LifeWorks Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
LifeWorks President and CEO Stephen Liptrap
Stephen Liptrap
342 Ratings
Pros
  • "Especially grateful that we have technology in place to allow us to seamlessly continue our work from home(in 65 reviews)

  • "Healthy work life balance, company practices what they preach(in 55 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work/life balance, expectation is you work 24x7(in 30 reviews)

  • "None for now except for a bit of the low pay(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent company culture

      May 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive team environment, challenging work, set up to work from home

      Cons

      Workload is quite heavy at times which can be stressful

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid this company at all cost

      May 16, 2021 - Senior Pension Analyst in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Job security during the pandemic 2. If you are taking any actuarial exams, the company would pay for it (if you pass)

      Cons

      1. No one cares about your mental health. management would assign unlimited work to you. It is impossible to meet the deadlines unless you work overtime. Note that you don't get paid for it 2. Outdated in-house system and the speed is equivalent to Windows 98 (actually using Windows 98 on one of the remote servers). Management would balme the employees for 'being slow' instead of fixing the real issues 3. In-house system is operated by the worst developers in the world. People who watched an intro to JavaScript video on Youtube would have better understanding than them. 4. Salary increment is a joke. The rate would be far less than inflation rate and their explanation is " our competitors are doing similar and you should be happy that you still have a raise this year". We are looking at 0.4% which is insulting. 5. Bonus is also a joke. Less than 1% and yet the company makes hundreds of millions every year. My cousin who works part time at retail banking (RBC) gets more bonus in a quarter than what I get for the full year. 6. No potential growth: Even if you get promoted your salary would be crazily low. 7. Trapped in this field/company: Even with all the cons that I mentioned above, the consultants / directors are still staying because of one reason, they don't have the skillsets to earn more in other companies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not sure I will be staying here for long

      May 9, 2021 - Disability Case Manager II 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -pay, but make sure you negotiate at hiring since they will lowball you a lot -system is great -Full time work from home -supportive manager

      Cons

      -unrealistic workload -prone to burning out -expect to work long hours -No work life balance -high turnover rate therefore always understaffed -coming back from vacation is a nightmare in terms of work that needs to be caught up on -when working too fast, you will be given even more work so it is a double edged sword -training when hired is too brief and rushed -Insurance and pension is on the lower end compared to competitors

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 16, 2021 - CCR I 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly co workers and clients

      Cons

      can be hard to move up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      No room for growth. Terrible compensation. Dated technologies.

      May 5, 2021 - Human Resources in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good introduction to the corporate world.

      Cons

      Zero room for growth. Only "favourites" will be promoted. Technologies are extremely dated. Compensation is no where near market. Absolutely no work life balance, not even work life harmony. Managers love to gossip and are extremely unprofessional, sharing confidential information with their "friends" in the business and are not reprimanded for their inappropriate behaviour. Managers love to micromanage. Extremely inefficient processes, lots of red tape, ridiculous amounts of approval. No support for professional development. Work functions are siloed. IE&D initiatives are reactive, not proactive and feel performative.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Needs Improvement

      May 4, 2021 - Human Resources in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Frequent Employee Communication from Executives

      Cons

      - Compensation and bonuses are below market - Outdated systems and technology - Manual processes, limited automation - Excessive red tape; approvals upon approvals - Lack of action from survey results and feedback - Limited growth opportunities - Micro managers; do not allow for any flexibility resulting in no work life balance

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for your candid feedback. My name is Stephen Muscat, and I’m the Senior Director of Global Talent Acquisition and Human Resources at Morneau Shepell. We are incredibly invested in our diversity and inclusion training and I would love to hear more from you around how you feel we fell short. We also strive to give every employee the tools that he or she needs to do their job and to this end, we are proud of our decision to implement Workday, a best in class technology. As we work to improve, it would be very helpful to hear more details about your experience so that we can resolve these issues and learn where we can go from here. If you have the time, please send me a personal message at smuscat@morneaushepell.com with any further input you can provide. Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources Morneau Shepell

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Morneau Shepell

      May 7, 2021 - Administration 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of opportunity to grow new skills and knowledge. Perfect work life balance and a culture that promotes well being

      Cons

      The work could be stressful at times as it is fast paced and high demand

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 12, 2021 - technicienne administrative in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The well-being of its employees

      Cons

      The salary, the company is not competitive

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 23, 2021 - Manager, Service Delivery in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the culture and the people I work with day in and day out. We work hard but take time out to connect, laugh and really to get to know one another. I'm thrilled to be part of such a dynamic, innovative and forward thinking company.

      Cons

      Workloads ebb and flow which can be unpredictable at times.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      LifeWorks Response

      Hello, Thank you for sharing — we’re always glad to hear that the team has had a positive experience working with us! To a manager, there’s no greater compliment, and I encourage you to let yours know personally about your experience. Strong communication across teams is one of our core values at Morneau Shepell — and that includes letting us know what’s working and where we can improve. As we streamline our processes across teams, please know that you can reach out at any time to myself or your direct supervisor regarding any concerns going forward. We collect feedback for a reason, and sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share this information in detail. Please feel free to message me directly at smuscat@morneaushepell.com if you’d like to provide any additional feedback. I thank you for working here and sharing your experience with us! Sincerely, Stephen Muscat Senior Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Human Resources Morneau Shepell

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Big company with many departments

      May 3, 2021 - IT Analyst in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team spirit, best way to learn, busy environment, salary scales applied

      Cons

      No specific cons other than usual cons found in every big company and busy environment

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 978 Reviews

    Popular Careers with LifeWorks Job Seekers

    Client Care Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at LifeWorks? Share Your Experiences

    LifeWorks logo
    or