Opencare Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Opencare Reviews

Updated Aug 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Opencare CEO Nikolai Bratkovski (no image)
Nikolai Bratkovski
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Challenge yourself to be better, with the support needed to get there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee At Opencare 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great bourgeoning culture. The corporate culture at Opencare is developing and growing day by day. The best part is that you can join the team here and have a noticeable impact on it. Things aren't stale or stuck, and it is a pleasure to see how we are growing and developing our culture. A thoughtful and dedicated team. It is great to be around a group of very thoughtful people. Since joining Opencare, I... have found the team here really thinks things through, and emphasize using data to guide decisions. I get the sense that there isn't much we cannot accomplish. Office perks that make a difference. One of the perks of working here is we have our lunches catered every day. I don't have to think about what to make or bring to eat every day — one less thing to clutter my mind. Plus I find getting to sit with the team over a shared meal is a great way to forge bonds. We are all in this together. Having strong executive leadership dedicated to transparency makes it easy to feel "we are all in this together." Regular town halls where team members can ask any question go a long way to keep things clear and ensure we are all on the same page.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working in a startup isn't for everyone. There is no shortage of problems to solve, and priorities can change very quickly. Opencare, like many businesses in their position, needs to be mindful not to create new problems while solving for others.

    Advice to Management

    You build up your people, keep everyone mission-focused, and aren't afraid of trying new things. Keep up the great job.

    Opencare2019-08-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "World's BEST Culture, Rewarding Work & Supported Personal & Professional Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enablement in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nearly 5 months in and I can truly say with confidence that Opencare is the best place that I have ever worked. - Amazing, collaborative & kind culture with an emphasis on well-being that is actively supported by management. - Transparent leadership, with weekly updates from the founders. - Personal and professional development is valued and supported at all levels. - A truly close team working toward... common goals. - A diverse, safe and inclusive safe for all in which you can bring your whole self to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'll let you know if I find any! (It's a startup, a willingness to hustle is necessary and comfortability in ambiguity and changing requirements is a must)!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Opencare2019-08-23
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing culture and rewarding work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's a huge emphasis on personal development so there are a lot of opportunities for personal and professional growth. The cofounders really encourage and model work life balance and being your optimal healthy self. It's supported by the cultural values as well as all the company perks such as unlimited vacation, free massages, free access to a performance psychologist and flexible work hours. The work... itself is also super rewarding since you're helping real people find a better dentist, and you're helping dental business gain new patients. It's a win-win-win philosophy, that makes you feel good about coming to work everyday. Aside from all the already mentioned perks, there are also daily catered organic lunches which are delicious and such a time saver!

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing really quickly, which comes with its own growing pains. There are still some processes that will need to be made scalable to make sure that we can continue to scale at this pace.

    Advice to Management

    Opencare has an amazing culture and I hope we can continue to keep it this great as we scale!

    Opencare2019-04-08
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Growth Marketer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time

    Pros

    - Well-protected culture even while scaling teams quickly - Leadership understands the value developing sustainable growth through processes & systems over "just hitting targets" - Extremely flexible and generous L&D programs for personal development, not once has someone said no to something I wanted to go for (also, any courses or books you want are funded by OC) - Awesome people! Everyone from sales to... engineering are hired for culture I find more so than a lot of other places I've been to - We have so many opportunities to scale and we're working towards an incredible vision, not just for dentistry but for healthcare as a whole!

    Show More

    Cons

    - We're outgrowing our office space (definitely a positive though!) - It's only been stellar so far!

    Advice to Management

    Keep protecting the culture, grassroots approach, and hiring rockstars for our team!

    Opencare2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work for passionate people who want to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working on the Opencare engineering team for less than a year and I'm happy to say that everything that was sold to me in the interview process is true (and then some). It's an incredibly dedicated team of passionate people who want to do things the right way and are constantly looking to improve. We have a great product that solves an interesting problem the business vision is clearly defined so its... easy to feel proud of and excited about what you're doing. Pros: - really flexible work from home and vacation policy as well as the ability to set your own hours help promote a great work/life balance and allow you to make sure that when you're at work you're performing at your best - the leadership team openly encourages/accepts feedback from employees. what's more is they take our feedback seriously and turn it into action items - the company takes DIBs (diversity, inclusion & belonging) at work seriously!!! we've been doing a lot of work with bright + early and have recently started an internal dibs guild to ensure that we are always improving. the founders and leadership team talk about diversity and their hiring plans very openly as well which is really unique for the toronto tech start up space, i.e this is NOT the typical bro-y startup culture focused on drinking. - we're a small team so there's a huge opportunity to make an impact as well as learn from all sides of the business. as an engineer i get to regularly interact and collaborate with designers, product managers, customer success managers and even sales and marketing to ensure we're delivering the best product. this has lead to a lot of unique learning opportunities for me! - lots of career growth and development opportunities! there isn't a cap on learning, if you want to take a class or purchase a book or whatever it is you do to learn the company will support you. the leadership team is dedicated to your professional development: your manager will have regular check ins with you and help you define in set goals to drive you closer to your overarching career goals. recently we've done some cool initiatives to help people find mentors in the field as well

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a start up so things move fast and you have to juggle multiple priorities. for some this is an exciting challenge and an environment in which they can thrive and for others this can be overwhelming. If you want to work here recognize where you are on that scale but if you're passionate about what you do and are eager to learn and grow then know you'd be joining a team of like minded people who want to support... you and help you reach your goals.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing all the things you're already doing - you've created such a special little pocket in the toronto tech scene! I believe in the future of this company and product and i'm excited to see what else will happen in my time here (which will be long)!

