ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 683 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've got really reasonable work life balance and get to work with a great team of professionals(in 118 reviews)

  • "Flexible work structure (start/end time, work from home)(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "limited market, so stuck in Alberta(in 35 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Best place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ATB is willing to push the envelope. This company is filled with people who care about our customers. ATB is willing to try and learn from attempts that didn't succeed. They truly care about team members well being. I love working here.

    Cons

    No company is perfect. There are still politics being played in departments and teams. The transformation is starting to wobble a bit and I'm not sure we will meet all the objectives. Again, politics at the senior management level, however the heads all have the best for their area at heart. Just need to break down the pillars more. A name change to guilds by itself doesn't do it.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page and march to the same drummer. Transformation needs to see that "scrum" is not the solution to all. Operations will stall all the good things. I wish Curtis was more visible to the company.

    ATB Financial2019-02-04

    ATB Financial Response

    February 6, 2019

    Appreciate the feedback. Happy to hear that the culture of ATB shines through for you and also the feedback regarding moving forward.

  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company to work for.

    Cons

    It is only in Alberta.

    ATB Financial2019-05-31
  3. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive culture, give and take for feedback.

    Cons

    Constantly changing procedures and performance metrics.

    ATB Financial2019-06-23
  4. "Excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture is welcoming and positive

    Cons

    The information systems are not user friendly

    ATB Financial2019-06-20
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PERSONAL BANKING SPECIALIST 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee and customer minded, not overly concerned with hitting numbers as long as the clients are happy with the service they receive. Promote from within. Amazing company culture.

    Cons

    as they promote from within it can leave the front line staff short handed when someone makes a move up, great for promotions but not so good when you are constantly, short and making up for someone moving up.

    ATB Financial2019-06-18
  6. "....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mastercard Agent 
    Recommends

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Staffs are really nice. Flexible hours from 7am till 11pm.

    Cons

    Very little opening for one up position

    ATB Financial2019-06-14
  7. "Great company, if you get the right manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair pay for work done, a positive focus on improving mental health, great benefits

    Cons

    Positive aspects of corporate culture can only be seen with some leaders, not all of them. There's still a lot of leaders who are not as active in transforming their team and helping them improve.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid nepotism and brown-nosing as much as possible.

    ATB Financial2019-06-12
  8. "Friendly culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, good benefits, good work environment.

    Cons

    Weak talent, weak technology, as a result of weak leadership. But they are all good people.

    Advice to Management

    You need to hire leaders from other large banks to show people in your organization how to properly run a bank.

    ATB Financial2019-06-11
  9. "Always growing & evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We care so much about our customers - and frankly all Albertans even if they aren’t customers. It’s truly feeing to know that we can make the right decisions for customers and that it will be supported. To be a financial institution and be focused on customers makes it stand out even more. There is an appetite for changing the things that stand on the way and investing in continuous evolution of people, process and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of change can be overwhelming. Even when change is for the better, it takes coordination and planning and listening to w sure we adapt and execute well. Leaders are trying hard and initiative owners are as well - but we haven’t found our groove yet at this new level of commitment to agility and innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work on the next era of strategy, and be thoughtful about how to help the leaders ALL lead the changes and implications that will come from it. Driving it to all levels of the organization will help us be coordinated in our efforts. It’s an amazing privilege to work for an organization that is so future forward while remaining grounded in the customers that we do it all for.

    ATB Financial2019-06-11
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Systems Analyst 

      I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible work environment and friendly collegues

      Cons

      have no cons to write

      ATB Financial2019-06-12
    Found 683 reviews