PBS Systems Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
PBS Systems President David Bradley (no image)
David Bradley
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "I feel like a true part of the family business at PBS(in 7 reviews)

  • "There are also periodic staff lunches, and cookie day on the last Wednesday of every month(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unless you are family/friends, you will go nowhere (that's expected)(in 10 reviews)

  • "No downside at pbs every thing is great(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place if you're motivated to be great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good sense of team unit - love the people I work with. I feel like I've always had the ability to make a difference for customers and impacting my work experience. I have seen great people rise quickly and create opportunity for themselves and others. There is so much growth at PBS, that those who want to build a career can work with management to find a rewarding career path matching their strengths

    Cons

    There's been a lot of growth and hiring in the past couple of years... starting new means you have to shine to get accelerated career growth. That said, I've seen the people who invest themselves get rewarded.

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2020-04-28

    PBS Systems Response

    April 30, 2020Communications Administrator

    Thank you for leaving us with a five star and an honest review of PBS Systems. I can really relate to your reference to PBS promoting a “good sense of team unit” within the work environment and the sense of community that PBS creates – it makes PBS a great place to come to work. PBS has grown over many years and as we continue to expand, we are continuously working to improve our process and growth for the company’s success. We want to ensure that PBS is a place where every employee receives the attention or recognition that they deserve as an individual and as a professional. Thank you again for your positive feedback! If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or contact HR. Kira T - Communications Administrator

  2. "Decent Culture, needs to join the 21st century"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really cool people to work with. Company really promotes the team culture. Work environment is very welcoming and great.

    Cons

    Training for new employees is something that is really missing. You are expected to learn and know everything somehow on your own. This really affects morale. The pay is pretty low compared to the industry. Travelling for work you are not given a laptop just for work. Makes this tough when on the road.

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2020-03-24

    PBS Systems Response

    March 31, 2020Communications Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our goal is to take both positive and negative feedback from Glass Door to improve our relationships with all our current and previous employees. I can really relate to the fact that PBS promotes “team culture” within the work environment and the sense of community that this creates – it makes PBS a great place to work. I do recognize that being in a trainer position can be challenging, so I encourage you to contact HR or your manager to discuss any negative experiences or challenges that you have encountered. The reason I recommend you reach out to HR or your manager is because there may be different options for compensation. We review compensation structures regularly and ensure they are fair, in line with other industries and most importantly that they meet the needs of employees. Keep in mind that there is two review periods each year that present the opportunity for you to discuss salary, opportunities for growth and other relevant matters with your manager. Use these kinds of opportunities to bring up concerns you might have about your position or the company. Thank you again for your feedback! Kira T - Communications Administrator

  3. "An accepting environment to grow successfully as a professional"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel opportunities , personal growth, managers who care about your well being

    Cons

    The pay could be more competitive

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2020-01-30

    PBS Systems Response

    January 30, 2020Communications Administrator

    Thank you for leaving us with five star and honest review for PBS Systems. I can really relate to having “managers who care about your well being” and “personal growth”. These are some of the great assets of working at PBS where we make sure that every employee receives the attention that they deserve as individuals and working professionals. PBS managers conduct employee reviews twice per year, to ensure that every member of the team has a chance to be heard. During reviews we discuss salary, raises, opportunities for growth and any other relevant matters. We do encourage open communication outside of review periods and it is not irregular for staff to discuss these topics with managers in impromptu meetings or book a conversation directly with HR (hr@pbssystems.com). Salaries do vary throughout the company and depend on the position, industry experience, level of employment and tenure with PBS. I am sorry to hear that you have had an experience contrary to this. I hope you will utilize HR or your own manager to ensure any oversights are dealt with. Thank you again for your review! Kira T - Communications Administrator

  4. "Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Milton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovative, dynamic, fun, advancement, bonus

    Cons

    none none none none none

    PBS Systems2020-01-28

    PBS Systems Response

    January 30, 2020Communications Administrator

    Thank you for leaving us with five-star review! I am very glad that you have mentioned “innovative” and “advancement”, as these are some of the most valuable assets at PBS and help to define who we are. If you have any concerns or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager or contact HR: hr@pbssystems.com. Kira T - Communications Administrator

  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Over the last year, I’ve read many reviews posted here and would like to add my comments. I think that the people posting negative reviews do not have a lot of experience working for growing companies. The majority of the negative comments/complaints here are found at any corporate office. I have been fortunate to work for PBS for many years, in several positions, over my 10+ years with them. I am proud to work for a company who continues to grow every year. Yes, there have been challenges with the rapid growth, but the challenges I’ve seen are comparable to other companies I’ve worked for. The grass is not greener with another company, and actually, in my opinion, in many cases, upper management has been ahead of the game when making changes. PBS continues to hire experts in their fields so that the culture continues to successfully grow with the advice and guidance from these experts. If you work hard, PBS does recognize and reward you. The comment that only family or friends get promoted or favored is not true. PBS is a family-oriented business. Family started the business and other family members came on board. Over the years, employees have suggested to their family members to apply for positions, because PBS is a great company to work for. That shows that employees believe in PBS and enjoy working here. There is a huge number of people who have worked for PBS for over 10 years. Of course, these employees develop friendships with the owners and executive staff. These family and friends value PBS and believe in its vision, so they will work and go above and beyond to reach goals.

