Harris Computer Reviews in Ottawa, ON | Glassdoor.ca

Harris Computer Ottawa Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Harris Computer CEO Jeff Bender
Jeff Bender
10 Ratings
  1. "Lots of Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth Lots of Flexibility Staff Engagement Values that are respected

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive but there are other benefits

    Harris Computer2019-06-06
  2. "Great Company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Infrastructure Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Very friendly management and staff from the CEO down to regular employees -management is flexible with its employees and understandable of personal circumstances -Work atmosphere is very nice -you learn a lot working there

    Cons

    -pay is not competitive -no/rare training programs to advance your skills

    Harris Computer2019-07-06
  3. "Good spot for a Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ar Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer for less than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers, Friendly managers, Helpful staff

    Cons

    Low pay, I felt like I was just as valuable as others and getting paid a lot less

    Advice to Management

    Management does a great job in my opinion, at least the managers I worked for

    Harris Computer2019-05-17
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Excellent scope of work considering the amount of experience needed. Got exposed to loads of corporate accounting and progressed into a more mid-level role with no designations - Friday lunches - Family friendly, flexible work hours

    Cons

    - Pay is well below market levels - Favoritism aimed towards more mid/senior management - No organic growth. Growth achieved through buying out smaller companies and gutting them - No mentorship for improvement, have to do what feels like stepping on toes to try and get new work/guidance

    Advice to Management

    Look at your pay scales. Even increasing base salaries by $5k would do wonders for lowering turnover and getting more out of employees.

    Harris Computer2019-04-26
  5. "Computer Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large company, lots of opportunity for moving to other verticals

    Cons

    Continuous OPEX adjustment, reduction in workforce, management carousel

    Harris Computer2019-03-22
  6. "Good place to start to gain experience but low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable Clerk in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Computer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are quite good Vacation: 3 weeks after 1 year and 4 weeks after 3 full years working in their calendar year. 5 Personal days, bereavement days available upon manager's discretion Work from home sometimes. (ask for laptop to make it easier to work from home) Yearly corporate day (get together with all corporate staff with activities and party). CFO (new guy who started in late 2016 seems good)

    Cons

    Salary caps (a/r & a/p clerks $35k-40k). This is low compared to a lot of other companies. Can be quite noisy in certain places of the office especially in the a/r & a/p section where you are up to 32 people working in cubicles in the same area. Some people don't respect others and are always loud. Possibility to move up but limited space depending on which department you work in. Some business units are poorly...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise your salary caps. You keep talking at every corporate event how much more you made since the previous year, but employees don't see any of it for most staff. Offer more to keep employees who've been there long instead of always hire cheap, new staff. This doesn't help the business units to be efficient. Hence why there is a lot of turnover. Allow staff and maybe even encourage staff to work from home when the job...

    Show More
    Harris Computer2018-08-09
  7. "Young fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A/R in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Employees, competitive benefits, and great work Enviroment

    Cons

    Not close enough to my home.

    Harris Computer2017-11-30
  8. "Smaller business units with a strong corporate backbone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth or horizontal movement across the Business Units. Strong processes that help drive financial stability at the company. Mostly good people, with a pretty relaxed culture allowing a lot of work/life flexibility.

    Cons

    Some people complain about work/life balance. I think there are two conflicting ideas that they are pushing on some Business Units, one being to be innovative and grow the company organically, which seems at odds with the other, to be 100% billable (or close enough).

    Advice to Management

    Lower pressure on hitting financial targets... invest in your employees and allow them the time to be creative and develop new and innovative products that will drive organic growth.

    Harris Computer2017-09-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great & Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time

    Pros

    - flexible work hours - ability to work from home when needed - large company that feels small - pretty much everyone is friendly, helpful, smart, etc. - RRSP match, free parking, good overall comp.

    Cons

    - Spent a few minutes trying to come up with some...don't have any

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you've been doing

    Harris Computer2017-06-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Harris - why you should work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Computer full-time

    Pros

    I have been an employee for over 10 years and I can honestly say that our values are not something that we just put up on our website or office walls but they are who we are.

    Cons

    Harris may not be for everyone, however if you want to be part of a great company that exceeds in the growth and empowerment of its employee's - it maybe the right company for you.

    Harris Computer2017-06-06
Found 16 reviews