Manulife Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
406 Ratings
Pros
  • "Manulife is great organization to work for with perfect work life balance(in 220 reviews)

  • "Good work environment, able to work from home, good pay(in 185 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes and transactions must be completed within the day(in 44 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance bad in certain departments (e(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Wonderful work culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife

    Pros

    - work from home opportunities - many employee development opportunities - great internal network - supportive work culture and great mentorship

    Cons

    nothing out of the ordinary for a large corporation

    Manulife2020-02-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good money, bad work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Money, flexibility, work from home,

    Cons

    Moves business ro cheaper locations, not a great Canadian company

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-05-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ok place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to a variety of work, work from home and flexibility, amazing team.

    Cons

    Just another number (big company), long hours at times and stressful, lots of finger pointing and blaming.

    Manulife2020-04-21
  4. "A good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home Flexible working hours Encourage initiatives and creativities

    Cons

    Relatively slow advancement in employee career

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-03-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "I learned through trial by fire"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is alright, and there is a good sense of camaraderie. If I want to work from home (assuming I have no in-person meetings) then I'm able to.

    Cons

    The tech people don't have a budget, so we're at the mercy of the business people and management. In the eyes of management I'm a number, not a person, and I struggle to understand the impact my work has on the company.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-03-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits, a lot of politics"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and work from home options

    Cons

    Politics and poor communication from senior management

    Manulife2020-03-06
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to get experience - bad place to grow"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manulife attracts wonderful and kind people On-site cafeteria Good benefits

    Cons

    -cannot work from home as you please (false advertising... only some teams with good managers allow that) - absolutely no growth opportunities unless you suck up and act a certain way -no development - some people get to go to conferences while others are told to only sign up for “free courses” -internal politics -zero tolerance for sexual harassment

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-02-29
  8. "not bad, however..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Services Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work from home, flex hours, benefit package

    Cons

    case load: too much of folks in some areas where is no work, and not enough of people in some teams where is too much of work.

    Continue reading
    Manulife2020-02-29
  9. "Manulife"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Disability Case Manager in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good benefits and pension plan matching program -flexible working hours and ability to work from home

    Cons

    -lack of transparency from leadership -quality of leaders vary immensely -work environment doesn't match up with culture and values

    Manulife2020-02-13
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time work from home opportunities Great benefits and salary Lots of manager support

    Cons

    No real cons. Big organizations are obviously harder to move through

    Manulife2020-01-24
Found 199 reviews