Info-Tech Research Group Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Info-Tech Research Group Founder Joel McLean (no image)
Joel McLean
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great company culture(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is mostly respectful of the work-life balance, especially in London research(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Info-Tech Research Group full-time

    Pros

    The culture is amazing and rewarding when you work hard. Everyone truly shares in one another's success while enjoying the work we do. If you are passionate and okay with going the extra mile it is an enjoyable working experience.

    Cons

    Often times (weekly) direction changes on what is the newest priority. Once you learn to live with that and be adaptable you can truly succeed. If you are okay doing the bare minimum you will not fit in well.

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2020-05-11

    Info-Tech Research Group Response

    May 14, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review your feedback will be passed onto the relevant contacts. We recognize that we are fast paced and that changes do happen quickly and often; we are always trying to balance the need to be innovative and to be a disruptor in the space with providing realistic goals and will continue to do so. That said, we will continue to set high expectations and standards for our employees, so that we can continue to build towards being the largest research firm in the world.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging & Rewarding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Information Officer in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing. Many magnificent minds and seldom a selfish soul. I cannot stress this enough; this is the greatest bunch of people I have ever worked with. The culture is second to none. Our offices are incredible and we have an immeasurable amount of fun. (Summer hours, company-wide FunDay, soft close during the holiday break, and parties for individuals, and families, that are epic.) There are limitless possibilities for professional development. If you're interested in doing it or learning about it, we'll train you and give you a shot at it.

    Cons

    We move quickly and don't suffer a fool. There's no hiding. We have a goal and expect everyone to be doing everything in their power to help us achieve it. If you're in, you're in. If you're not, you won't enjoy yourself, or last.

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2020-05-07

    Info-Tech Research Group Response

    May 14, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, we are so happy that you find the business both challenging and rewarding.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Huge workload, low pay, terrible management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some friendly coworkers Mostly nice clients/members Some travel to places you might actually want to visit Good experience for finding work somewhere else

    Cons

    Terrible management - feedback given is unconstructive and non-actionable. No support when dealing with terrible management since no real HR department even though sister company is HR consulting. (The entire HR team quit within a year and they never bothered replacing the head of HR). Unreasonable workload - constantly adding responsibilities without increase in pay or taking away any work. No understanding of personal life and focus solely on how they can push the most work out of you. Complete lack of transparency - everything is weighted and measured and judged but criteria is constantly changing and when there are issues, people involved don't discuss it directly with you, instead have to hear it second or third hand from management who won't tell you exactly what the complaint is or turn it into a constructive conversation. Low pay, Low benefits - pay is a lot lower than other consulting firms and yet they constantly brag about how profitable they are. Benefits are basic with no RRSP matching. Random performance review process that forces percentage of employees to be rated unacceptable. White Boys club - enough said.

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2020-04-16

    Info-Tech Research Group Response

    May 14, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, I would like to take a few moments to respond and clarify a few of your comments. HR Team: I have been with the business for over 6 years and have worked in the HR team that whole time; we started with a small team of 3 and have over the last 6 years steadily grown that function to its current size of 9. I am not sure what period you are referring to when you say 'the entire team quit and they did not replace the VP' as we have a VP, HR and Strategy and then 3 Directors who manage all the day to day. We have seen staffing fluctuations in Talent Acquisition but this is to be expected as the hiring needs of the business go up and down, so do the resource needs. Workloads: We recognise that we set high expectations and have high/exacting standards to meet. We also know that we do pivot our offerings, processes and products frequently to meet the needs of our members and that can all lead to some high work volumes for folks. That said, this approach all this feeds into the way in which we compete with the market and set ourselves apart from our competition. It is this relentless focus on service and product quality, that has lead us to consistent year over year growth and is now allowing us to keep all our employees in jobs, during a global pandemic. It is also why sometimes, last minute needs call for all hands on deck, however we work hard to recognise those people through programs like X factor (peer to peer recognition) and why we provide additional time off incentives to ensure folks do have a work life balance. Transparency will always be a balancing act; making sure we share enough but not too much too early and before ideas are thought through. We will continue to work with the business leaders, to ensure this is balanced and realistic and appreciate your input and comments. Pay: we have moved the needle significantly in areas like IT, Research and Sales increasing top end salary bands in all areas and creating added variable compensation to a number of roles. We cannot address all areas at once as that would not make business sense, but will continue to listen to feedback and review compensation on a regular basis.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid if you can."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in London, ON
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a person that has seen my fair share of tech companies in London, ITRG supplies an amazing perk party at year end, giving gifts to kids and all sorts of fun celebrations around this time of year.

