Harris Computer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Harris Computer Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 220 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Harris Computer CEO Jeff Bender
Jeff Bender
142 Ratings
Pros
  • "Business units have a lot of flexibility(in 17 reviews)

  • "In addition I am fortunate enough to work remotely and travel to various locations throughout North America(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "At times, communication needs to be improved when engaging between different business units(in 15 reviews)

  • "Does not have a good work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Journey with Harris"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Harris promotes a culture of providing employees with diverse opportunities for a career path that fits their aspirations and interests. I've played a number of roles along my long and exciting journey and thoroughly enjoyed in each of those roles. Harris is a firm believer of building future leaders from within. The number of vertical markets, products and technology stacks promotes a vibrant ecosystem of cutting edge...

    Show More

    Cons

    Harris does look for highly motivated individuals who are not averse to continuously learn and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Continue empowering and investing in people.

    Harris Computer2019-01-08

    Harris Computer Response

    February 10, 2019Sr. Executive Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We will indeed continue to empower and invest in our employees.

  2. "The truth about Harris!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales & Operations in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time

    Pros

    Harris is one of the leading companies to work for. They encourage employee growth, developing tomorrows leaders. Company culture and values. Company growth/success. Flexible work hours, work at home, remote. Knowledgeable team members. Work/Life balance is an important factor at Harris. Friday Breakfast is a great time catching up with team members.

    Cons

    Don't have anything negative to share.

    Harris Computer2019-07-15
  3. "Technical Support for Hopem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Rimouski, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn new things.

    Cons

    Software should be more tested before pushed a new update.

    Harris Computer2019-07-23
  4. "Good company for those looking to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Nice Benefits Nice work culture (Calglary Cognera Office)

    Cons

    Financial compensation is lacking relative to other companies and industries. Can sometime cause the company to lose valuable employees. Somewhat rigid/red tape corporate hierarchy Can be a disconnect between local business units and corporate.

    Harris Computer2019-07-04
  5. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership Management, Flexibility, Support to Staff, co-workers

    Cons

    Hopefully benefits package gets expanded.

    Harris Computer2019-06-24
  6. "Great Company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Very friendly management and staff from the CEO down to regular employees -management is flexible with its employees and understandable of personal circumstances -Work atmosphere is very nice -you learn a lot working there

    Cons

    -pay is not competitive -no/rare training programs to advance your skills

    Harris Computer2019-07-06
  7. "Diversity and Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is very proactive in providing life balance and a great working environment.

    Cons

    The only con I've had to date is the updated policy on registered domestic partners.

    Harris Computer2019-06-10

    Harris Computer Response

    June 18, 2019Head of Organizational Development and Learning

    Thank you for your feedback. Harris is working diligently on Inclusion and Diversity. I reviewed our handbook and reached out to the HR leaders who own the benefits policies and we are unaware of a change to registered domestic partners. Please send an email to weareharris@harriscomputer.com ...

    Show More
  8. "Lots of Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth Lots of Flexibility Staff Engagement Values that are respected

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive but there are other benefits

    Harris Computer2019-06-06
  9. "Project Manager role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of co-workers

    Cons

    Does not have a good work/life balance

    Harris Computer2019-06-07
  10. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, flexible hours, friendly staff, lifestyle rewards, good benefits package, vacation is standard, Jeff Bender is a good leader. Once you are in the company, you have the ability to reach out to people and everyone is open to talking to you.

    Cons

    Can be bureaucratic at times and difficult to implement new initiatives. Slow progress on any social and environmental initiatives. Low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to work on and implement the culture and values at Harris to create an enduring organization.

    Harris Computer2019-05-14

    Harris Computer Response

    June 19, 2019Head of Organizational Development and Learning

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback. We appreciate the advice to continue working on the culture and values, recently the Values Series was added with a monthly focus on one of the core values. I encourage you to join a session!

Found 220 reviews