Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Manulife Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
245 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Great Place for Young Actuaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Actuarial Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big organization with a lot of Actuarial roles. Very nice Senior Management in Actuarial teams that can teach you a lot Work is visible and promotions can be quick and is becoming more merit-based. Nnice study days for exams, good work-life balance, and ability to work remotely later. Great place to train and become an experienced actuary.

    Cons

    Recent CEO change has brought a lot of re-organization, so you need to be adaptive. However, the focus of new management is good.

    Advice to Management

    Need to invest more into advertisement and recruitment to attract young actuarial talents.

    Manulife2019-02-24

    Manulife Response

    March 1, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  2. "For Entrepreneurial Spirits only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Montreal, QC

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere Progression is key Patience wins the game Rewarding

    Cons

    Long Hours Lots of rejection Hard to stay motivated

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the work

    Manulife2019-07-17

    Manulife Response

    July 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superb mental health benefit that I’m grateful for. CEO is looking to make the company more techy.

    Cons

    Lots of legacy systems, some employee benefits could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Manulife2019-10-19
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Moving towards new technology. Good place to start learning new tech.

    Cons

    Big financial companies have a lot of red tapes

    Manulife2019-10-15

    Manulife Response

    October 18, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, highly professional environment

    Cons

    Limited career opportunities for employees

    Manulife2019-10-14

    Manulife Response

    October 18, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very Professional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/home balance; Work from home program; good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Many layoffs; company moving operations to Philippines; 4 managers in one year.

    Manulife2019-10-03

    Manulife Response

    October 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  7. "Pleasant Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Disability Case Manager in Kitchener, ON

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Valued employees, work-life balance, peer support.

    Cons

    Peak times with pressure to do overtime, lots of changes in place making structured work style not consistent.

    Manulife2019-10-05

    Manulife Response

    October 18, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  8. "Solid, stable reliable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere, good experience in Enterprise technology, learning opportunities, stocks

    Cons

    Sometimes feel like a number, usual work pitfalls

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees engaged and networking between departments/ towers

    Manulife2019-09-26

    Manulife Response

    October 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

  9. "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources 

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Benefits not good especially for long time employees

    Cons

    Pay is not comparable to other organizations

    Manulife2019-10-10

    Manulife Response

    October 18, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

  10. "Great location and place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Probably best office in downtown Toronto Great people and management good matching and stock options

    Cons

    Not too technology heavy, things move slow and new changes takes time. If you want to work on latest and greatest, look elsewhere

    Manulife2019-09-24

    Manulife Response

    October 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

Found 1274 reviews