Zenefits Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Zenefits Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 487 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "In addition to the standard free food, solid benefits, etc(in 30 reviews)

  • "Fully-stocked kitchen with premium drinks like Kombucha(in 27 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top level management is better than before

    Cons

    Poor work life balance but improving

    Zenefits2019-08-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "sde"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    best company in Vancouver, small and move fast

    Cons

    some cooperations with SF and India office, may be in different time zone

    Zenefits2018-10-28
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Mismanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Good tech culture. People are really friendly

    Cons

    Vancouver management is totally pathetic. They are less competent than the younger engineers.

    Zenefits2018-07-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Good food and pay and nothing else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good engineers Good work (sometimes)

    Cons

    Less empathy. Poor leadership. Less development and more maintenance.

    Zenefits2018-04-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Righting the Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant people Meaningful work Crazy opportunity to make a difference Autonomy and teamwork

    Cons

    Working to navigate out of some pretty PR rough waters/sins of the past Have a tendency to try to boil the ocean

    Advice to Management

    Gain and maintain focus on only as many projects as your teams can handle. remember that new initiatives need to be balanced with existing projects, maintenance and constant system improvements. In software there is rarely, if even a project that is one and done... maintenance, improvement and iteration never ends until its time to EOL.

    Zenefits2017-08-21
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work, nice people, but crappy food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Despite some bad article online, this is actually good place to work Great co-workers to work with Good product and i am happy that i can contribute The idea is great, and it is leading the industry better work-life balance than before

    Cons

    bad reputation caused by misleading article and news online management is a little weird the market is not good for its business now ironically, bad benefits for a hr-benefits company seriously, crappy food.

    Zenefits2017-02-07
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food. Standard compensation.

    Cons

    Subpar quality of engineering leadership. 90% of remaining engineers are from exactly same background. Basically everyone who is capable of getting a job somewhere else, has already left or looking to leave.

    Zenefits2017-02-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great People and Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pbp in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are smart, friendly, generally care about one another and the mission of the company. There is a lot of autonomy and room to stretch yourself. Fresh outside-of-the-box thinking is encouraged. Lots of opportunities for learning and growth, there are many examples of people moving departments to follow career interests.

    Cons

    Move a little faster to recognize and solve problems. Hold people equally accountable across different functions and levels.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your efforts to connect with people and share authentic stories around the mission, the challenges, and what is most exciting.

    Zenefits2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow professionally!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great place to make an impact. I have the opportunity to take on exciting challenges on a regular basis. Not only do I get to learn and grow in the process, but I also get to see first hand how my work impacts the success of the organization. I love that I get to work with a group of dedicated, talented, curious, and diverse people as well. Together we do some really cool things. The workplace culture is... great - everyone is helpful and I can see our sales and customer experience teams doing the right thing for our customers on a regular basis. Also, I can see and believe in our path to success.

    Show More

    Cons

    I thrive in an environment of change, and we're pretty good at getting the right people involved in changes, but we do make changes quickly. If that's not your thing, I could see it being challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in our people and culture. It's paying dividends.

    Zenefits2019-09-04
  10. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Food, location, opportunities, connection making.

    Cons

    Probably everything else was terrible.

    Zenefits2019-09-10
Found 487 reviews