ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 696 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
79 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "limited market, so stuck in Alberta(in 36 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Always growing & evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We care so much about our customers - and frankly all Albertans even if they aren’t customers. It’s truly feeing to know that we can make the right decisions for customers and that it will be supported. To be a financial institution and be focused on customers makes it stand out even more. There is an appetite for changing the things that stand on the way and investing in continuous evolution of people, process and...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of change can be overwhelming. Even when change is for the better, it takes coordination and planning and listening to w sure we adapt and execute well. Leaders are trying hard and initiative owners are as well - but we haven’t found our groove yet at this new level of commitment to agility and innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work on the next era of strategy, and be thoughtful about how to help the leaders ALL lead the changes and implications that will come from it. Driving it to all levels of the organization will help us be coordinated in our efforts. It’s an amazing privilege to work for an organization that is so future forward while remaining grounded in the customers that we do it all for.

    ATB Financial2019-06-11

    ATB Financial Response

    June 27, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and continual customer obsession. ATB is the place to be as we truly are Albertans working for Alberta. Our change management process is currently in revision and our teams are taking the necessary steps to ensure that the change ATB plans in evolution ...

    Show More
  2. "Fantastic Organizational Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, great pension, and good leadership

    Cons

    Lower than average salaries, hiring/promotions not always given to most qualified.

    ATB Financial2019-07-23
  3. "Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PRM 

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Top of the pack benefit/perks.

    Cons

    Process sometimes can be frustrating.

    ATB Financial2019-08-17
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PERSONAL BANKING SPECIALIST 

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Good company with good people etc

    Cons

    Not much negatives pay could increase based on responsibility

    ATB Financial2019-08-12
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flexible work schedule - benefits

    Cons

    there is constant technology change

    ATB Financial2019-08-07
  6. "not the right industry for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working arrangements, some interesting aspects to the job.

    Cons

    excessive hours, passive-aggressive work environment, painfully slow systems, probably the least interesting industry I have ever worked in.

    ATB Financial2019-08-19
  7. "Branch Manager in Calgary, Alberta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    small company and good benefits

    Cons

    small company and you need to be well known in order to move up

    ATB Financial2019-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    good benefits package, friendly staff, more laid back, less sales pressure than the big 5 banks

    Cons

    INADEQUATE TRAINING, didn't give sufficient time to train

    ATB Financial2019-08-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "ATB Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PRM 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. Very good work life balance, lots of employment perks. Live and work in the city you want to live and work in. Workplace flexibility

    Cons

    Team member banking requires jumping through a lot of hoops to get something done. Due to relationship with AB Gov company has had a compensation freeze in place for almost 4 years.

    ATB Financial2019-07-10
  10. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisory Associate in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay Great culture Priority on overall health and wellness

    Cons

    Must be willing to live in Alberta

    ATB Financial2019-07-09
Found 696 reviews