    Cons

    1. Parking is terrible and favoured towards sales members, leaving other staff to pay/fend for them selves in downtown London. No pay reimbursement for the days that you haven’t to pay for it. 2. Old mens club. All management is mainly senior people and will likely stay that way. 3. Back stabbers. Becareful management only looks out for them selves and will toss you to the wind if it will save their butts. 4. Forced social gatherings. If you don’t attend their out of hours social gatherings you will receive not only the stink eye from your management but they will continually harp on you until you do. 5. Company innovation days! These things are a pain And a waste of time. Not only do they force you to join a team which isn’t the worst but, you are expected to contribute regardless of your duration there. 6. Benefits - Kinda a joke, not the worst not the greatest, no RRSP matching last I checked. 7. Thankless! - Becareful they will expect you to work crazy hours and it’ll be thankless. 8. Graphic Designers beware! Owners/VP/CEO’s will pull you around like crazy changing requirements on the fly and expect you to be at their beck and whim regardless of the order they came in. 9. Finally be careful of your health and mental health, they won’t. 10. Huge hypocrites, they don’t practice what they preach

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2020-04-27
  5. "Great Work life Balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Commercial Director in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company to work with and massive learning

    Cons

    None in my experience but really high energy environment

    Info-Tech Research Group2020-02-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do Not Believe What They Say!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people who work there are talented. Unfortunately, they are the ones that are squeezed out or ignored.

    Cons

    The place is run by a sociopath who thinks it is appropriate to drink in the office and run the place like a frat house. The senior leadership (and I'm using air quotes around leadership) does nothing but protect their own jobs and ensure that they are following all of the CEO's crazy and unbelievably insane whims. They do nothing to actually progress the company or protect their employees.

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2020-03-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Caring Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Director/Sales in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Caring, fast paced, can make great salary

    Cons

    Exec team is old boys club, need a shake up, growing too fast

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2020-01-27
  8. "Good Starter Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere All the latest gadgets

    Cons

    Lack of career development (mentorship is at a minimum) Little guidance

    Info-Tech Research Group2019-12-04
  9. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Commercial Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture - Great Salary - Co workers are invested in helping you out -

    Cons

    Initial training is lacking direction.

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2019-12-01

    Info-Tech Research Group Response

    May 14, 2020Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have heard out employees as far as training and L&D and are working on various programs and ideas to help grow out our offerings. We have a dedicated Director L&D who works in the HR team and partners with all division heads to support team training build outs. We are in the process of building out an online set of courses covering key roles for each department, housed on our Learning Management System (LMS).​ Currently, we have 22 courses on core product training on ITRG-U, and are building out process training for each department as well. Finally I am really happy to report that we have added an Employee Assistance Program to our benefits offering, which will accompany the annual $2,000 per employee that can also be used for Therapeutic/Counselling services from a registered practitioner.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Built a great future and have watched so many people grow and build theirs over the past 16 years."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President of Sales in London, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Info-Tech Research Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked for ITRG for over 15 years. I’ve seen a lot of changes and all are for the better. I’ve got to watch a lot of people grow within this organization and build great futures for themselves and their families. The culture is the best part and my friends and family are also they people I work with now. Yes this is hard work. Yes it changes. Yes it provides an opportunity that pays really well. I love my job and I know everyone around me feels the same. It’s not for everyone but that shouldn’t be something people go on here to complain about. Best place to work and I’ve learned more here than I could anywhere else. Plus the memories me and my family have are priceless. Thank you ITRG

    Cons

    That people complain about hard work. That they don’t work with their managers to resolve issues.

    Continue reading
    Info-Tech Research Group2019-11-07
Found 180 reviews