ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated 12 February, 2019
630 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial President and CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
35 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "I've got really reasonable work life balance and get to work with a great team of professionals" (in 117 reviews)

  • "Flexible work structure (start/end time, work from home)" (in 54 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    ATB is willing to push the envelope. This company is filled with people who care about our customers. ATB is willing to try and learn from attempts that didn't succeed. They truly care about team members well being. I love working here.

    Cons

    No company is perfect. There are still politics being played in departments and teams. The transformation is starting to wobble a bit and I'm not sure we will meet all the objectives. Again, politics at the senior management level, however the heads all have the best for their area at heart. Just need to break down the pillars more. A name change to guilds by itself doesn't do it.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page and march to the same drummer. Transformation needs to see that "scrum" is not the solution to all. Operations will stall all the good things. I wish Curtis was more visible to the company.

    ATB Financial Response

    6 Feb, 2019

    Appreciate the feedback.

    Happy to hear that the culture of ATB shines through for you and also the feedback regarding moving forward.


  2. "29.5 Years and counting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have had the pleasure or working within the culture of ATB Financial well before we had the 11 ATB's.

    ATB Financial has continued to evolve and become better within each iteration to be THE PLACE TO BANK and most definitely THE PLACE TO WORK.

    As we continue to evolve while always growing pains, there is amazing opportunity for personal and professional growth along with conversations to align your talents to either the day to day job or experiential growth opportunities.

    Cons

    I don't believe I have any cons to comment on. Every business has items that one might not see eye to eye on. Having the honest conversations in an appropriate way is fundamental to relationships and personal brand.

    Advice to Management

    With growth the awkward stage of finding your feet is a component of doing business. Where team members want to pursue additional training the dollars spent are well worth the money.

  3. "Disorganized Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Small enough to make changes but big enough to make a difference to the province. Good benefits, will miss the flexibility. Mostly great leaders.

    Cons

    So much going on, duplication everywhere. Nothing actually is being accomplished. Adopted Agile methodology and have seen much less being produced. So many priorities and agendas, it's a mess. There a few leaders that are bullies and senior management covers for them and lets them behave horribly. Culture is rapidly changing from once amazing to bleh. Where is Curtis?

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the organizational priorities. Trust your counterparts to get work done and if they aren't getting work done - get rid of them. Do not tolerate crappy leaders.

    ATB Financial Response

    14 Feb, 2019 – Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time provide a review of your time with ATB.

    We do strive to create a culture where team members are provided with great benefits, and flexibility in their work and great... More


  4. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to learn the basics

    Cons

    The company limits your growth potential

    ATB Financial Response

    31 Jan, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    A great place to learn the basics and do hope that you find opportunities to growth both personally and professionally.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, bad department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Edmonton, AB
    Current Employee - Marketing in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -I love ATB as a company. At a high level, they really do believe in what ATB stands for.
    -Great benefits
    -Good tech: phones, laptops, etc

    Cons

    -Raise freezes even after record profit breaking years
    -Company is pretty segregated with many different priorities in different departments
    -Some departments have a negative culture

    ATB Financial Response

    14 Feb, 2019 – Program Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and sharing your valuable feedback. ATB does invest in benefits and tools so team members have what they need to do their best work. ATB is always... More


  6. "Great learning opportunity - career advancement opportunities remain unclear."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Workplace 2.0 - allows you to be where you need to be
    -Flexible Benefits
    -For management level and above the pension is industry leading.
    -Mostly engaged team’s working towards a common purpose
    -I believe ATB is the best bank in Alberta - hands down.
    -Growing pains - but overall transitioning into new spaces effectively.

    Cons

    -Base salary is not competitive, or even median, for the marketplace. This has resulted in a number of high-performing individuals leaving.
    -There has been no raises for the past 4 years or so - which means that for employees in ‘destination roles’ that haven’t changed positions - they’re getting about 8% less pay in today’s dollars.
    -Many processes and systems are inefficient - and I believe we are doing our very best to solve, but this is a hard problem with no easy fix.
    -HR at ATB, or People and Culture - while willing to answer any questions you may have/are generally nice - have zero involvement in facilitating a career roadmap for any existing team members. This results in the individual relying on the leader to support/guide their development - which some leaders don’t have the capability to do, and others are incentivized to hold you back as long as possible/to prevent a team vacancy. This attitude is what sometimes creates an echo chamber where we hire from outside the company to resolve the vacancy - instead of promotion from within.

    ATB Financial Response

    28 Jan, 2019

    Thank you for investing the time to provide a review.

    To ensure that ATB delivers on it's promises we need to know when we fall short.

    Where existing process, career path are falling short... More


  7. "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance
    Good Compensation
    Good Technical opportunities

    Cons

    No Parking for employees who commute to office.

  8. "Financial Advisor Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    ATB is a great place to work, they provide on going development and flexibility.

    Cons

    ATB is not competitive with salaries.

    ATB Financial Response

    28 Jan, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review with your time thus far with ATB Financial.

    Love the commentary regarding the development and flexibility with ATB though various sources of... More


  9. "ATB leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Atb Leader in Calgary, AB
    Current Employee - Atb Leader in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Strong sense of purpose. Big time focus on customers and Alberta's greater good. A great work environment - - very inclusive where you can bring your true self to work . ATB is also google shop with tools for collaboration and agile practices. The CEO and senior executive team is open, approachable and caring.

    Cons

    The only con (which could also be a pro) is that the job opportunities are limited to within the province. That said, there is a small percentage of team members who live outside of Alberta and are still able to fullfill their job /role working remotely. The technology and collaboration tools makes it easy! (guess thats a pro too)

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture alive!

    ATB Financial Response

    28 Jan, 2019

    Thanks for the review!

    Greatly appreciate the sense of purpose and focus on customer obsession!


  10. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Autonomy, Environment where you learn new things

    Cons

    Ambiguity, constant change, weak middle management leadership. Little work life balance

    ATB Financial Response

    31 Jan, 2019

    As ATB continues to evolve, we have growing pains however, those items that make ATB the place to be will always be there.

    Where those growing pains are seen as a hindrance to our culture those... More