Harris Computer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Harris Computer Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 206 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Harris Computer CEO Jeff Bender
Jeff Bender
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "Business units have a lot of flexibility(in 15 reviews)

  • "In addition I am fortunate enough to work remotely and travel to various locations throughout North America(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "At times, communication needs to be improved when engaging between different business units(in 14 reviews)

  • "Some people complain about work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Journey with Harris"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Harris promotes a culture of providing employees with diverse opportunities for a career path that fits their aspirations and interests. I've played a number of roles along my long and exciting journey and thoroughly enjoyed in each of those roles. Harris is a firm believer of building future leaders from within. The number of vertical markets, products and technology stacks promotes a vibrant ecosystem of cutting edge...

    Show More

    Cons

    Harris does look for highly motivated individuals who are not averse to continuously learn and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Continue empowering and investing in people.

    Harris Computer2019-01-08

    Harris Computer Response

    February 10, 2019Sr. Executive Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We will indeed continue to empower and invest in our employees.

  2. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership Management, Flexibility, Support to Staff, co-workers

    Cons

    Hopefully benefits package gets expanded.

    Harris Computer2019-06-24
  3. "Diversity and Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Software Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The company is very proactive in providing life balance and a great working environment.

      Cons

      The only con I've had to date is the updated policy on registered domestic partners.

      Harris Computer2019-06-10

      Harris Computer Response

      June 18, 2019Head of Organizational Development and Learning

      Thank you for your feedback. Harris is working diligently on Inclusion and Diversity. I reviewed our handbook and reached out to the HR leaders who own the benefits policies and we are unaware of a change to registered domestic partners. Please send an email to weareharris@harriscomputer.com ...

      Show More
    • "Lots of Flexibility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Opportunities for growth Lots of Flexibility Staff Engagement Values that are respected

      Cons

      Pay is not competitive but there are other benefits

      Harris Computer2019-06-06
    • "Project Manager role"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great group of co-workers

      Cons

      Does not have a good work/life balance

      Harris Computer2019-06-07
    • "Marketing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Harris Computer full-time

      Pros

      Good culture, flexible hours, friendly staff, lifestyle rewards, good benefits package, vacation is standard, Jeff Bender is a good leader. Once you are in the company, you have the ability to reach out to people and everyone is open to talking to you.

      Cons

      Can be bureaucratic at times and difficult to implement new initiatives. Slow progress on any social and environmental initiatives. Low pay.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to work on and implement the culture and values at Harris to create an enduring organization.

      Harris Computer2019-05-14

      Harris Computer Response

      June 19, 2019Head of Organizational Development and Learning

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback. We appreciate the advice to continue working on the culture and values, recently the Values Series was added with a monthly focus on one of the core values. I encourage you to join a session!

    • "Fairly Intense, Hard work is rewarded"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Never boring, lots of interesting work. Harris business units (BU's) have great support from their HR department and their CIT department. Excellent stock and RRSP benefits.

      Cons

      Not for everyone. Intense, customer driven work.

      Harris Computer2019-05-15
    • "Technical Support Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Harris Computer full-time

        Pros

        onboarding process, people, HR processes, training

        Cons

        don't have any cons yet!

        Harris Computer2019-04-24
      • Helpful (3)

        "Not worth it in the long run."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        - Flexible hours - Nice environment to start your career

        Cons

        - Pay is way under market value - Management hires the cheapest available employee - Favoritism aimed towards who you know and not your specific skillset - New employes receive no training on the products. - Sales reps are ignorant of the product they sell - Lower management have no prior management experience - Capped RRSP way under what competition was 10 years ago.

        Advice to Management

        - Check your pay scales, you're 20 to 25K under market value - Having your supervisor tell you the only way you'll get a raise is by leaving isn't the way to keep your employes. - You really need to check the definition of corporate bullying

        Harris Computer2019-05-03

        Harris Computer Response

        June 19, 2019Head of Organizational Development and Learning

        Harris compensation is structured differently than many other organizations. We continue to monitor the competitive landscape. You comments around 'bullying' concern me. I understand you have left the organization but I would appreciate the opportunity to have a conversation. ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (3)

        "Fair company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        - Excellent scope of work considering the amount of experience needed. Got exposed to loads of corporate accounting and progressed into a more mid-level role with no designations - Friday lunches - Family friendly, flexible work hours

        Cons

        - Pay is well below market levels - Favoritism aimed towards more mid/senior management - No organic growth. Growth achieved through buying out smaller companies and gutting them - No mentorship for improvement, have to do what feels like stepping on toes to try and get new work/guidance

        Advice to Management

        Look at your pay scales. Even increasing base salaries by $5k would do wonders for lowering turnover and getting more out of employees.

        Harris Computer2019-04-26
      Found 206 reviews