Cover image for Opencare
Logo

Opencare

Engaged Employer

Opencare

Add a Review

Opencare Reviews

Updated Sep. 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 53 of over 56 reviews
3.9
74% Recommend to a Friend

Found 53 of over 56 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
Opencare Co-Founder and CEO Cameron Howieson (no image)
Cameron Howieson
0 Rating

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

85.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Opencare~700045
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Challenging and Rewarding Environment to Work In

    Sep. 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very open to experimentation. Willing to see what sticks and has the data to back it up - Team moves quickly from one area of concern to another, leveraging SMEs and consultants to support implementation - Always a new problem to solve and area of focus - Remote-first work environment, with a focus on getting the job done vs showing up to meetings

    Cons

    - Can sometimes pivot focus to quickly, leaving behind opportunities in markets that are later revisited - Turnover has been very low lately (last 9 months), but had gone through changes before that - Can be a difficult product to sell in certain markets

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work

    Aug. 18, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome, passionate and motivated people. Great perks and benefits Treat employees very well A lot of autonomy and ability to think and try things outside the box Overall really loved the experience here.

    Cons

    The dental industry is a little archaic and dealing with customers in this industry is not always that enjoyable. In general VC funded fashion, it's about growth and not necessarily profitability. Not just an Opencare problem, it's an easy money sloshing around in the system problem and VC's looking for quick returns vs building long term sustainable businesses. This is likely the majority of VC funded startups unfortunately.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Opencare team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Culture is Fantastic

    Apr. 18, 2022 - Finance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work Everyone is friendly and always willing to help Christmas break shutdown Work from Home Full Time Social events (Zoom) every other week on Fridays to play games Everyone committed to the same goal Weekly check-ins with Management which allows them to help with any Blockers, lots of transparency

    Cons

    No RRSP Contributions (typical of a Startup)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Apr. 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opencare is one of the best companies I have worked for with some of the smartest and brightest individuals. Contrary to some reviews, the team is lead by knowledgable, empathic and well rounded leaders/ executives. Some of the perks/ pros of working for Opencare are 100% remote working with a culture that embraces work life balance. Opencare offers unlimited PTO which shows a level of trust among employees and the company to use the time off when you need it to rest and recharge. If that's not enough, the company also shuts down during the Christmas break as a thank you for all the work done during the year. Other perks include - company grant options, health and dental coverage, opportunities for growth and learning, a leadership team that is receptive to feedback and continued recognition from immediate and cross functional teams for job well done

    Cons

    Since Opencare is so receptive to feedback, there aren't any cons as it stands. However, if Opencare could implement an RRSP program for current employees, that would be great

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place for new AE’s

    Apr. 5, 2022 - Sales Account Executive in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -remote work -flexible schedule as long as work gets done -unlimited PTO

    Cons

    -poor benefit package -quota changed regularly

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic

    Apr. 9, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work “Unlimited” vacation days Flexible schedule if you have the right manager

    Cons

    Toxic culture starts from CEO and leadership team. No consistency Not allowed to disagree with CEO Very gossipy Children running a business No room for growth No training but expectation to hit the ground running

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Opencare Response

    Manager, People Operations & Talent

    Hello. We really appreciate you sharing your feedback and outlining your experiences during your time at Opencare. Feedback gives us the opportunity to understand pain points and challenges we may be facing as an organization. We are taking your feedback and addressing all the places we missed as we continue to work hard at ensuring our culture and employee growth is at the forefront of everything that we do. We are sad to hear that we failed with not being able to align your experiences with expectations and would like to learn more from your perspective. If you would like to continue the conversation, feel free to contact us at people@opencare.com

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company to work with !

    Oct. 14, 2021 - Talent Sourcer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diversity & Inclusiveness Transparency ! Kindness and Family camaraderie :) I have learned so much during my more than a year here at Opencare. I was able to transition and wear different hats / roles which has greatly help me improve my skills in Recruitment and Talent Sourcing

    Cons

    start -up and it is not for everyone :) You need to really innovate and step up ! owning the process and continuously improve. If you are not this type then a start-up is not for you :)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fake

    Nov. 10, 2021 - BDR 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart people who all left

    Cons

    Fake reviews, ceo who uses power to mask insecurity, no future prospects for the product. Don’t join.

    7 people found this review helpful

    Opencare Response

    Manager, People Operations & Talent

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all constructive feedback and work hard at incorporating it into our everyday practices. We wholeheartedly agree that our past and current teams are some of the brightest talent on the market. Reviews provided via Glassdoor are reviewed by the internal Glassdoor team to ensure validity of feedback and that they are not fake reviews prior to being made available to readers. We would like the opportunity to get a better understanding behind your headline as well as experiences while working with Opencare. Please reach out to us at people@opencare.com.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company

    Sep. 30, 2021 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture Great team treats you like family

    Cons

    nothing that i could think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay away

    Oct. 22, 2021 - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - People are nice - Flex hours - Unlimited vacation

    Cons

    - No product market fit. Company will probably shut down soon (as it should!) - Inexperienced leadership with no sense of direction, particularly from the CEO - Layoffs every few months which only impact IC’s. I have yet to see a manager or exec get laid off - No diversity - Long hours

    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 53 Reviews
</>Embed

Opencare Reviews FAQs

Opencare has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 56 reviews left anonymously by employees. 74% of employees would recommend working at Opencare to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Opencare employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Opencare. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

74% of Opencare employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Opencare 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Opencare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Opencare? Share Your Experiences

Opencare logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Opencare Photos

+ Add Photo
Opencare photo of: Opencare Toronto HQ
Opencare photo of: Opencare Toronto HQ
Opencare photo of: Opencare Toronto HQ
Opencare photo of: Opencare Toronto HQ
Opencare photo of: Opencare team
Opencare photo of: Opencare office warming
Opencare photo of: Opencare founders
See All Photos

Opencare Job Seekers Also Viewed

UKG Logo
UKG

4.4

4,952 reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 56 Opencare reviews submitted anonymously by Opencare employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Opencare is right for you.