Ubisoft Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ubisoft Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Pretty low salary but acceptable(in 85 reviews)

  • "Management remains mainly French - locals tend to get bypassed in management/leadership roles unless you get into their clique(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture in creative industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great culture. Creative and fun industry to work in - Lots of opportunities to develop your skills and room for career advancement. - Flexible work hours - Lots of fun events, activities, and parties

    Cons

    - No work from home option - Not the studios fault but it's expensive to live in the city but there isn't much of an option if you don't want to commute back and forth every day.

    Ubisoft2019-10-17
  2. "gret place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work environment, people, ability to improve your skills

    Cons

    salary is not the best

    Advice to Management

    keep up a good work

    Ubisoft2019-10-14
  3. "BEST place to work~"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dev Tester in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - get to work on cool brands!!!!! - people are amazing - made some awesome lifelong friends - Ubibashes every month!! - opportunities to develop new skills - my manager is amazing and actually cares about me

    Cons

    Ramp up is fast (but you have a lot of support)

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you don't lose the family feel as the Studio grows :)

    Ubisoft2019-10-10
  4. "I've been here 7+ years and hopefully many more to come!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Community Content in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The studio vibe is great! Not as small and tight-knit as it once was, but it's still warm and welcoming. There's a 'UbiBash' on the 4th Friday of every month, each themed with something relevant with snacks and beverages, and they're a blast! The studio makes a considerable effort to be inclusive and open, and also does a great job of setting up regular after-hours events and activities that are often open to family... members. Oh, and the Ubisoft Toronto Kids' holiday party is the stuff of legends!

    Show More

    Cons

    Any potential 'con' in my mind would be a little pedantic. First thing that comes to my head is that there's no free coffee... but, it's a quarter, so... I think I'll swallow that.

    Ubisoft2019-10-07
  5. "Animation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ubisoft full-time

    Pros

    Cool project life work balance

    Cons

    Low salary, management need to appreciate talented artist

    Ubisoft2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Just a nice environment with amazing talents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing games and projects, Great talents, Creative Af

    Cons

    Sometimes, less and less now, you do have intense crunch times... nothing to worry about here.

    Ubisoft2019-10-01
  7. "Engaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    +Creative environment +Ton of amazing people to learn from +Positive, inclusive culture

    Cons

    -As with any large organization, understanding stakeholders and responsibilities can be confusing at times

    Ubisoft2019-10-02
  8. "One of the best places I have worked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Organized teams - Work at scale

    Cons

    Code quality is ignored at times

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific

    Ubisoft2019-10-03
  9. "Good advantages and great respect for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Character Artist in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good advantages and great respect for employees

    Cons

    The company is very big Company, communication is limited

    Ubisoft2019-10-01
  10. "Amazing culture, games & tech - low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Gameplay Programmer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ubisoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazingly passionate team members and super talented people - it's just so lovely to go to work everyday and hang out with the some of the coolest people in the world - Relaxed atmosphere - unlike other AAA studios the pressure isn't as high - So many different IPs and projects to choose from - once one project is over, you can move to tens of other brands if you choose - Lots of events, happy hours, parties,... hangouts, lunches, talks, presentations, lots of information sharing, lots of skill development

    Show More

    Cons

    - Salary is quite low compared to other AAA studios - Benefits aren't as good as compared to other AAA studios - Being a member of close to 4000 employees, it's not easy to grow in your career or rise in your rank - Ubisoft doesn't really care about keeping its employees - they know new employees will keep applying so it doesn't do much to retain current ones - Sessions are sometimes in French which is a bit... annoying since this is an international company, there are many international employees here. And it's not that we're not trying to learn it - but it takes time and we miss a lot of important things sometimes

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The concept of "levels" is a bit strange and not transparent, also 5 levels all the way to CEO is too less of a division. Spend a bit more on your employees, give them coffee, increase their salary, and provide recognition for employees who perform well.

    Ubisoft2019-09-29
Found 1310 reviews