. But it does not mean you need to be to succeed. Plenty of people have come in here knowing no one and have been successful. Sure it may not be for everyone, as no job is. It's about having the skills, education and experience to do the job but also being part of a team, having integrity and acting in the best interests of the company and the culture. I love the people I work with and as the company grows it keeps getting better! Highly recommend, it's a great company and great industry to be in! Even through covid we've been hiring and expanding!

      Cons

      Vacation and rrsp contributions really need an update to keep up with industry standards but the positives greatly outweigh any negatives.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest review with us. We’re glad that you recognize the great atmosphere/company culture, and the opportunity to grow in your role. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive. We are glad that you see PBS as a great place to work, and we want to ensure that the company continues to maintain that positive reputation. We want to do everything we can to ensure that all PBS staff are empowered. Every bit of feedback helps us continuously strive for this goal. Please stay tuned for more information on our vacation policy as we are in the process of re-establishing it so that employees receive the best benefits we can offer. Thank you again for your feedback! Kira Thin - Communications Administrator

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Aug 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with great people! Enjoy the gym and cookie day, RSP and 401K. Free parking and close to shops and grocery stores.

      Cons

      Vacation policy could use some changes. Fast growing company with lots of opportunity.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to post a review for PBS on Glassdoor. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive. Its great to hear how much you’re enjoying it, we want to ensure that the company continues to maintain that kind of positive outlook. Please stay tuned for more information on our vacation policy as we are in the process of re-establishing it so that employees receive the best benefits we can offer. If there is anything in addition to this review you would like us to be aware of, please email HR@pbssystems.com Kira Thin - Communications Administrator

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Experience and Motivation to Self Improve

      Aug 13, 2021 - Tech Support Analyst in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to learn. Get to travel to remove cities in North American. Most of the people are friendly.

      Cons

      Mom and pop mentality. Need to know the right people. Long hours without compensation. Ask you to buy your own laptop for work. Company covers half, up to $600.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Hello, and thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback regarding your employment with PBS. We recognize that progressing in the company might present certain challenges, and we encourage you to contact HR or your manager to discuss any negatives experiences that you have encountered. PBS strives to ensure that every staff member is supported, both professionally and individually. We aim to give each person the attention they need to succeed and hope you find success working with the available resources. If there is anything in addition to this review you would like us to be aware of, please email HR@pbssystems.com. Kira Thin - Communications Administrator

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      6 Years - No Warning - No Reason

      Jul 28, 2021 - Certified Product Specialist in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is at the minimum a good entry-level job to get some experience in the field of DMS/ CRM/ LMS/ or Fixed Operations.

      Cons

      They do not value their people and it is more a culture of who you know. I was there for quite a while and had nothing but amazing reviews and output. The moment I had a new manager who did not like me I was on review and then out the door faster than I knew what happened. I have made several queries as to why this happened but all have went unanswered despite even some of the upper management agree that it shouldn't have happened. It's 100% about who you know and not how well you perform.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      This review is quite worrisome and I am sorry to hear about your experience, as it does not reflect the culture or caliber of PBS. It seems that you have had some expectations that we’v not met. I am sorry that you have felt undervalued, and I hope this is something that is resolved to your satisfaction in the near future. We have shared the details of your review internally to ensure the information is seen by the appropriate departments. Our goal is to take both positive and negative feedback from GlassDoor to improve our relationships with all current and previous employees. If there is anything in addition to this review that you would like us to be aware of, please email HR@pbssystems.com. Please know that your feedback is valued and we appreciate it. Thank you and all the best in your future endeavors. Kira Thin - Communications Administrator

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for resume and overall experience building

      Jul 25, 2021 - Analyst in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -there a lot of really great people who work there -you can typically move around between departments to try new things if you desire -you can travel to some interesting places

