Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Manulife Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1175 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
198 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Every new Senior Management changes the direction and strategy of the company(in 33 reviews)

  • "As any big company, there are certain pockets of the company that aren't for everyone in terms of work/life balance(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place for Young Actuaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Actuarial Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big organization with a lot of Actuarial roles. Very nice Senior Management in Actuarial teams that can teach you a lot Work is visible and promotions can be quick and is becoming more merit-based. Nnice study days for exams, good work-life balance, and ability to work remotely later. Great place to train and become an experienced actuary.

    Cons

    Recent CEO change has brought a lot of re-organization, so you need to be adaptive. However, the focus of new management is good.

    Advice to Management

    Need to invest more into advertisement and recruitment to attract young actuarial talents.

    Manulife2019-02-24

    Manulife Response

    March 1, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Manulife

      Pros

      Friendly working atmosphere and rewarding experience.

      Cons

      Can’t think of any negatives in Manulufe

      Manulife2019-05-19

      Manulife Response

      May 27, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know you are having a positive experience.

    • "Good."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Compliance in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      No issues. Not a competitive salary.

      Cons

      Not competitive salary. Senior management come off as very fabricated people.

      Manulife2019-06-12
    • "Awesome company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Tools to succeed always given

      Cons

      None whatsoever that I can think of

      Manulife2019-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Good pay for Toronto area

        Cons

        High turnover in some departments

        Manulife2019-05-31

        Manulife Response

        June 7, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

        Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know you're having a positive experience.

      • "Derivatives Valuation"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Manulife full-time

        Pros

        nice product and full line of derivatives trading

        Cons

        many layers in structure in the firm

        Manulife2019-05-29

        Manulife Response

        May 31, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

        We are happy to know you're having a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

      • "Licensed Insurance Advisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - License Insurance Advisor in Toronto, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Great camaraderie in our Sales Team.

        Cons

        Middle / Upper management do not listed to the front liners.

        Manulife2019-05-22

        Manulife Response

        May 27, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

        Thank you for sharing your review. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

      • "Good Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Case Manager in Toronto, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - positive team environment - work from home capabilities - great managers

        Cons

        - non competitive salary with other insurance companies - high turnover - high work volumes (managing 60+ claims at a time)

        Manulife2019-06-04

        Manulife Response

        June 7, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

        Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to know you are having a positive experience.

      • "Great place, great people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Manulife full-time

          Pros

          - beautiful office - amazing people to work with - free coffee/drinks on each floor - can take pretty much as many breaks as you want

          Cons

          - boring repetitive work - lots of changes in the company

          Manulife2019-05-20

          Manulife Response

          May 27, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

          We are happy to know you had a positive experience. Thank you for sharing your review.

        • Helpful (1)

          "review"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Kitchener, ON
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 8 years

          Pros

          great people to work with

          Cons

          nothing that I care to share

          Advice to Management

          use people in the role they are paid for

          Manulife2019-05-27

          Manulife Response

          May 31, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

          Thank you for sharing your review. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.

        Found 1175 reviews