Manulife Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Manulife CEO Roy  Gori
Roy Gori
563 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, emphasis on self care

    Cons

    Some heavy caseloads, depending on your team

    Manulife Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you for sharing a review. We certainly take pride in what we do and are happy to hear that you are having a great experience with us!

  2. "Good Work Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Adapting to newer technologies at a fast pace. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Less salary than respective companies around.

    Manulife Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "IT leadership churn = anxiety"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation, company culture and work life balance.

    Cons

    A huge amount of senior management turnover in technology. Lack of internal promotion and recognition. Organizational structure creates siloed thinking and perspective, especially within tech.

    Manulife Response

    January 4, 2021

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our goal is to consistently provide a positive employee experience for all and it is disappointing to hear that was not the case. We are sharing this feedback with the team involved.

  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    Not any, very good company

  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Operations in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    Great salary and work life balance

    Cons

    Limited career progression options. Lots of red tape.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work for work-life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Scientist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - work from home - work life balance - relaxed pacd

    Cons

    - old tech - sometimes dealing with unmotivated coworkers

    Continue reading

    Manulife Response

    November 2, 2020

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We recognize that our organization is comprised of talented individuals and are happy to hear that you value your experience with us.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Values but dont live up to them"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Manulife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity for global experience.

    Cons

    Lack of work life balance.

    Manulife Response

    November 2, 2020

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our goal is to consistently provide a positive employee experience for all and it is disappointing to hear that was not the case. We are sharing this feedback with the team involved.

  8. "Good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Reporting Co-op in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Manulife

    Pros

    -Meaningful work -Invested in you -Resources -Great teams -Work life balance

    Cons

    -None, it was a pleasant experience

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Backend Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -work life balance - benefits

    Cons

    - pay is not comparable if you joined on or before 2019

    Manulife Response

    November 2, 2020

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "nice"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Manulife full-time

    Pros

    good place to work. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Too much restructuring. Lay off a lot

    Manulife Response

    September 10, 2020

    Thank you for your positive feedback and for offering suggestions for areas of improvement. We value the opinion of our employees and this information will help us deliver on our goals.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 292 English Reviews