Harris Computer Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Harris Computer CEO Jeff Bender
Jeff Bender
266 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great programs in place to enhance the work/life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, perks & holidays(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Because Harris is such a big company with many different business units company processes can be long-winded(in 16 reviews)

  • "poor work-life balance, low salary, employees overloaded(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      My first 90 Days

      Mar 18, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fully remote - Great benefits/vacation time - Small team feel, large corporate - I feel trusted by my boss and team - A lot of opportunity I have worked for a large corporation and felt miserable by the uniformity of everything. I was very restrictive, I wasn't listened to, and could not wait to leave. I also worked for a small company and I loved the feel of the team, the trust they gave me, but hated there wasn't much opportunity to grow. So far, I love Harris. I work with a "small" team but there is a great deal of opportunity within corporate.

      Cons

      I personally love being fully remote, so it isn't a con for me. You will be working with some remote people, and I know some people don't love that (post pandemic).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Harris Computer

      Apr 9, 2021 - Functional Leader in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Harris is an equal opportunity company. I feel valued as an employee and my input was valued. Harris has invest in my certification and promoted me to the role as a Project Manager. Management always check on the well being of the employee and as a result I feel fortunate to be part of the Harris Team. This is by far the best company I ever worked for.

      Cons

      No Paid parking for employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      They actually want their employees to succeed!

      May 7, 2021 - Director, Client Services in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have amazing development plans for employees interested in moving up or just expanding their knowledge. The positive encouragement and coaching has allowed me to move up from an entry level position to Director level within 2 years. You can go as far as you want as long as you put in the effort! They have a proven business plan. Our business unit was struggling before Harris came in. Within a year we were one of the most profitable units.

      Cons

      Unfortunately a reality of being acquired means the business is assessed with the goal of making it profitable (not re-selling it). Changes comes with this assessment of course. If you can weather the initial flurry of adjustments it's only upwards from there!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Buzzwords, smoke and mirrors

      Feb 18, 2021 - Business Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, remote work possible, Okay benefits, stable company

      Cons

      - Salaries about 25% below market average. - Don't ever expect anything more than cost of living raises, even in the case of a "promotion" - Impossible to attain objectives. Compensation & commissions contract basically rigged to never meet objectives and always pay the bare minimum, and with caps to make sure large lucrative sales don't pay too much commission. Use of dishonest tactics to rig the odds - VP's and EVP's ruling with an iron fist, not listening to the individual B.U's recommendations and visions from experienced employees to the detriment of morale - Company culture's extreme overuse of corporate buzzwords and platitudes I.E: "I want solutions, not problems" when voicing concerns or "hollistically leverage our synergies to maximize corporate brand trajectory" - Advancements & promotions given based on diversity quotas and personal relationship with VP's or EVP's rather than merit or competency. It's a management carousel with constant restructuring and very high turnover. - Zero re-investment in the individual B.U's is a challenge: all the profits go up to Harris buy new businesses, so growth is severely compromised: can't hire staff even if desperately needed, and all that counts is "milking the B.U's for all their worth".

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Opportunities for growth, good management and perks, low salary

      May 5, 2021 - Sales and Marketing Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Respectful and friendly colleagues, supportive management and executives, opportunities for professional development and growth within your business unit or in vertical business units. Annual Christmas Party and bonuses, and good benefits,

      Cons

      Low salary compared to competitors and company culture could improve or match competitors (corporate social and environmental strategy)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Company that Cares

      Apr 28, 2021 - Marketing Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for Harris has been an amazing experience thus far. The employees work together like a family, and everybody is willing to help you if you need it. Flexible hours and workplace, great benefits, and friendly coworkers make this one of the best IT companies to work for, period.

      Cons

      Compensation could always be hire, but that's about it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Attentive to employees needs

      May 10, 2021 - Project Coordinator in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Creative Freedom Make an Impact People Like You Money

      Cons

      Technical Issues always rebooting computers or programs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      All words, no action, horrible pay and over working employees across all BUs is motto

      Mar 4, 2021 - Sales Management in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great core values... on paper Many HR programs for health and wellbeing, cause we need it Work from home but these days that's an easy one to find Some really great and talented people. You learn a great deal from minimal resources available to do your job.

      Cons

      This company really pays their employees pennies that's clear. The salaries are disgraceful for the workload they demand During covid-19 HR sends out a great deal of communications from Management outlining support and options of flexibility however the workloads and expectations from managers are unrealistic. C level execs convey mgmt message and harp on it but don't actually stand by it - example :Focus, do 3 things really well and let the other stuff go... Good luck trying to tell your superior that. One-one meetings have piles of work added. 90% of my job was a waste of time, worked on so many projects that just fell by the way side. Advancement is clearly about friendships, and exhibits favoritism throughout and not about commitment, skill and experience.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Supportive and Value Based Culture

      Apr 21, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are multiple Diversity and Inclusion initiatives - Respect of the Individual is a one of the Harris Values.

      Cons

      Sometimes difficult to coordinate initiatives across Harris completely, with multiple timezones and availability

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Harris Computer Response

      Head of Organizational Development and Learning

      Thank you for recognizing our values and continued focus on I&D. I agree that coordination across all of Harris is challenging at times and balancing autonomy with consistent employee experience is always a challenge but one we take very seriously. Please keep sharing your ideas!

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work

      May 4, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, flexible working hours.

      Cons

      Low compensation, employees are often overloaded

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 364 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Harris Computer Job Seekers

    Executive Vice President
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Quality Assurance (QA) Analyst
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Harris Computer? Share Your Experiences

    Harris Computer logo
    or