ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be willing to live in Alberta(in 37 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Always growing & evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We care so much about our customers - and frankly all Albertans even if they aren’t customers. It’s truly feeing to know that we can make the right decisions for customers and that it will be supported. To be a financial institution and be focused on customers makes it stand out even more. There is an appetite for changing the things that stand on the way and investing in continuous evolution of people, process... and technology so we are able to serve customers in unbelievable ways. It’s thriving and past paced and therefore engaging.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of change can be overwhelming. Even when change is for the better, it takes coordination and planning and listening to w sure we adapt and execute well. Leaders are trying hard and initiative owners are as well - but we haven’t found our groove yet at this new level of commitment to agility and innovation.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work on the next era of strategy, and be thoughtful about how to help the leaders ALL lead the changes and implications that will come from it. Driving it to all levels of the organization will help us be coordinated in our efforts. It’s an amazing privilege to work for an organization that is so future forward while remaining grounded in the customers that we do it all for.

    ATB Financial2019-06-11
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Csr1 in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, fun at work, employee development, customer obsessed

    Cons

    Not a big 5 company

    ATB Financial2019-11-26
  3. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and lots of opportunity for advancement and continuing education.

    Cons

    In order to advance you would often need to relocate. Lots of meetings and conference calls.

    Advice to Management

    Less meetings!

    ATB Financial2019-12-05
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people and corporate culture

    Cons

    No work life balance at all

    ATB Financial2019-12-05
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love working here, great work life balance, great team.

    Cons

    Products are not always up to par with industry, but other than that things are good. Compensation is not always the best.

    ATB Financial2019-11-25
  6. "Fast paced and extremely political environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility in work location Reasonable compensation Challenging work Progressive organization Room for career growth

    Cons

    Extremely political (very much who you know and not what you know) Constantly looking at the next shiny thing rather than leveraging the excellent technology already in use. Great values stated but not followed.

    Advice to Management

    Suggest that promotions should be based on merit - not just who can talk the best but those that can actually execute on their words.

    ATB Financial2019-12-07
  7. "Great culture, okay higher management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PBS in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive culture, strong benefits package

    Cons

    Higher management sometimes does not align with the culture.

    ATB Financial2019-11-28
  8. "crazy schedulling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Advise 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    medical and dental benefits, fair wages

    Cons

    non-flexible hours, could be very lonely

    ATB Financial2019-11-28
  9. "Full Stack Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Developer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great work environment Flexible schedule Great benefits

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better

    ATB Financial2019-11-11
  10. "Tough job but may be different in other positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really are none but it pays the bills

    Cons

    Doesn't pay overtime despite overtime being worked everyday. Difficult culture. Hard work and long hours. Confusing and messy systems. After doing the math I realized despite working 9 hour days after taxes and they don't let you get out the retirement plan so I only made 85 dollars a day so I left.

    ATB Financial2019-11-25
Found 728 reviews