    Cons

    Limited parking some days, due to the company's growth.

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2019-12-20

    PBS Systems Response

    December 23, 2019Communications Administrator

    Thank you for leaving us with a five star review and giving great insight into the company. We really enjoyed reading all the things you had to say about PBS. Yes, PBS has grown over the years and as we continue to expand, we know that keeping up with the growth can be challenging but we are continuously working to improve our processes. With the continuous growth one of the biggest challenges we face is parking. At our current facility, we have purchased extra parking spots within walking distance. However, once the new Calgary HQ is in operation, all the employees will have a guaranteed parking spot within the facility compound. We’re now less than 12 months away from completion. Thank you again for your positive feedback! If you have any questions or concerns please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, of HR. Kira T - Communications Administrator

  6. "Undelivered promises, lies, and vindictive behavior from managers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is really nothing positive that I can say

    Cons

    Management Compensation is inadequate You will be given promises that will be undelivered If you are not family or a favorite, you won't get anywhere with this company Promotions are given to favorites & family Communication between departments is poor Micromanagement Managers will "test" you If you try to stand up for yourself, you will be met with vindictive behavior from management. You are just a number here Per diem for travel is low They will overwork you, burn you out, and expect you to be content Constant gossip going on everyday within the company

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2020-01-10

    PBS Systems Response

    January 14, 2020Marketing Operations Manager

    This review is quite worrying. I feel bad that anyone that works at PBS could ever feel this negative. It seems that you have had some expectations that management has not met. It is not our corporate goal to have managers ‘micro manage’ or ‘test’ employees. We never want an employee to feel just ‘like a number’. If you have experienced ‘vindictive’ behavior, please reach out to hr@pbssystems.com. If you are not comfortable doing this, please seek out a manager, Director, V.P. or any senior member of staff that you may be more comfortable with. PBS cares about its employees, and without staff, the company cannot progress. Unfortunately, as the information in this review is sporadic and does not reference a job role, department or office, it makes it difficult to instigate positive change based on this feedback. We would really like to be able to make this better for you. If there is behavior that is not suited to our company mission, then please help us address it. Seamus G, Marketing Operations Manager

  7. "More than a number to the company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly. There’s a great culture and people genuinely care about each other.

    Cons

    Hard to bond with some remote staff but the company functions help.

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2019-11-25

    PBS Systems Response

    November 26, 2019Communications Administrator

    Thank you for leaving us with a great review. We really appreciate your comments towards the PBS community. I am very glad that you have mentioned ‘great culture’ and ‘care’ as these are some of the greatest assets of PBS. We are always aiming to become better, too. Being a remote worker can be tough, mainly because there are fewer occasions to engage with team members and other staff in person, but we make sure to bring all the PBS staff together for special events so that all the staff have a chance to bond. PBS has certainly grown over the last few years and as we continue to expand, we are sure to experience some challenges and one of them is parking. At our current facility, we have purchased extra parking spots within walking distance. However, once the new Calgary HQ is in operation, all the employees will have a guaranteed parking spot within the facility compound. Thank you again for your positive feedback! If you have any other questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to let us know, talk to your manager, or HR. Kira T - Communications Administrator

  8. "It is what you make it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers are very flexible if you need to adjust working hours. Staff are fun and customers are great.

    Cons

    Hard for remote workers to get ahead.

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2019-10-29

    PBS Systems Response

    October 30, 2019Communications Administrator

    Hello, Thank you for rewarding us with a five-star review! We appreciate your message. PBS has certainly grown over the last few years and as we continue to expand, we are sure to experience some challenges. However, the rapid growth of the company has created many opportunities, especially for our dedicated staff, but further innovation is only possible if our employees are motivated to succeed. That being said, we are always aiming to improve our community and culture in both office and remote settings. Being a remote worker can be tough, mainly because there are fewer occasions to engage with team members and other staff in person. If the remote setting isn’t for you, there are likely other options available. Please reach out to your manager and/or HR to discuss. We want to ensure that we have a place for everyone. If you have any suggestions for improvement or have any other comments to share, please email HR@pbssystems.com. Thank you again for your positive feedback! Kira T - Communications Administrator

  9. "Service support analyst at pbs"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Support Analyst in Milton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a very good company

    Cons

    No downside at pbs every thing is great

    Continue reading
    PBS Systems2019-10-09

    PBS Systems Response

    October 11, 2019Communications Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on Glassdoor. We are glad that you see PBS as a ‘very good company’, and we want to ensure that the company continues to maintain that image within the industry. In the future, if you encounter an event that could reflect as negative or even positive towards the company, please reach out to HR: HR@pbssystems.com. Thank you again for your positive feedback! Kira T - Communication Administrator

  10. "I love working here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PBS Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Great people, The owners are down to earth, Supportive managers and coworkers, great culture, great benefits, great working environment.

    Cons

    Nothing...Everything is great in this company!

    PBS Systems2019-10-05

    PBS Systems Response

    October 7, 2019Marketing Operations Manager

    What a positive review. Thank you for taking the time to post on Glassdoor. We agree with you about the 'great culture'. The company has put a lot of effort into ensuring this is a great place to work that meets the needs of all staff. If anything ever does come up that you might consider a con please always remember we are grateful for the feedback. Seamus Grant-Daly Marketing Operations

Found 75 reviews