Ubisoft Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ubisoft Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Pretty low salary but acceptable(in 105 reviews)

  • "Most of the management are French guys (from France) in their late 40's and they don't have a clue anymore about what games should be(in 56 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Generalist Programmeur in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, very skilled employees

    Cons

    Salary is average (but nice bonus when a game is released)

    Ubisoft2020-02-21
  2. "French Clique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ecommerce in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits; you can see the 47% tax credit helps offer better benefit than other business

    Cons

    There something anti-Quebecois; if you are not French from France or British; your chance are slimmer than Bob from Rimouski

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2020-04-02
  3. "Mobile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Programmer in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible . You are ok if you just do your job.

    Cons

    Not much To mention. Good place

    Ubisoft2020-02-08
  4. "International Marketing Product Manager For Global Marketing Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great environment and Colleagues, Studio life is the best in the industry

    Cons

    Salaries are not competitive and is difficult to find long term growth within the Marketing teams

    Ubisoft2020-02-05
  5. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Tester in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, company provides access to diverse outings, lots of career advancement options, flexible hours

    Cons

    Transparency from management could be better

    Ubisoft2020-01-22
  6. "Good compagny to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Accountant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    The compagny should innovate by taking risk and create new AAA IP

    Ubisoft2020-01-19
  7. "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    family/work balance is decent salary is competitive proximity, right in middle of mtl AAA titles and cutting edge techs

    Cons

    Maybe too big Afraid to take risks

    Ubisoft2020-01-16
  8. "Fun and nice experience. Good 2 years overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Tester in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Play games and get paid for it

    Cons

    Not much work to do except for test and rate games

    Ubisoft2020-01-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly. They are always ready to help. They like to teach juniors various stuff about game dev or dev in general. Montreal studio is diverse and multicultural. This is one of the big game studio in Montreal where you're not expected to do (unpaid) overtime. Looks good on a CV because of the brand name I guess.

    Cons

    There's lots of cons. Enough so that the Pros were not a reason to stay at that company. This is not the place if you're ambitious and want to progress quickly in your career. This is also definitely not the place if you want to get promoted quickly and get raises. Even with a perfect performance evaluation you're lucky if they raise your salary by 5%. That's almost insulting. Some people seem to get promoted because they're friend or agreeable with management Management is outdated. Most of the management are French guys (from France) in their late 40's and they don't have a clue anymore about what games should be. There's favouritism towards employees from France. For some reasons I always felt they are treated better and more respected. I've seen stellar programmers from other countries and they don't have the same status as their French coworkers. A lot of people, especially youngest employees, care more about being in a "somewhat cool" company with a big brand name than producing quality code and games. The studio is huge, so a lot of people actually do nothing. I feel that the average employee production is absolutely terrible. Easy tasks can take them days. No effort are made to change some of the 12 years old base code witch is becoming more and more buggy and impossible to work with. I feel the company prefer to hire bunch of people and keep the raises and salaries low instead of having a small amount of very good engineers. I am probably not alone to have this feeling since a lot of people are leaving the studio for better opportunities and they would probably agree with me on some points I explained above.

    Continue reading
    Ubisoft2020-01-22
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great to work on AAA franchises at a company that cares about its employees

    Cons

    Large, complex projects can be stressful

    Ubisoft2020-01-05
Found 1251 reviews