ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial President and CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
120 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, talented people, ideal work-life balance(in 131 reviews)

  • "Work from home perks, bonus, career development opportunities, amazing culture(in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • "Must be willing to live in Alberta(in 38 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Always growing & evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We care so much about our customers - and frankly all Albertans even if they aren’t customers. It’s truly feeing to know that we can make the right decisions for customers and that it will be supported. To be a financial institution and be focused on customers makes it stand out even more. There is an appetite for changing the things that stand on the way and investing in continuous evolution of people, process and technology so we are able to serve customers in unbelievable ways. It’s thriving and past paced and therefore engaging.

    Cons

    Sometimes the pace of change can be overwhelming. Even when change is for the better, it takes coordination and planning and listening to w sure we adapt and execute well. Leaders are trying hard and initiative owners are as well - but we haven’t found our groove yet at this new level of commitment to agility and innovation.

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2019-06-11

    ATB Financial Response

    June 27, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback and continual customer obsession. ATB is the place to be as we truly are Albertans working for Alberta. Our change management process is currently in revision and our teams are taking the necessary steps to ensure that the change ATB plans in evolution is timely, planned and minimized impact to our teams. Your feedback is timely!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very inviting, understanding, open, and accepting of change

    Cons

    Cant think of any cons

    ATB Financial2020-02-13
  3. "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and good place to work

    Cons

    No issues while working here

    ATB Financial2020-02-22
  4. "Great work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Advice Specialist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Great work life balance

    Cons

    Shifts schedules can be crazy

    ATB Financial2020-02-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great company to work for... if you have a good leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Workplace 2.0 - work wherever & whenever you do your best work - Encourages personal growth & development - Challenging and rewarding work - I've been fortunate to have some amazing leaders who live "the ATB's" - Good recognition program - When you have a good leader, working at ATB is amazing all around.

    Cons

    - When you have a bad leader, you walk on eggshells all day long and there's not much you can do except try and avoid them - The culture can vary depending on your team or leader. For example, some teams are 100% supportive of Workplace 2.0 and others are not at all, even if job duties allow for it. - I've mostly had good experiences, but in some departments, favoritism, cliques & bullying by leadership is common. Every organization can have toxic leaders, but these need to be weeded out quickly before they destroy engagement. - We are encouraged to speak up when we see something not right, but everyone is too scared of losing their job. It feels best just to keep your mouth shut & turn a blind eye.

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-02-10

    ATB Financial Response

    February 14, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback on your time with ATB thus far. Appreciate the positive aspects of the ATB culture as well the great people at ATB. If you can I'd recommend having a conversation with your leader, if this is not possible though, please reach out to you HR Advisor. Your feedback and transparency is appreciated.

    Continue reading
  6. "Operation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture and its people, the innovation of technology with a forward-thinking and supportive atmosphere. Constant improvement of productivity and new ways to work. Promoting from within.

    Cons

    Provincial only, work from home has little options or support.

    ATB Financial2020-02-10

    ATB Financial Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback and view your time with ATB Financial. Agree wholeheartedly that the people of ATB Financial are great and also appreciate the innovation and forward thinking of new way to work, and to provide best possible to our customers.

    Continue reading
  7. "Not the worst place I've worked, definitely not the best either."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some great coworkers - A great benefits package - Used to have some secondary benefits for education, opportunity to travel etc (but these are largely gone now) - Very forward thinking for a bank, community focused. - Lots of roles easily offer work-life balance.

    Cons

    - Organization is fairly political and your advancement is dependant your ability to make all your bosses look good, even if they aren't doing the right thing. Most large organizations are like this, and I guess ATB is definitely no different. - A lack of risk tolerance to experiment, try new things. There used to be some, now that is gone. - Wage freeze, hiring freeze, and expense freeze... - Many leaders are very old-school in their leadership and management styles which includes a lack of transparency, managing as opposed to leading, and not taking many risks for their team (also a symptom of larger senior management issues). Newer leaders are generally great, but lack experience. - Severe lack of thoughtful alignment from leadership down to individual team members. - Some of the most talented people here are often minimized because their thoughts are contrary to maintaining status quo. Those that do best are often great at taking orders and executing without much critical thought. - Execution of technology projects is quite poor, with many non-technical leaders and inexperienced leaders leading technical teams. - Morale continues to drop - Many people who work here have jobs that frankly might not need to exist, and they often don't contribute much or even detract from the productivity of others (gatekeeper culture).

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-02-21
  8. "Great culture with opportunity to move up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lender in Canmore, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company culture. Advancement and educational opportunities.

    Cons

    Sometimes paperwork can bog you down but to be expected in banking

    ATB Financial2020-02-07

    ATB Financial Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. Agree love the culture and ability to create some great personal and professional growth. Also agree with the paperwork, how could we reduce it?

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A changing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Director in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -worklife balance -training and development -opportunities

    Cons

    -no performance culture -naval gazing -political -Toxic leadership

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-02-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Edmonton, AB
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial

    Pros

    Work from home sometimes , benefits , RRSP

    Cons

    Politics are everywhere. No raises in years due to NDP government starting pay freezes. Lots of people get raises anyway though due to fake promotions now there is no room for people to grow and lots of “leaders” who don’t actually lead any people. It’s easy to dupe someone into giving you a promotion if you suck up (ex. reading some articles about AI doesn’t make you a pro in AI, or because you’ve worked in a branch doesn’t make you an expert in digital CX!) even if you don’t know how to do the job or show results. So much waste and duplication in the transformation/technology team of people doing the same jobs and this leads to people being very territorial and competitive. This whole department is so bloated with people getting hired while certain executives were trying to build an empire. Constant restructures to make senior leadership seem smarter than they are. Systems and approvals are extremely complicated. So much micromanagement due to nosy leaders who don’t actually do work. People get promoted due to favouritism not good work or loyalty. Promotions, nepotism and virtue signaling are the norm.

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-02-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 751 reviews