Hydro One Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hydro One Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Hydro One CEO Carmine Marcello
Carmine Marcello
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company with good pay (like so high(in 34 reviews)

  • "Amazing work life balance, I did a 16 month co-op(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard to get back into full time, can be a little slow for co-ops at certain times(in 17 reviews)

  • "There are no cons in my experience(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working for the utilities company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician 

    I worked at Hydro One full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits can learn a lot

    Cons

    Sometimes slow, hard to actually do new things once set in one position

    Hydro One2019-05-02
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Lots of interesting work around. Big company

    Cons

    Politics on steroids. So keep that in mind

    Hydro One2019-05-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    ""The failure of a team has been and will always be the fault of leadership""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Security Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just to name something in this section; salary.

    Cons

    Mid-level management is inexperienced and incompetent. If you get stuck reporting into someone of that nature, they can make or break your life. - If you are an entry level/junior employee, do not go in expecting any coaching or mentoring. There is no development plan to give employees to give any kind of career projection or guidance. There are tools in place, but not being utilized or enforced. - I had all the faith...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The resources you hire are incredibly talented and valuable start being more mature and stop backstabbing your new hire in front of other teams to show off your knowledge.

    Hydro One2019-05-14
  4. "coop engg asisstant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It was great! I recommend it

    Cons

    Not a bad place to work

    Hydro One2019-03-27
  5. Helpful (3)

    "coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good benefits, I have a good direct manager

    Cons

    salary progression and career progression are hard. neptism is obvious -i.e. external postings going to wives/husbands/nieces etc. OFFICE POLITICS non-flexible work office. I regularly get asked where I was when gone from my assigned seat for more then 40minutes.

    Advice to Management

    people in positions of authority are not above entry level employees. There is an attitude of say, not helping or checking in at events/meetings and whoever the lowest on the ladder is just gets stuck doing everything with little communication.

    Hydro One2019-04-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "LCSC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LCSC in Greater Sudbury, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and pension packages. Vacation started at two weeks and increased fairly quickly. Great group of coworkers in multiple departments.

    Cons

    A lot of change in management. Took a long time to backfill positions, which made it pretty stressful working understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Conduct reviews of staff performance more often. Also, ensure that all staff members have balanced work loads.

    Hydro One2019-03-18
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and good benefits

    Cons

    There are no cons to say

    Hydro One2019-03-15
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment which nurtures individual growth.

    Cons

    Very large company, slowly paced.

    Hydro One2019-03-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Bullied and Harassed Everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee in Orangeville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You get paid a lot. Feel bad for the rate payers though the entire time. That's about it for pros. I'm trying to fill the pros space with text. Kind of sad.

    Cons

    - Everyday I was harassed and bullied by management. It was an extremely disrespectful and terrible work experience. - The HR department and Union reps did absolutely nothing for me when I asked for help. They swept everything under the rug. They will always side with senior managers. Really goes to show that this company doesn't care about employees or customers at all. Very fake and sneaky. - Managers use isolation...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Act like professionals not school girls. Fire management. Stop wasting rate payers money. Let me audit the place and dish out well deserved layoffs to these managers and I'll save millions of ratepayers dollars.

    Hydro One2019-04-11
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    great place to work. Good environment

    Cons

    Need more training, more time off

    Hydro One2019-02-06
Found 161 reviews