ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
84 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be willing to live in Alberta(in 37 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Always growing & evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We care so much about our customers - and frankly all Albertans even if they aren’t customers. It’s truly feeing to know that we can make the right decisions for customers and that it will be supported. To be a financial institution and be focused on customers makes it stand out even more. There is an appetite for changing the things that stand on the way and investing in continuous evolution of people, process... and technology so we are able to serve customers in unbelievable ways. It’s thriving and past paced and therefore engaging.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of change can be overwhelming. Even when change is for the better, it takes coordination and planning and listening to w sure we adapt and execute well. Leaders are trying hard and initiative owners are as well - but we haven’t found our groove yet at this new level of commitment to agility and innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work on the next era of strategy, and be thoughtful about how to help the leaders ALL lead the changes and implications that will come from it. Driving it to all levels of the organization will help us be coordinated in our efforts. It’s an amazing privilege to work for an organization that is so future forward while remaining grounded in the customers that we do it all for.

    ATB Financial2019-06-11

    ATB Financial Response

    June 27, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and continual customer obsession. ATB is the place to be as we truly are Albertans working for Alberta. Our change management process is currently in revision and our teams are taking the necessary steps to ensure that the change ATB plans in evolution is timely, planned and minimized impact to our teams. Your feedback is timely!

    Show Less
  2. "Product Manager-ATB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, Great team, Cool space, and work!

    Cons

    Sometimes not as productive as I would've liked

    ATB Financial2019-10-10
  3. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Culture, flexible working environment, interesting work

    Cons

    Politics, favorites, some hypocriticalness in the area I was in, a bit all over the place with strategy

    ATB Financial2019-10-04

    ATB Financial Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide some thoughts on your time with ATB. While we strive to always live by our ATB's at time we do fall short. If you would like to chat more to those please reach out to serviceexcellence@atb.com.

  4. "good company and product services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loans in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    nice benefits and products services

    Cons

    too much politics and no career growth

    ATB Financial2019-10-16
  5. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Lethbridge, AB
    Recommends

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming staff, good working conditions, flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Only located in Alberta so there is no room to transfer

    ATB Financial2019-10-02

    ATB Financial Response

    October 9, 2019

    Good to hear that the team is great and the overall structure for yourself is beneficial. Being Alberta base while for transfering outside of Alberta may be a hindrance, we're just big enough to make a big impact in Alberta some aspects quicker than others. Thank you for your thoughts.

    Show Less
  6. "Managing Agency Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Agency Manager 

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Higher potential as Agency grows

    Cons

    Agency is a small business, not ATB.

    ATB Financial2019-09-27

    ATB Financial Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to write some comments. Our Agency team is so vital to ATB and providing services to our customers where the traditional "brick and mortar" branch isn't there. Thank you for all you do with ATB!

  7. "Great organization!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits (customize them to fit your needs) and ATB's culture.

    Cons

    None, I had a pleasant experience.

    ATB Financial2019-09-23

    ATB Financial Response

    October 9, 2019

    Thank you for your thoughts. Appreciate that you found the pay and benefits worked well for you, and yes, customizable to your needs!

  8. "Ok company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team was great, good perks.

    Cons

    Say that they are different from other bank, but they are not. Driven by numbers and quotas.

    ATB Financial2019-10-05

    ATB Financial Response

    October 9, 2019

    Glad to hear that the team is amazing as the people do make the difference. While we are a business it's our people who do make that difference and make ATB the place to be. Thank you for your feedback.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Work Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great place to work with a focus on work/family balance.

    Cons

    Haven't found any cons yet.

    ATB Financial2019-08-31

    ATB Financial Response

    September 5, 2019

    Thank you for providing your feedback. Great to hear that the work and life/work balance is a focus.

  10. "good place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Personal Banker Analyst in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very friendly environment , flexibility.

    Cons

    nothing it is good place to work for

    ATB Financial2019-08-31

    ATB Financial Response

    September 5, 2019

    Love hearing that the environment and work life balance is working out. Agree 100% the people make all the difference!

Found 706 reviews