Glassdoor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Glassdoor Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
445 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 66 reviews)

  • "flexibility with working from home when needed, and a culture of great people who love your children and embrace them as part of the Glassdoor family(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "growing pains on the technical side(in 43 reviews)

  • "The company has expanded into two buildings in Mill Valley(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (105)

    "4 years in and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor is the favorite company I've worked for so far in my career. First and foremost, the company has an amazing company culture. People are really good to one another here. While people are smart and driven, they also care about making sure that everyone works together well. Glassdoor is also having a lot of success as a company. Like any early stage company there are ups and downs, but over the 4 years I've been here I've seen revenue triple and the employee base grow by a similar amount. And I love Glassdoor's mission and that we are creating transparency for job seekers all around the world.

    Cons

    None really. It's worth saying that we have some big competitors (LinkedIn, Indeed) in our industry so you have to bring your A-game. But I believe in what we're doing and our results show we are having success.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-04-29
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Found a job and company I love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Learning opportunities: I feel tremendously lucky to be in a job where I learn something new everyday and where my team encourages me to experiment, learn and develop. I was also able to switch teams internally and I'm very thankful to my managers for giving me the opportunity. - Mission: I joined Glassdoor because I believe in the mission and it's kept me motivated to tough it out during rough patches at work. Almost every employee can recite the company mission word-for-word and it feels so great to hear positive stories from users who've been helped by our work. - Manager/leadership: My manager is great, constantly gives me good feedback and advocates for us constantly. I have a lot of confidence in my department leadership; I feel like they really take our feedback to heart. - People & culture: The people are great and the culture is very welcoming and friendly. I really enjoy working with my team and have a lot of respect for the teammates, mentors and leaders I've met here. - Work/life balance: My manager & team leaders very actively promote flexibility, making sure we can WFH when needed or that we aren't checking email when on vacation (unlimited PTO too!).

    Cons

    - Small company with growing pains: We're working on getting processes and operations in place to scale, but there are definitely growing pains—priority pivots, under-resourcing, immature formal mentorship/training, etc. - Technical growing pains: There's also growing pains on the technical side. Data accessibility is a constant issue—#1 day-to-day frustration for me. - Post-acquisition plan: I think we're still finding our footing. There's been a fair amount of turnover as we reorient towards the next big milestone. - Experience varies by team: While some teams are doing great, others are struggling. It can be slow to rectify under-resourcing because of budget, management, etc.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-10-29
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Great company, takes care of their people. Gives us the tools we need to succeed.

    Cons

    Company is growing and are experiencing typical growing pains

    Glassdoor2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Still Feeling the Culture After 5 Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I have been at Glassdoor for close to 5 years, and have seen a lot of growth and changes. -Taken together, Glassdoor is the best place I have ever worked. The culture is friendly but very smart, without huge egos getting in the way of our mission. My team is like a family to me, and overall the culture is empathetic, collaborative, and positive. -As a startup, people at Glassdoor were attracted by our mission to help people find a job and company that they love. Although we have grown dramatically during my time here, our CEO has been a north star for our culture, preserving it despite turnover, setbacks, growth, and successes. -Overall, the acquisition of the company by Recruit Holdings was a net positive for employees. Many long-time employees were handsomely rewarded by their cashed out stock options. It was honorable of the company to continue to pay out options after the acquisition, and showed the CEO's respect for employees. -Little has changed in the company since the acquisition. There have been no layoffs, no major operational changes, and even a few efficiencies on the engineering side from better coordination with our sister companies. -There were substantial pay raises for most employees after the acquisition, which brought up pay to SF Bay Area market rates. My comp today is even or above most competitors for similar roles. -We have preserved our great benefits package despite our growth and maturity as an employer. We still offer unlimited vacation, free lunch (in Mill Valley at least) and pretty terrific health coverage. -People with families are encouraged to take time off, and work flexibly to make sure their home responsibilities are covered. People work hard, but there is not a "spend 10 hours at your desk" culture here -- people work from home, take meetings via Zoom, communicate via Slack, and get the same amount of work done while also creating space for home life. -The company HQ is moving to SF in Fall 2020 (finally) which will dramatically improve commutes for many employees and will help us with recruiting SF talent as well. Marin is beautiful, but there is a reason no other major tech players have offices here -- there is no commercial real estate, no one can afford to live in Marin except execs, there are fires + flooding + power outages in Marin regularly, and you are on an island far away from SF making casual networking impossible. It's time for Glassdoor to put on its big-boy pants and finally move into the city like a real company -- that's finally happening now.

    Cons

    -My impression of our Product and Engineering orgs after 5 years here is that they are fairly conservative and slow-moving. We are behind the curve technically in many areas, and our roadmaps move really slowly. I don't know what the solution is, but lack of innovation on product and engineering are a serious long-term problem we face. -We are a tiny player in our competitive space, and that's not changing much over time. That lack of rapid upward momentum in terms of our business is very different than in the early years here, and it's sometimes hard to stay motivated without big growth prospects in the future. My team is growing really slowly (if at all) and feels like treading water sometimes. -I think we are moving too slowly in moving our HQ into San Francisco. For too long our physical location has been unduly influenced (in my opinion) by where our executive team has chosen to buy homes. Most employees are in SF or East Bay, not Marin, and there is a huge disconnect between the personal interests of execs who would like a short commute and the majority of the talent base who bears the cost of long commutes, lack of quality public transit, and unaffordable real estate for us to be in Marin. If we want to be a real company, we need to act like one and move to where the talent is -- not where our exec team wants to have a pleasant lifestyle (and can afford to live). -Our data infrastructure is not great. This is a hard problem to solve, at least with current leadership on the relevant teams. But other tech companies have figured this out, and we could do better. Data is too slow, not well documented, not widely accessible, and hard for product managers and business decision makers to get access to.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-10-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Finance Team is Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    You will be hard pressed to find a finance team that cares more about its people. Tons of opportunities for growth in a rapidly expanding global company. The people and culture are wonderful.

