LifeWorks Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
LifeWorks President and CEO Stephen Liptrap
Stephen Liptrap
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "Especially grateful that we have technology in place to allow us to seamlessly continue our work from home(in 65 reviews)

  • "Healthy work life balance, company practices what they preach(in 55 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work/life balance, expectation is you work 24x7(in 30 reviews)

  • "None for now except for a bit of the low pay(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Huge Global Organization associated with big names as their clients ! Excellent work quality!

      Jun 11, 2021 - Software QA Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      LifeWorks provides 24,000 clients in more than 160 countries with wellbeing solutions. So there are alot of projects ongoing and huge scope to learn new things and work. Security of job although the pandemic situations. Work culture is very amazing. It is the largest developer of employee assistance, absence management and pension and benefits software in Canada. Alot of departments which simultaneously collaborate and make the projects successful. Adapt new technologies and tools like Azure DevOps and other testing tools. Trainings and knowledge sharing happens time to time for the employees. Good progressive organization to work into.

      Cons

      Work pressure is too much at a times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid this company at all cost

      May 16, 2021 - Senior Pension Analyst in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Job security during the pandemic 2. If you are taking any actuarial exams, the company would pay for it (if you pass)

      Cons

      1. No one cares about your mental health. management would assign unlimited work to you. It is impossible to meet the deadlines unless you work overtime. Note that you don't get paid for it 2. Outdated in-house system and the speed is equivalent to Windows 98 (actually using Windows 98 on one of the remote servers). Management would balme the employees for 'being slow' instead of fixing the real issues 3. In-house system is operated by the worst developers in the world. People who watched an intro to JavaScript video on Youtube would have better understanding than them. 4. Salary increment is a joke. The rate would be far less than inflation rate and their explanation is " our competitors are doing similar and you should be happy that you still have a raise this year". We are looking at 0.4% which is insulting. 5. Bonus is also a joke. Less than 1% and yet the company makes hundreds of millions every year. My cousin who works part time at retail banking (RBC) gets more bonus in a quarter than what I get for the full year. 6. No potential growth: Even if you get promoted your salary would be crazily low. 7. Trapped in this field/company: Even with all the cons that I mentioned above, the consultants / directors are still staying because of one reason, they don't have the skillsets to earn more in other companies.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for your candid feedback. My name is Stephen Muscat, and I’m the Senior Director of Global Talent Acquisition and Human Resources at LifeWorks. I appreciate you sharing these issues with us, especially as we continue our work streamlining our processes across teams. This begins with the way our managers uphold LifeWorks’ commitment to giving employees ownership over their work. As we work to improve, it would be very helpful to hear more details about your experience so that we can resolve this issue and learn where we can go from here. If you have the time, please connect with our Manager of Employee Relations, Renee Rotman, at renee.rotman@lifeworks.com with any further input you can provide. Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources LifeWorks

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent working culture and learning experience

      Jun 5, 2021 - Quality Assurance Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - publicly traded big company in TSX- LWRK - Smooth on-boarding and new hire gets enough time to adjust and do not get overloaded with work - life works clients are big names in the industry - valuable experience and value addition - suitable work place to stick here - growth is good along with good money and quality work -amazing HR policies - perfect work life balance

      Cons

      If you are not workaholic then you may feel overwhelmed with work at a times.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great growth opportunities

      May 27, 2021 - Tech Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Company is undergoing a lot of changes, leaving the room for a lot of growth and opportunities. - Highly skilled and motivated colleagues. - Good benefits package. - Human sized structure, where management is available for their employees

      Cons

      - Company can be somewhat chaotic at times: rocky onboarding, no clear development path to follow, etc. However if show motivation and come up with your own plan, people will usually be open and very supportive. - Not the most up to date systems used - Not the most up to date ways of approaching work/life (eg - number of days off quite low, working from abroad = heavy procedure to follow)

      3 people found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I’m very sorry to learn that your job development path was unsatisfactory. We strive to give every employee the tools and information that he or she needs to do their job, and if we fell short, we’d like to hear where. As we grow, we are simultaneously working to make expectations and responsibilities clearer for each role on the team, and we are collecting feedback along the way to help us improve. If you would be open to sharing more details about your experience, we would like to review them to inform our efforts. Please contact us at any time at stephen.muscat@LifeWorks.com. Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources LifeWorks

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fine

      Jun 10, 2021 - Instructional Designer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Work From Home and flexible arrangements

      Cons

      There is alot of high pressure deadlines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      May 27, 2021 - Consultant in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, flexibility, communication, and benefits

      Cons

      Sometimes a bit of overlap in internal information being shared in various meetings (ex. one meeting to present performance results for your business line and another for your region).

      2 people found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for sharing — we’re always glad to hear that the team has had a positive experience working with us! To a manager, there’s no greater compliment, and I encourage you to let yours know personally about your experience. Strong communication across teams is one of our core values at LifeWorks — and that includes letting us know what’s working and where we can improve. As we streamline our processes across teams, please know that you can reach out at any time to myself or your direct supervisor regarding any concerns going forward. We collect feedback for a reason, and sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share this information in detail. Please feel free to message me directly at stephen.muscat@LifeWorks.com if you’d like to provide any additional feedback. I thank you for working here and sharing your experience with us! Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources LifeWorks

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not sure I will be staying here for long

      May 9, 2021 - Disability Case Manager II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -pay, but make sure you negotiate at hiring since they will lowball you a lot -system is great -Full time work from home -supportive manager

      Cons

      -unrealistic workload -prone to burning out -expect to work long hours -No work life balance -high turnover rate therefore always understaffed -coming back from vacation is a nightmare in terms of work that needs to be caught up on -when working too fast, you will be given even more work so it is a double edged sword -training when hired is too brief and rushed -Insurance and pension is on the lower end compared to competitors

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We pride ourselves on our employees’ accomplishments at the company and in their future endeavors. At the same time, we also strive to make each role on our team an engaging and rewarding one—and help each employee understand the value of their contribution to the company. If you would be willing to share more details about your experience, we’d like to personally speak with you to make things right, and learn how we can improve our policies in the future. If you have the time, please feel free to reach out to our Manager of Employee Relations, Renee Rotman at renee.rotman@LifeWorks.com. Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources LifeWorks

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place to work at!

      Jun 1, 2021 - Responsible Gambling Advisor in Moncton, NB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starting wages, flexible hours, wonderful environment

      Cons

      I can’t think of any!

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work

      May 27, 2021 - UI Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and Management. Flexible. Good work life balance. Opportunity to learn new things and grow.

      Cons

      Pay is less when compared to market value.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We take pride in our employees’ contributions to the company, and strive to offer competitive compensation for their time. Roles are always changing, and I encourage you to visit LifeWorks’ Careers Page to see if there are any open positions which may also be a good fit for your experience. Thank you again for your hard work; you can always reach us at stephen.muscat@LifeWorks.com. Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources LifeWorks

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      May 28, 2021 - Counselor in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offers opportunities to move within the company.

      Cons

      It is a business and making money is the priority.

      1 person found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We're happy to hear when the team is happy and look to identify areas where we can improve. We also strive to make each role on our team an engaging and rewarding one—and help each employee understand the value of their contribution to the company. If you would like to provide more information so we may learn how we can improve our policies in the future. Please contact me if you have the time at stephen.muscat@LifeWorks.com. Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources LifeWorks

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,004 Reviews

    Popular Careers with LifeWorks Job Seekers

    Client Care Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at LifeWorks? Share Your Experiences

    LifeWorks logo
    or