Primerica Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Primerica Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Primerica Chief Executive Officer Glen Williams (no image)
Glen Williams
322 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great class experience to earn licenses(in 142 reviews)

  • "It's a great way to make extra part-time income by serving and helping families(in 68 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Be your own boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primerica part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reoccurring Passive income Financial education

    Cons

    Must be dedicated , hard working to start.

    Primerica2020-02-21
  2. "its alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broker 

    I worked at Primerica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is very helpful. hard to make sales

    Cons

    commission based. only make money if you get more sales

    Primerica2020-02-20
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My income is not limited by someone else's view of my worth

    Cons

    Initial startup; somewhat difficult to break the ice with people

    Primerica2020-01-15
  4. "Genuine Crusade to Help Families, Amazing Company & Life Changing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Leader in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing atmosphere and solid ethics & compliance - Professional mentorship, self development and business building - Financial Education and licensing - Doing what is right 100% of the time for people - Right the wrongs in the industry - Opportunities for extremely high income, bonuses and passive income - Flexible hours - Equal Opportunity and full, hands-on training - Equity, Ownership and Stock options - Highly regulated and respected company - Opportunity to start a business and build a company within a company with no limitations. - Travelling, conventions, company incentives and all-expense-paid vacations. - Ability for work with whomever you want in your business, spouses/family/friends - Extremely secure and recession proof industry

    Cons

    - Like any business, It can take time to gain traction, keeping focused is key. - dealing with rejection, you need thick skin - It can get Repetitive, some like this, some don’t. - Dealing with Negative opinions. This is not exactly a con, however its worth mentioning that you need to have a strong conviction in knowing what we do is genuinely beneficial to families everywhere, you need to see for yourself that what we do is right and what you are working towards will benefit you and your family for generations to come. Once you understand where we came from, where we are going, what your goals are and what we have done and continue to do here, you will see why our competition does everything it can to besmirch us and why we just keep pushing forward for the crusade.

    Continue reading
    Primerica2020-01-07
  5. "excellent opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primerica full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    excellent opportunity for growth and development

    Cons

    nothing that i can think of

    Continue reading
    Primerica2019-12-27
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primerica part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great compensation plan for employees

    Cons

    Too many unpaid hours to sustain

    Continue reading
    Primerica2019-11-09
  7. "Selling People The Hope Of Get Rich Early"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Primerica part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Like all sales jobs, the possibility of being exceptional and getting rich or like a pyramid scheme recruiting people who are exceptional and getting a cut. Deduct expenses as tax

    Cons

    Some pretty bad products that hurt costumers. The costumers are your personal relationships, be prepared to lose them when the risky and poorly performing investments bottom out. The primary source of income is recruiting others. Poor pay unless you know some rich people. The job charges you to rent equipment, its not a job if you pay them. The company lies a lot The company is selling the dream of getting rich fast and easy, while they make get rich the easier way from the rank and file.

    Continue reading
    Primerica2019-12-12
  8. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Primerica part-time

    Pros

    Freedom to work on your own time

    Cons

    Passion about your work and have patience

    Primerica2019-10-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Primerica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I spent fifteen months in a contract position at Primerica and found it overall a very good company to work for. Although I was in a contract position I was well treated and included in all of the events and bonuses that were offered to employees. The company is employee oriented and does seem to want to offer the best opportunities to its staff. I regret not pursuing the opportunity to secure my position on a permanent basis once it became available, but will always be grateful for the opportunity that the company provided me with.

    Cons

    With any accounting position there will always be peaks and valleys in the work load. There can be a lot of overtime required at quarter-ends and especially year-end. However I found that management was very accommodating, providing meal allowances, offering time off in lieu, and generally being very appreciative of the work and overtime that was put in.

    Continue reading
    Primerica2019-09-02
  10. "You Will Grow With This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Leader in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Primerica part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training and support. Very clear promotion path. Excellent compensation.

    Cons

    It's tough work and you must continually keep yourself motivated.

    Primerica2019-08-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1014 reviews