Manulife Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Manulife Reviews

Updated 12 December, 2017
824 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy Gori
Roy Gori
21 Ratings

824 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance isn't the best (in 22 reviews)

  • senior management not very transparent, never really get the full message (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Consumer Markets is a growing department..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kitchener, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kitchener, ON
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Strong leadership from the top down and employee engagement has grown over the past few years. As well, there is great upside with career development. There are plenty of job opportunities within the department and individuals are rewarded for going above and beyond. The focus is customer obsessed and this attitude resonates with all team members. With the removal of negative personalities who lack integrity the current workforce is performing at a high level. When you have personnel, who are professional and passionate about the business it only adds to the positive culture already established in Consumer Markets. The vision is clear and promising.

    Cons

    Technology and software issues are a constant battle. Recently, huge strides have been made on this topic.

    Manulife Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to hear about your positive experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.


  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits. Staff is long tenured and care about the job that they do. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Salary raises are low when moving internally. External appointments receive better starting salaries for identical work.

    Advice to Management

    Look into making promotions more in line with starting salaries of external candidates. Focus on rewarding performers.

    Manulife Response

    6 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to hear about your positive experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.


  3. "Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    excellent benefits, can work from home

    Cons

    have no cons to share

    Manulife Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We are happy to know you are enjoying your experience with us. Thank you for your review!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Exceptional Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales
    Current Employee - Inside Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Outstanding company culture
    Great flexibility on and off the job
    Strong, capable leadership
    Transparent decision making, even at high levels
    Executives and high-level employees present in the day to day
    Autonomy and independence in daily tasks
    Powerful career development

    Cons

    Recent organizational changes have impacted morale
    Key decisions are sometimes communicated abruptly
    Technology has begun to trail behind competitors

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be transparent and provide flexibility to staff

    Manulife Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback . We are happy to know that you are enjoying your experience with us!


  6. "Would not recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits
    Work from home options

    Cons

    Poor business decisions leave employees vulnerable to job slashing

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to employees

    Manulife Response

    13 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  7. "Long hours non-stop on-call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flex hours, working from home, good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours non-stop on-call, no recognition at all

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees, reward them, no recognition given whatsoever

    Manulife Response

    13 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and for writing a review. We would love to learn more about your experience. Should you wish to follow up with us, please email us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


  8. "Great company going through a lot of change!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - work from home policy
    - flexible work environment...jeans everyday
    - encourage debate over ideas
    - fair to employees...bad leaders do not last
    - new CEO with a fresh vision

    Cons

    - going through a lot of change, so things are a bit unpredictable...can be good or bad
    - technology development is really slow...this is getting better

    Advice to Management

    Over communicate...it does not feel like this to employees. Keep sharing your vision with us!

    Manulife Response

    28 Nov, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know you are enjoying your experience with us. Thank you for your review!


  9. "Good company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern
    Former Employee - Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great company culture, supportive environment, good salary

    Cons

    Constant restructuring, poor management, not enough strong leaders and communication

    Manulife Response

    28 Nov, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review on your internship with us. We appreciate your feedback which will help us provide a great experience for future students.


  10. "Business Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work culture and satisfactory work hours

    Cons

    Too old technologies. But at the same time this creates an opportunity to do even more

    Manulife Response

    28 Nov, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    We're happy to hear that you are having a good experience with us and enjoy our culture!


  11. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Don't have anything positive to say

    Cons

    Terrible culture, no growth opportunities

    Manulife Response

    1 Dec, 2017 – Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at TalentAcquisition@manulife.com.


Showing 824 of 959 reviews
Reset Filters