AppNeta Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AppNeta Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
AppNeta CEO Matt Stevens
Matt Stevens
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are monthly volunteer events, regular lunches, and incredible benefits including paid family and medical leave which is unheard of at startups(in 7 reviews)

  • "AppNeta is quickly becoming a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "I'm guessing this is common in start ups but there is a high turnover rate(in 6 reviews)

  • "lack of transparency and honesty from upper management(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place, Amazing culture, Very interesting product work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The entire management team here just gets it. The culture is like a startup and supportive like a family.

    Cons

    Lots of legacy code to deal with; Eventually everything is legacy code though ,so it's best to embrace it and continue to work on making things better where we can get the most value - and we are constantly improving that space.

    Advice to Management

    More focus on exercising Agile practice all the way up the chain (ie. Product, not just in Engineering). Clearer roadmap to help planning (less reactive to niche customers, more big picture features)

    AppNeta2019-07-16
  2. "Takes great care of their people, relaxed but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Full Stack Developer in Vancouver, BC

    I worked at AppNeta for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to be influential

    Cons

    Pay (as an intern at least) wasn't great

    AppNeta2018-08-08
  3. "Interesting technology, big name customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, smart people and a lot of growth potential for the company. Interesting technology and challenging problems, with quite a few customers from the Fortune 100.

    Cons

    There is still room for improvement

    AppNeta2018-06-22
  4. "Great Vancouver Start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppNeta

    Pros

    Was a great environment to work in, small but strong teams working hard towards company goals

    Cons

    Typical start-up stuff - growing pains, etc.

    AppNeta2017-09-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppNeta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and management goes to great lengths to accommodate and support its staff. The company didn't achieve all that it aspired to but it certainly tried hard and kept the motivation high without pushing engineering staff beyond what they could sustain.

    Cons

    The company faces the usual challenges of a small and fast-growing technology company. In hindsight perhaps it should have better predicted the future of its market but that's is easier said than done.

    AppNeta2017-01-04
  6. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at AppNeta

    Pros

    Nice, relaxed work atmosphere with a lot of social activities and perks.

    Cons

    Didn't have any issues working here

    AppNeta2016-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Exciting Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time

    Pros

    AppNeta is a fantastic company to work for. The future for the company looks pretty bright too. Lots of exciting sales to very common names. The people I work with are above all the best part about AppNeta. Smart developers solving tough problems. So many people are truly interested in doing things well. Building software the right way using the latest technologies and processes - definitely keeping things modern.... AppNeta values its employees and this is shown in many ways. A few include fun swag, frequent lunches & beer, and a progressive benefits package. It goes deeper than that to the individual. Star rating aside, I think the low employee churn speaks the truth about the rating and employee happiness at AppNeta. With the hiring that we are doing right now and the diverse opportunities opening up its a pretty good place to develop your career.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are a lot of irons in the fire which makes priority management challenging. There is so much that we want and need to do. That said, all of these irons are in progressing a few key products. We are still adapting and learning with our development processes but they are pretty good and getting better.

    AppNeta2015-11-27
  8. "Awesome team! Awesome perks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team of friendly people, the nicest I have ever worked with. The culture is very open and communicative and there are more and more events each month like pizza lunches, beer socials, optional employee-led learning seminars and tons of other stuff.

    Cons

    Nothing of note, the company is growing fast and that means lots of new faces all the time and shifting policy but the company appears very committed to their team and making them happy and comfortable at work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your team and keep doing what you're doing!

    AppNeta2015-11-18
  9. Helpful (18)

    "No growth in this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta

    Pros

    - low turnover rate - ability to work from home - location- downtown near the sky train - interesting product

    Cons

    - there are no careers, just jobs - there is absolutely no growth. You get what you negotiated at the beginning for as long as you're there regardless of how hard you work. Don't work over-time with the hope to grow your title. - wrong software life cycle. QA are told not to publicly report critical bugs to save their manager's job! - people who are clueless want to tell you how to do your job - heavily... political - never oppose management - you need to report your work updates on 5 technologies: email, hipchat, verbal, github, jira - management is hirrible. They award their relatives who were on vacation while the people who are sweating to fix customer issues get mistreatment. I am not even getting a "hello" from them. - No distinction between good development and bad development. That's due to lack of understanding of the non-technical management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I can only give advice to the top management not the developers' manager. Please get rid of the unqualified managers. Make sure you hire managers who are certified engineers with real industry experience. Also, please listen to your employees before they decide to leave. You must get HR involved. I cannot possibly communicate my problems to my manager as he is the problem himself. I truly wish that things get... better.

    Show More
    AppNeta2015-03-31
  10. "Software Engineering team in Vancouver top-notch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta

    Pros

    The software engineering team in Vancouver has very low turnover. That speaks volumes to the established culture, work/life balance, and the rewarding challenges of working with progressive and complicated technologies. Can't speak much about the Sales team which is based in Boston, since I'm in Vancouver, but I'd take the negative reviews of those who didn't make it with a grain of salt. There are many Sales... people in Boston that have been going strong for a long time. For those in Vancouver, which consists of developers, QA, and technical support, we build strong products in an emerging market, and the engineering teams are full of bright people who adopt technology early and make it work.

    Show More

    Cons

    The office has been growing fast, and the floor is full to capacity. Another floor in the same building has been acquired recently so that should alleviate the congestion.

    AppNeta2013-08-14
Found 78 reviews