Harris Computer Reviews in Ottawa, ON | Glassdoor.ca

Harris Computer Ottawa Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Harris Computer CEO Jeff Bender
Jeff Bender
12 Ratings
  1. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice-President, Finance in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment, with multiple opportunities for personal growth. The Harris values are not just nice words on the wall, they are a touchstone for every employee, and are referred to constantly. Senior management are impressive in their relentless focus on continuous improvement, while at the same time empowering employees and providing everyone with plenty of autonomy.

    Cons

    Not a con per se, but if you do not share the values, you will find out relatively quickly you are not in the right organization for you..

    Harris Computer2019-09-12
  2. "Great Experience but with low Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company Environment and good work experience

    Cons

    Other Companies pay more than what harris pays.

    Harris Computer2019-09-10
  3. "Great Company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Very friendly management and staff from the CEO down to regular employees -management is flexible with its employees and understandable of personal circumstances -Work atmosphere is very nice -you learn a lot working there

    Cons

    -pay is not competitive -no/rare training programs to advance your skills

    Harris Computer2019-07-06
  4. "Lots of Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth Lots of Flexibility Staff Engagement Values that are respected

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive but there are other benefits

    Harris Computer2019-06-06
  5. "Good spot for a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Ar Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer for less than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers, Friendly managers, Helpful staff

    Cons

    Low pay, I felt like I was just as valuable as others and getting paid a lot less

    Advice to Management

    Management does a great job in my opinion, at least the managers I worked for

    Harris Computer2019-05-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Excellent scope of work considering the amount of experience needed. Got exposed to loads of corporate accounting and progressed into a more mid-level role with no designations - Friday lunches - Family friendly, flexible work hours

    Cons

    - Pay is well below market levels - Favoritism aimed towards more mid/senior management - No organic growth. Growth achieved through buying out smaller companies and gutting them - No mentorship for improvement, have to do what feels like stepping on toes to try and get new work/guidance

    Advice to Management

    Look at your pay scales. Even increasing base salaries by $5k would do wonders for lowering turnover and getting more out of employees.

    Harris Computer2019-04-26
  7. "Computer Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large company, lots of opportunity for moving to other verticals

    Cons

    Continuous OPEX adjustment, reduction in workforce, management carousel

    Harris Computer2019-03-22
  8. "Good place to start to gain experience but low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are quite good Vacation: 3 weeks after 1 year and 4 weeks after 3 full years working in their calendar year. 5 Personal days, bereavement days available upon manager's discretion Work from home sometimes. (ask for laptop to make it easier to work from home) Yearly corporate day (get together with all corporate staff with activities and party). CFO (new guy who started in late 2016 seems good)

    Cons

    Salary caps (a/r & a/p clerks $35k-40k). This is low compared to a lot of other companies. Can be quite noisy in certain places of the office especially in the a/r & a/p section where you are up to 32 people working in cubicles in the same area. Some people don't respect others and are always loud. Possibility to move up but limited space depending on which department you work in. Some business units are... poorly managed. They would rather hire cheaply than give a good employee a salary increase. (tried twice and got max pay in my position only the 1st time after working more than 4 years here) CEO (not very friendly)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise your salary caps. You keep talking at every corporate event how much more you made since the previous year, but employees don't see any of it for most staff. Offer more to keep employees who've been there long instead of always hire cheap, new staff. This doesn't help the business units to be efficient. Hence why there is a lot of turnover. Allow staff and maybe even encourage staff to work from home when the... job is possible to do from home. I was able to do it and my work never deteriorated. Promote more social activities to let the office get to know each other more.

    Show More
    Harris Computer2018-08-09
  9. "Young fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A/R in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Employees, competitive benefits, and great work Enviroment

    Cons

    Not close enough to my home.

    Harris Computer2017-11-30
  10. "Smaller business units with a strong corporate backbone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth or horizontal movement across the Business Units. Strong processes that help drive financial stability at the company. Mostly good people, with a pretty relaxed culture allowing a lot of work/life flexibility.

    Cons

    Some people complain about work/life balance. I think there are two conflicting ideas that they are pushing on some Business Units, one being to be innovative and grow the company organically, which seems at odds with the other, to be 100% billable (or close enough).

    Advice to Management

    Lower pressure on hitting financial targets... invest in your employees and allow them the time to be creative and develop new and innovative products that will drive organic growth.

    Harris Computer2017-09-26
Found 18 reviews