    Cons

    They operate at bare minimum staff and are wait too long to open new roles. Work life balance is sometimes a challenge as a result but the leaders are working hard to fix that and build out the team.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-10-19
  6. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Glassdoor

    Pros

    A great place to work. Excellent benefits. You'll get bonuses every year if you do your job well.

    Cons

    Dinosaur. Moves very slowly. It's very hard to stand out and make your way to the top.

    Glassdoor2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (23)

    "A critical inflection point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits program, casual office, free snacks, tons of events and happy hours. Great existing product that works really well, and some of the best people you'll ever work with.

    Cons

    Glassdoor is in the critical stages of post-startup mode. The acquisition by Recruit Holdings was supposed to provide the financial backing and fuel needed to accelerate the already high growth the company was experiencing. Instead it's left the organization in a sea of turnover (particularly in leadership) and left boots on the ground employees with far more questions than answers. For a company who's entire existence is centered around employer transparency, internal communications are impressively opaque. Changes continue to be communicated last minute and fundamental business issues go months without any updates from leadership. As someone on the sales team, the 4 departments that support sales efforts (being Marketing, Product, Sales Operations, and Sales Enablement) are all woefully incompetent and mismanaged. Marketing has no idea how to string together grammatically correct sentences, let alone educate employers on our unique value proposition. Product has finally pushed forward 1 meaningful update to the solution that we can sell, the first in the nearly 19 months I worked here. I legitimately have no idea what they do all day. Sales Operations is constantly understaffed and stuck under inefficient manual processes that keep them constantly behind on their caseload while basic pieces of our Salesforce instance fail to work properly. Sales Enablement is either spending their time running trainings that are either totally redundant or of little value, or they are doing seemingly nothing at all. We went more than 9 months as a team without a single training run by Enablement until they were finally able to scrape together enough budget to bring in an outside sales trainer for 1 day. Meanwhile, the company is struggling to maintain sales volume and seems to have no answer to this problem. Most managers are still running 1 on 1 meetings with their direct reports that have little substance. Very little is going on in terms of coaching and development, just a lot of people relying on the same old strategies that no longer work. As a result, a lot of their best employees have left the company for greener pastures.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-09-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to grow your career, interested to see what's next..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I spent a large chunk of years growing my career at Glassdoor. From the start my colleagues became fast friends, mentors, and long lasting relationships. It was (and still is) super easy to find a manager who will invest in you, or a dedicated mentor, or a leader from another department that will help you grow your career. Some of the best people leaders are at Glassdoor: intuitive, kind, understanding people, and most who are leading responsibly, gently guiding reps to be consistent and dedicated to success. Career growth, especially in the beginning of my time was accessible in every way. There are more processes in place now, but if you have a strong reputation and work hard, it will get recognized. Leaders have always put my best interests and asks first, building trust and loyalty. If you have been burned by managers in the past, come here and gain a more positive experience.

    Cons

    Glassdoor has become an interesting place in the last year. In Chicago, there is plenty of growth, excitement and proactive dedication to culture and unity. As employees move up in the organization, there is more and more flexibility to your schedule and process, especially in sales. This can be good/bad at the same time. At the Enterprise level, it was difficult to feel motivated to hold yourself to a higher standard, to continue growing in your sales skills or trial out new processes, which may just be the stage the company is at. From an organizational perspective, in terms of trajectory, Glassdoor’s future seems fuzzy. I often found myself feeling like we are plateauing. Product hasn’t developed in years (truly), and senior leaders come and go, which can be difficult news to hear in the Bay Area specifically. Tenured employees, including leaders, seem checked out. Yet, I believe leadership recognizes this and are looking to step up their game, but need insight and outside resources to understand as to how to make a large culture shift like this.

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-10-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is an incredible place to work. Everybody is helpful, welcoming and makes you feel like you're part of a family. Huge room to grow your career. The products themselves are brilliant, and help people find jobs and companies that they love so you feel like your work has a great impact on everyone who uses Glassdoor. The company is relatively small compared to competitors. This allows for agile improvements to respond to the market without having the bureaucracy of a large company.

    Cons

    There is nothing I can call out as being a negative!

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-09-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    - great benefits (hours, PTO, insurance, parental leave policy) - amazing people, unlike any other. it's like working with all your close friends - fun office events - good sales tools to help you be successful

    Cons

    - pay is super below market - accounts are all ripped through, blasting the same people over and over - little to no training - distant from HQ, no interactions with senior leadership - cross functional teams all disconnected (sdr --> ae --> am)

    Continue reading
    Glassdoor2019-10-03
Found 536 reviews