Opencare Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 of over 35 reviews

4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Opencare Chief Executive Officer Nikolai Bratkovski (no image)
Nikolai Bratkovski
21 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing culture and company

    Feb 10, 2021 - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Amazing culture for growth, everyone here truly cares about each other's personal and professional growth and tries to help you work towards it. - Leadership is very transparent and open to feedback. They care a lot about not only the company vision but the people who work there. - Very enthusiastic and motivated team, makes you excited to come to work every day. - Perks are great as well with free lunches, unlimited PTO, team and company socials, etc. And they mean it when they say unlimited vacation and they make sure everyone takes at least 3 weeks.

    Cons

    No real cons. Sometimes the company has to make tough choices between meeting business goals and meeting technical or user goals but the decision is always very transparent and open to feedback.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Huge opportunity and smart people

    May 5, 2021 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent team of smart, enthusiastic and caring people who really drive to be successful. Each person brings a lot of experience and skills to the team which enables the company to move quickly and punch above their weight.

    Cons

    As with any start-up, there are frequent pivots and anyone considering it should be ready and prepared to learn fast as the business evolves. This is a great opportunity for those looking for broad experience, but could be jarring for anyone looking for 9-5 kind of environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic

    Feb 19, 2021 - Technical Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Working with a lot of smart people - Solving a few interesting problems

    Cons

    - no product market fit - toxic culture that is only focused on profit and not on customers - lack of experienced leadership team - unfair treatment of minority groups (women) - lack of transparency - pivoting 4-5 times a year and blaming it's people - gossip culture on the leadership team - major attrition

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Challenge yourself to be better, with the support needed to get there.

    Aug 27, 2019 - Employee At Opencare 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great bourgeoning culture. The corporate culture at Opencare is developing and growing day by day. The best part is that you can join the team here and have a noticeable impact on it. Things aren't stale or stuck, and it is a pleasure to see how we are growing and developing our culture. A thoughtful and dedicated team. It is great to be around a group of very thoughtful people. Since joining Opencare, I have found the team here really thinks things through, and emphasize using data to guide decisions. I get the sense that there isn't much we cannot accomplish. Office perks that make a difference. One of the perks of working here is we have our lunches catered every day. I don't have to think about what to make or bring to eat every day — one less thing to clutter my mind. Plus I find getting to sit with the team over a shared meal is a great way to forge bonds. We are all in this together. Having strong executive leadership dedicated to transparency makes it easy to feel "we are all in this together." Regular town halls where team members can ask any question go a long way to keep things clear and ensure we are all on the same page.

    Cons

    Working in a startup isn't for everyone. There is no shortage of problems to solve, and priorities can change very quickly. Opencare, like many businesses in their position, needs to be mindful not to create new problems while solving for others.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Opencare Response

    Senior Talent Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and we're also excited to see how the company and culture is evolving. We definitely agree that startup life isn't for everyone, but we try hard to find the right balance that allows everyone to be successful. Mike mike.bettley@opencare.com

  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company but needs better strategy and planning

    Jan 21, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to work with great work culture

    Cons

    Management and strategy not great

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to work if you enjoy a fast-paced, ever changing environment with immediate impact

    Mar 10, 2020 - Data Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible hours with truly unlimited vacation - Emphasis on personal health ahead of work - Abundance of interesting business problems to tackle with a lean team - Transparency on goals / opportunities / challenges from executives to rest of organization - Fast paced environment with regular shifts in focus - Strong focus on building a sustainable business while also growing market share

    Cons

    - Flat organizational structure can make it difficult to coordinate efforts and hold people accountable

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to work

    Mar 11, 2020 - Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing teammates; Fast growing company; Cool and unique problems to solve; Lots of start-up perks; Lots of autonomy;

    Cons

    Company is growing very fast, and there is a constant state of change. Could be stressful at times.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing culture and rewarding work!

    Apr 8, 2019 - Product Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's a huge emphasis on personal development so there are a lot of opportunities for personal and professional growth. The cofounders really encourage and model work life balance and being your optimal healthy self. It's supported by the cultural values as well as all the company perks such as unlimited vacation, free massages, free access to a performance psychologist and flexible work hours. The work itself is also super rewarding since you're helping real people find a better dentist, and you're helping dental business gain new patients. It's a win-win-win philosophy, that makes you feel good about coming to work everyday. Aside from all the already mentioned perks, there are also daily catered organic lunches which are delicious and such a time saver!

    Cons

    The company is growing really quickly, which comes with its own growing pains. There are still some processes that will need to be made scalable to make sure that we can continue to scale at this pace.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Just when I thought I couldn't possibly love what I do any more than I did before...

    Nov 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is by far the most intelligent, genuine, and passionate group of people I have had the chance to work with. Being at Opencare has been inspiring, and has made me fall in love with what I do more than ever before. Highlights: *incredible personal and professional growth opportunities eg access to a performance psychologist on a regular basis, hard work is rewarded (promotions as early as 6 months in) *the company is growing rapidly and is very healthy, the runway and potential for for Opencare is amazing (this is going to be something big) *Leadership is outstanding - the founders are very experienced, focussed, 100% transparent about all aspects of the business *Ownership from day one, all the resources you need to help you reach potential you didn't realize you even had *very competitive compensation, equity, great benefits and perks (including in-office massages, daily catered organic lunch, unlimited vacation and PTO) *great work life balance - taking a proactive and holistic approach to your own health and well being is engrained in the culture, and leadership practices what they preach - if you look tired, you will be asked to take time off to rest. *every decision made in this place is data driven, deliberate, and well thought out.

    Cons

    *typical startup growing pains - every day presents a new challenge, process is constantly under construction, and you have to be scrappy

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work and grow

    Jan 8, 2020 - Head of Finance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Company culture focused on growth and problem solving - Great vision and significant potential to win in industry - Extreme transparency across the org - Incredibly smart team - Significant resources devoted to personal development - Significant career opportunities and options - High degree of flexibility for work arrangements (wfh, etc.)

    Cons

    - Hard to keep up with headcount needs given growth pace - Could use more experience at certain levels

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Opencare Response

    Senior Talent Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and I'm glad you're having a positive experience at Opencare! Our Talent team is working hard to keep adding more folks to the team every week :) Mike mike.bettley@opencare.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 34 Reviews

Popular Careers with Opencare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Opencare? Share Your Experiences

Opencare logo
or