      Cons

      -the vacation sucks, minimum requirements by law: you don’t get any vacation days until you complete 1 full year of employment. Then you get 10 days every year following, until you pass 5 years -the salary is on the low end -raises are rare and typically only given with a promotion, and those don’t happen often -you are very much replaceable, they don’t seem to care about long term employee retention -HR doesn’t even face you themselves when you choose to leave, they send an admin person to ask the standard “why are you leaving” questions….. it’s very impersonal. Feels like they don’t care. -they like to hire outside personnel for management roles, not promote internal employees and train them to be managers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback on your time with PBS. We are genuinely sorry to hear what you have said about your time with PBS. Salaries do vary throughout the company and depend on the position, industry experience, level of employment and tenure with PBS. We apologize that you have had an experience contrary to this and hope you will consider contacting HR or your own manager to ensure any oversights are dealt with. Currently, we are in the process of re-establishing our employee benefits package and vacation policy so that employees receive the best benefits. If there is anything in addition to this review you would like us to be aware of please email HR@pbssystems.com. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not bad

      Jun 11, 2021 - Tier I Analyst in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent work flow, good communication with management

      Cons

      For a software company, they have no QA. Bug testing is done with customers as they happen

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review for PBS on Glassdoor. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive. We are glad that you experienced having “good communication with management”, and we want to ensure that the company continues to maintain that kind of positive feedback. We work with a number of clients and help to troubleshoot issues with the software, ensuring that the product is of the highest possible quality for our customers. QA is handled by a dedicated department, the Product and Solutions Team. This is one of the larger more tenured Departments at PBS and has been integral since the founding of the company. I would hazard to guess the misconception is due to your former role not being part of the Development cycle. If you ever have any concerns or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR: hr@pbssystems.com. Kira Thin - Communications Administrator

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Start for career

      May 14, 2021 - Forms Programmer II in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary on time. Nice Team.

      Cons

      No growth. Limited work so no improvement in knowledge .

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am very glad to see that you have mentioned “nice team” as the people who work at PBS are one of the most valuable assets of the company and help to define who we are. In addition, please keep in mind that PBS is growing and there are plenty of roles in the company, so there may be a different role that will interest you and help to advance your career. Please reach out to your manager and/or HR (HR@PBSSYSTEMS.COM) to discuss any concerns. We want to ensure that everyone feels as though they belong in their role. Thank you! Kira T - Communications Administrator

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Calgary Base Company!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Business Communications Specialist in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brand new office Courses are offered to achieve success in the company

      Cons

      Base pay is on the lower end for Calgary

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Thank you for leaving us with five-star review! At PBS Systems, we provide internal programs and courses to help staff learn about the software and achieve success in our company. If you have any concerns or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR: hr@pbssystems.com. Kira T- Communications Administrator

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent stepping stone

      May 5, 2021 - Software Trainer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to travel to some places you would never had gone to. This is a great place to gather some skills before your next career journey. There are a lot of broken links in the company and management is out of tune with their employees.

      Cons

      Vacation policy Benefits Compensation Vacation policy Benefits Compensation The salary here is below industry standards. You get the best treatment and perks of you are part of the cool kids squad. Only eligible for vacay after one year and only for 2 weeks. Doesn’t feel like you work for a software company. Listening to their employees would help this company achieve greatness. No care for traveling employees or compassion.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      PBS Systems Response

      Communications Administrator

      Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback on your time with PBS. This review is quite worrisome, as we genuinely feel bad that anyone who has worked for PBS could ever feel this way. At PBS, we thrive on a family-oriented culture, but this doesn’t mean that one employee gets treated better than the others. We always strive to ensure that all employees are treated fairly for the role that they have been hired for. As for employee benefits, we are in the process of re-establishing our employee benefits package with a different provider to ensure that employees receive the best benefits possible. I strongly recommend reaching out to hr@pbssystems.com, however, if you don’t feel comfortable reaching out to HR, please reach out to your previous Manager, a Director, or VP to discuss your experiences while working at PBS. We want to do everything in our power to ensure that all PBS staff are empowered. Every bit of feedback helps us to make our company a better place to work. Kira T - Communications Administrator

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 94 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PBS Systems Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PBS Systems? Share Your Experiences

    PBS Systems logo
    or