    Opencare2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Talented, thoughtful, and true to their values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team at Opencare are some of the most thoughtful and talented individuals I've ever met! A lot of people speak about "hiring people that are smarter than you" but Opencare is the first place I've really seen this become reality. Everyone is involved in major decision making from day 1, and there is complete transparency about all aspects of the company (including the full financials) to ensure everyone is a... true stakeholder. New hires are quickly entrusted with high-value, high-impact projects with lots of autonomy and support from leaders; a very refreshing change to previous organizations. The values that are articulated on the website are strictly adhered to in hiring so the culture really does match with what the Founders wanted to build. This makes hiring slow but the calibre of individuals that join allows them to integrate and contribute very quickly. The leadership is committed to building a long-term sustainable company and really emphasize the need for the team to take time for rest, recuperation, and a focus on wellness. Overall, I have a tremendous sense of excitement heading to work everyday and look forward to learning and growing with the team around me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hiring does take a long time (due to the focus on hiring people that add to the culture) which means there are some gaps on the team for a while. This can place strain on teams but the managers do try to provide insight and visibility into the work being done to address it. The fast pace of work can lead to rapid changes in direction and de-prioritized work. This is to be expected in a start up but can be... frustrating if you are not used to it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to think and look critically at the business and avoid getting swept up in your own hype. You're building something very special and we're excited to be along for the journey! Continue to share freely and speak openly about decisions and changes, it makes a huge difference to the team.

    Opencare2018-12-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Just when I thought I couldn't possibly love what I do any more than I did before..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is by far the most intelligent, genuine, and passionate group of people I have had the chance to work with. Being at Opencare has been inspiring, and has made me fall in love with what I do more than ever before. Highlights: *incredible personal and professional growth opportunities eg access to a performance psychologist on a regular basis, hard work is rewarded (promotions as early as 6 months... in) *the company is growing rapidly and is very healthy, the runway and potential for for Opencare is amazing (this is going to be something big) *Leadership is outstanding - the founders are very experienced, focussed, 100% transparent about all aspects of the business *Ownership from day one, all the resources you need to help you reach potential you didn't realize you even had *very competitive compensation, equity, great benefits and perks (including in-office massages, daily catered organic lunch, unlimited vacation and PTO) *great work life balance - taking a proactive and holistic approach to your own health and well being is engrained in the culture, and leadership practices what they preach - if you look tired, you will be asked to take time off to rest. *every decision made in this place is data driven, deliberate, and well thought out.

    Show More

    Cons

    *typical startup growing pains - every day presents a new challenge, process is constantly under construction, and you have to be scrappy

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Opencare2018-11-08
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - An extremely efficient team, minimal redundant process - People here are really smart and genuine, very good at what they are doing, love to share, trust each other. They are one of the major reason that I am happy at work every day. - A very diverse team so you can learn a lot of interesting things from them - Founders are open, transparent, honest, leading the team towards a good direction

    Cons

    - Things are less structural, less organized - People are self-starter so if you need a lot of guidance then probably here is not the most suitable place for you - High pressure, fast pace, come on, it's a startup!

    Advice to Management

    - Please continue to keep the transparent, open and honest culture, open to new /different ideas. - We can only perform at our best when we feel the lowest level of threads and be able to speak up. It's important that we can continue to learn from failure, instead of hiding them and only BS about the shiny achievements.

    Opencare2018-07-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Positive & engaging workplace and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - An extremely thoughtful team that is committed and excited about the problems we're trying to solve in healthcare - Culture fit is a top priority. Everyone on the team gets along. Definitely makes coming in to work a lot easier when the people you work with are not only really smart but you genuinely like them as people and want to hang out with them outside of work - Lots of cross-team collaboration -... Supportive leadership team - Clear company goals and alignment - Cosy (open) office space - Healthy snacks

    Show More

    Cons

    Opencare is still a relatively young startup with a younger team. But with that being said, what people lack in experience they make up for in their due diligence with research, talking to others in the industry and data gathering through testing.

    Advice to Management

    - Continue being transparent and honest about the business - Try and maintain the high standards for hiring - Continue building out long term strategy and plan Basically...keep doing what you're doing!

    Opencare2018-02-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opencare full-time

    Pros

    A team of incredibly smart and committed people. It's an amazing place to grow and be a part of something exciting. Team emphasis on data, and adapting business flow based on that data makes it a very stimulating and constantly changing environment to work in. Rigorous hiring process centered around culture means that everyone in the office is really humble, approachable, and open to communication.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Opencare2018-02-24
Found 23 reviews