Manulife Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
552 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance and good management(in 258 reviews)

  • "Full time work from home opportunities(in 206 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes, can be stressful(in 50 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance but pay could be stronger(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee
      Featured Review

      excellent company to work for...

      Jun 12, 2020 - Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      processes are clear; tech is current and continually improved and tech support is there; leaders in work from home options more than 10 years; great profit sharing, benefits, and more

      Cons

      It is hard work and a lot is expected of the people but I think that is true everywhere.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Manulife review

      Apr 27, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to buy shares

      Cons

      I can't think of anything

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      May 7, 2021 - Full Stack Software Engineer in Kitchener, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Engineering transformation is something incredible that started in 2018. A 4 weeks program hands-on to learn the "new stack" Benefits - health, dental, vision

      Cons

      Compensation increase is pretty standard. I've seen engineers leaving the company to then come back a couple of months later with better compensation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wish the organization cared about employees

      Feb 19, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Kitchener, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good learning opportunity, if you work in manulife call center you can survive any job any were, coworkers support, multitasking jobs. Good benefits, can apply for other jobs internally.

      Cons

      Shift work every week a different shift, no human factor in assigning shifts once I got my lunch break at 10.30 AM and my shift started at only at 8.30 AM in the morning( how can I have my lunch at 10 stating my shift only at 8.30 AM) . I asked them to change and they shifted my lunch to 11 AM for the whole week stating that’s when they can accommodate. They need people on phones at typical lunch times. I cannot take a vacation day off on the day we want to , have to book for your vacation even before 6 months. If you ask permission for a medical appointment they will ask you to swap shifts with my team mates since they does not want people on phones no matter . If you take more breaks you will be dinged. Example: if you take bath room break more than twice in two hours. You Will be a top performer achieving all the status and going beyond service level expectations and however you get a bad rating stating you are new to the role (1.5 years) so we can give you only developing rating. Too much stress for little money. It’s not worth it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our goal is to consistently provide a positive employee experience for all and it is disappointing to hear that was not the case. We are sharing this feedback with the team involved.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall, great place to work in

      May 9, 2021 - Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work / life balance

      Cons

      Hard to get promoted without knowing the business, open to do work not related to your area of expertise, and spend all day in meetings ...

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent place to work at

      May 11, 2021 - Senior Administrative Assistant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, good location, big company can move around

      Cons

      Not very sympathetic to women and kids

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nice place to work

      May 10, 2021 - Compensation Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment and friendly co-worker

      Cons

      IT should be better, internal website should contain more org information

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      May 9, 2021 - Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I would say Good culture in place

      Cons

      Limited room for career advancement in certain groups

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      May 6, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, company engagement, stocks, events

      Cons

      Depends on Manager for success

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Case Manager

      Apr 29, 2021 - Short Term Disability Case Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, not often asked to work overtime, reasonable pay for job

      Cons

      Difficult to progress, especially to move to other areas of the business

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Manulife Response

      Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,918 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Manulife Job Seekers

    Disability Case Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Manulife? Share Your Experiences

    Manulife logo
    or