Starbucks Barista Trainer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Starbucks Barista Trainer Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Starbucks President & CEO Kevin Johnson
Kevin Johnson
75 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Trainer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work! Got the hours I needed and they were really flexible when I was in school and doing an internship. You will love your co-workers and the team generally is really supportive of one another.

    Cons

    Store managers who have no previous Starbucks experience.

    Advice to Management

    Hire from within, promote from within and your stores will be a success

    Starbucks2020-01-18
  2. "Awesome company with amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer in Ajax, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Really flexible in terms of availability, the number of hours you want to work, and booking days off (you even accrue paid vacation hours) - Allows you to transfer to different locations across the country - Ridiculously generous benefits such as stock grants (they give you free shares in the company), markouts (free packaged coffee or tea), Starbucks discount (30%), free drinks on your shifts, health benefits (option to sign up for this and choose a plan that suits you), corporate gym membership, etc. - Supports mental health better than most companies (free subscription to the meditation app, Headspace, and the company offers various support for those struggling with mental illness; if you opt in for the health benefits, you can get up to $5000 worth of therapy covered)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Store managers can vary in regards to competency (some are awesome like my current manager, but I've had other managers in the past who are, quite frankly, disorganized, inept, displays favoritism, and can make light work feel exhausting)

    Advice to Management

    Please stop hiring external hires for management. I know so many wonderful shift supervisors who have been with Starbucks for many years and want to grow within the company as ASMs (assistant store managers) and eventually SMs (store managers), but my district manager continues to hire people from outside the company. I feel like this is somewhat disrespectful, especially since the external hires are often trained and helped by the very people who deserve and wanted that promotion.

    Show More
    Starbucks2020-01-07
  3. "Great Place to Gain Customer Service Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Trainer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lovely co-workers and supervisors - Fast-paced, you never feel like there is nothing to do - Can be promoted in less than a year to make more than minimum wage - Great general customer service experience

    Cons

    - Early to late hours (opening can be at 5:30am and closing can be at 11:30pm) - High turnover (management and baristas) - Lots of cleaning, you are basically half barista/half janitor - Obviously rude customers are a given.

    Starbucks2019-12-02
  4. "Decent student job (part-time)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible schedule - Good staff including the management - Good perks (such as , scholarships, insurances, free drinks, markets etc.) - Clean space - Gain different kind of experience and communication skills

    Cons

    - Might be stressful at time - 5 am shift, and/or the 11+pm close make the life balance difficult - Lots to learn and teach in a shot amount of time (although partners are nice and helpful and of course patient) -

    Advice to Management

    None

    Starbucks2019-09-18
  5. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. Fun co workers. Free drinks/ markout.

    Cons

    SMs don't trust their team. Constant harassment when on sick leave. Bad management. Not enough hours.

    Starbucks2019-07-19
  6. "Barista trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starbucks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's one of the best companies to work with. Great benefits and opportunities to grow!

    Cons

    It's a very fast paced environment and some people might not like it.

    Starbucks2019-02-13
  7. "Shift supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor, Barista Trainer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starbucks part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Great team to work with Sbux perks: benefits, weekly markouts, 30% employee discount, perkopolis Tips

    Cons

    Repetitive work Unnecessary stress from upper management High turnover (constant new team, even managers) Retail (dealing with bad customers)

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure managers put in as much work as the supervisors and baristas do! Having a good competent manager really sets the tone and route to success for the store, because the team WANTS to work hard, not because they’re MICROMANAGED to.

    Starbucks2019-01-18
  8. "Provides a flexible and positive part-time job as a student."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Starbucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There’s lots of energy throughout the cafe, and the schedule is flexible.

    Cons

    Starbucks is a cooperate company where every store has the same high expectations, there isn’t a local feel. Our goal is speed, not always quality.

    Starbucks2019-01-03
  9. "Shift Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor, Barista Trainer in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at Starbucks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good wage and benefits all things considered, good culture, above average coworkers

    Cons

    Depending on the management you could have a terrible experience. Bad scheduling again depending on the management. Extremely difficult to take time off - impossible to call in sick.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring outside hires and promote from within the company!!!

    Starbucks2018-03-06
  10. "Barista Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Trainer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starbucks part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great co-workers - great benefits - always room for growth - compensation is good

    Cons

    - customers take advantage of you sometimes

    Advice to Management

    - none (my manager is by far the best I have ever had)

    Starbucks2018-01-31
Found 280 reviews