Starbucks Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Starbucks Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22349 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Starbucks CEO Kevin Johnson
Kevin Johnson
3225 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Baristas not always inclined to come to work(in 1111 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced environment at times(in 579 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Toronto, ON
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starbucks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible schedule, knowledge, development of skills, training, opportunities.

    Cons

    everything smells coffee after a shift

    Starbucks2019-01-23
  2. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Starbucks part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Free coffee at work all day

      Cons

      Not enough coffee while working hard

      Starbucks2019-06-18
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Edmonton, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and nice staff

      Cons

      Stressful at times but manageable

      Starbucks2019-06-18
    • "Good for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Barista 

        I worked at Starbucks part-time

        Pros

        Good university student job, pretty accommodating of scheduling changes during academic school year.

        Cons

        More work than other retail jobs.

        Starbucks2019-06-17
      • "Great experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Barista in Mississauga, ON

          I worked at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Fun environment, always supported, great team

          Cons

          Can get very busy and tiring

          Starbucks2019-06-14
        • "Great People made the day go by"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Barista in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          I worked with some really cool people and it definitely made my job more fun.

          Cons

          Sometimes felt understaffed during busy hours

          Advice to Management

          Continue hiring nice genuine people

          Starbucks2019-06-15
        • "Amazing workplace with lots of benefits"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Barista in Halifax, NS
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Starbucks part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Flexible hours, Amazing partners, Amazing benefits

          Cons

          Minimum wage is only the issue

          Starbucks2019-06-14
        • "Starbucks Barista"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Fun work environment, Customers very friendly all the time

          Cons

          Fellow baristas can get jealous of each others which i found strange, everyone wanted to be the popular barista

          Advice to Management

          Dont give awards to staff, it might seem like a good motivational technique but it cause other baristas to have a dislike towards me when i won a award they felt they were there longer and deserved recognition

          Starbucks2019-06-12
        • "Starbucks canada is pretty ok"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Vancouver, BC
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Starbucks part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Employees are understanding, helpful, and kind. Benefits are pretty freaking great. Hours and pay are pretty sweet too.

          Cons

          Upper management can be quite strick and not understanding of individual store problems. I have seen employees be rude to one another - talk behind their backs, force them to take unwanted shifts, ect. Frappuccino happy hour is hell

          Starbucks2019-06-13
        • "Positive experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Toronto, ON
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Cares about their employees well-being

          Cons

          Reliable hours, shifts are too short

          Starbucks2019-06-11
        Found 22349 reviews