Hydro One "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Hydro One Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hydro One President & CEO Carmine Marcello
Carmine Marcello
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Hard to get back into full time, can be a little slow for co-ops at certain times(in 22 reviews)

  • "There are no cons in my experience(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Employer For a Stable Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and work culture

    Cons

    Mundane tasks, can get boring at times

    Hydro One2020-02-08
  2. "Was offered, did not accept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst 

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, pension, share matching and work life balance

    Cons

    Salary was 60k offered base. Unwilling to budge that much

    Hydro One2019-10-03
  3. "Great place to work and grow in your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and good-work life balance

    Cons

    Suit-and-tie corporate culture, very large and spread out staff.

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2019-07-29
  4. "Project Accounting Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance, I did a 16 month co-op. Loved my team, overall great time. They gave me lots of autonomy, and treated me like a full time employee, not just a co-op. They also had a great co-op social program.

    Cons

    Hard to get back into full time, can be a little slow for co-ops at certain times

    Hydro One2019-01-22
  5. "Corporate Tax Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hydro One

    Pros

    - Amazing team to work with. They work together towards team and self growth - Bosses and Super Bosses are no less than mentors - Perfect work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing that I know of

    Hydro One2019-01-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "decent place to work for-lots of politics and corporate hogwash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time

    Pros

    decent workplace and work life balance. not that stressful. can take vacation almost any time.

    Cons

    after a while you get stuck in the corporate ladder depending what racial background or what entourage you belong. no training whatsoever. stagnating. don't feel valued at all.

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2018-10-11
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - University Co-op in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, work life balance, friendly team members, convenient location close to the Eaton Centre

    Cons

    Not everyone but the overall corporate culture is quite slow

    Hydro One2018-03-18
  8. "A great place to work if you are not too ambitious."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Management Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great benefits, pension and health plan.

    Cons

    No promotion in place. The salary is a bit low compared to other companies.

    Hydro One2018-02-25
  9. "it's a stable job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hydro One full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work life balance, good compensation, stable

    Cons

    Slow-paced, does not encourage growth and development

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2018-02-13
  10. "Very good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hydro One

    Pros

    good location (HO) and pay. coworkers were very supportive to developping interns, especially at the start of the internship. was able to maintain a good work-life balance. work was meaningful.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Hydro One2017-08-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 31 reviews