ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated 12 December, 2018
612 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial President and CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
23 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "At ccc, there was no work life balance" (in 21 reviews)

  • "no cons at this time as I enjoyed working there" (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "10 years + at ATB and still going"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Many opportunities to learn and grow your career
    You can hear and feel the culture of the company through the many events they put on for the community and for employees
    Flexibility in the working environment

    Cons

    There is always change happening at ATB, so you have to be prepared to pivot and adjust course in the work you do or how you do it
    Being a smaller financial institution (not a Big 5 bank), processes aren't always regimented and outlined. This is a good thing as well, but it's a difference from the Big 5 where things tend to come 'top down' and is very processed.

    Advice to Management

    Find a balance between process and fluidity - the process will help provide clarity and performance, but still needs to be fluid to support the need for change.

    ATB Financial Response

    11 Dec, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Great to hear that our team members are finding the culture a fit not only for yourself however for family and community.

    Also appreciate the feedback for the... More


  2. "Personal Relationships Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent work place
    Great environment
    Recogization for work and growth opportunities

    Cons

    No work life balance
    So many things to handle at one time

  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Supportive, intuitive and well managed. Culture is huge, you need to buy in and understand what they are trying to achieve.

    Cons

    As with most banks, the pay is not the best, but there are good benefits and opportunities.

    ATB Financial Response

    11 Dec, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback.

    So happy the culture and strategy is tangible, and the benefits (great flex benefits!)are meeting your needs.

    Thanks again!


  4. "Talent Acquisition Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial part-time

    Pros

    Seemingly great attitude by everyone a

    Cons

    Work life balance is discussed as a must but not a reality

    Advice to Management

    Put words into actions .


  5. "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility to work when and where works for you and your clients.

    Cons

    Changing of systems and process continually. It’s extremely difficult to keep up with the right way of doing things as it’s always changing.

    They still push a huge bonus systems that rewards the wrong behaviour. It pushes people to be dishonest and put customers into products that aren’t necessarily right for them.

    Not understanding the differences, strengths and weaknesses of the different markets. Giving someone the same expectations whether they are downtown Calgary, or in the middle of rural Alberta doesn’t make sense.

    We continually get mixed messages, were supposed to be customer obsessed, unless we don’t want you to be. We want you to be proactive, unless we don’t want you to be.

    Switching to Google, yes that has been a con.

    Advice to Management

    See above for cons. Talk to more people in the field who actually do the jobs.

    ATB Financial Response

    13 Dec, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    To create happiness and stand behind our brand we need to hear and understand when we have not met those standards.

    I’d love to chat... More


  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great place if you are young and looking to start your career. Terrible to stay and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Culture, flexibility, inclusion, benefits, nice leaders and team members.

    Cons

    No growth opportunities and aside from hiring and firing, HR ("people and culture ") seems non-existent. Once you are in, even if you are a high performer (by your leader's account) you have to look for your own growth opportunities with 0 support. Basically, if you want to grow in a different team in ATB, you're back at square one: it's as if you had never worked there before. If you seek a meeting with HR they get very uncomfortable and rarely give you the time of day.
    Also goals and objectives seem overlooked and adds up to not knowing what needs to be done to grow and progress.
    I'm disappointed that for the first time in my career, I did not grow as a professional, I did not learn anything, and it is not because I didn't want to, I really put myself out there and gave it my all.

    Advice to Management

    It's not enough to have great culture, people want to DO more, GROW, and be a part of this growth, "relentless accountability " on these regard would have made me stay.

    ATB Financial Response

    11 Dec, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    Appreciate the feedback and if you’re open to it would like to chat further to understand more of where we can improve.

    I’d love to chat... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place for work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are perfect and team members are easy talking mostly.

    Cons

    Senior leaders of tech team are not technical...

    ATB Financial Response

    20 Nov, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your time with ATB Financial thus far.

    Agree complete that our Flex Benefits program is top notch and one of the reasons ATB is the place... More

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Sacrifice allot, get little back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Advise in Calgary, AB
    Former Employee - Service Advise in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Banking benefits, health benefits, excellent coworkers and free food

    Cons

    Take home pay too low, micro management by team leads (depending on who you get) threatening termination, no positive feedback during 1 on 1, get lectured on taking sick day and being 5 min late, blaming game without research to really see if employee is at fault. If TL hates you, they treat you like garbage and get on your neck until u have no choice but to quit to avoid them firing you.
    Other- mandatory 10.47% pension deduction (about $200/pay) + $39.38/pay for parking and $5/pay for gym. 36.25 hours work week. After all the deductions, works out to about $16/h
    Banking benefits- dont help much if you already bank with Atb. No benefits for business accts and no interest break on US MC
    Nothing is free...xmas party $37/person, kids xmas party $5/kid
    At ccc, there was no work life balance. Atb needs shift covered. They dont care if you have families that you need to see...
    They claim to listen with 11 words of wisdom, THEY DONT! as a customer and as an employee.

    Advice to Management

    Audit the ccc...employees are ALL in for sure, despite what you out them through. At least treat them with respect as human beings. Just because TL is a position of authority, does not mean they exercise their superiority All the time!

    ATB Financial Response

    11 Dec, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    To create happiness for our team members and customers we need to understand when we have fallen behind on our promises. If you are willing... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and good people.

    Cons

    Poor people management strategy. HR is not very supportive.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and transparent to employees

    ATB Financial Response

    11 Dec, 2018

    Thank for you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

    While we always strive to stand behind our promises we as well need to know when we have missed that mark.

     If you are willing I’d... More


  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager
    Current Employee - Product Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    - You get to work with awesome and smart people
    - The benefits are great
    - The leadership in the organization really care about the employees
    - The executives actually have a clear vision of where ATB needs to go to continue being successful

    Cons

    - Like all companies there are always politics in play but this happens everywhere
    - A lot of people work remotely which is a great benefit but it can sometimes be annoying trying to do working sessions on a call while sharing your screen

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, the leaders at ATB are great motivators.

    ATB Financial Response

    20 Nov, 2018

    Thanks for the feedback!

    ATB Financial is all about the people, bringing out the best of self and others and we support that by having amazing Flexible Benefits and Pension options for our team... More