Glassdoor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Glassdoor Reviews

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 528 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
440 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning(in 64 reviews)

  • "flexibility with working from home when needed, and a culture of great people who love your children and embrace them as part of the Glassdoor family(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are growing pains as the company continues to evolve(in 41 reviews)

  • "The company has expanded into two buildings in Mill Valley(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (97)

    "4 years in and going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor is the favorite company I've worked for so far in my career. First and foremost, the company has an amazing company culture. People are really good to one another here. While people are smart and driven, they also care about making sure that everyone works together well. Glassdoor is also having a lot of success as a company. Like any early stage company there are ups and downs, but over the 4 years... I've been here I've seen revenue triple and the employee base grow by a similar amount. And I love Glassdoor's mission and that we are creating transparency for job seekers all around the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    None really. It's worth saying that we have some big competitors (LinkedIn, Indeed) in our industry so you have to bring your A-game. But I believe in what we're doing and our results show we are having success.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on company culture even as we grow.

    Glassdoor2019-04-29
  2. "Incredible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is an incredible place to work. Everybody is helpful, welcoming and makes you feel like you're part of a family. Huge room to grow your career. The products themselves are brilliant, and help people find jobs and companies that they love so you feel like your work has a great impact on everyone who uses Glassdoor. The company is relatively small compared to competitors. This allows for agile improvements to... respond to the market without having the bureaucracy of a large company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is nothing I can call out as being a negative!

    Advice to Management

    Continue on the path you've laid out, things are working so well!

    Glassdoor2019-09-23
  3. "Great Company, Uncertain Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding Senior Leadership, particularly in the Enterprise space. There are wonderful people in every part of the organization - the entire workforce is committed to the company's wonderful mission of connecting everyone with a job that they love. There is also incredible work/life balance.

    Cons

    Rapidly deteriorating internal processes - particularly Sales Ops along with some functions such as legal and finance - that ultimately inhibit sales rather than enable them. Some of these orgs are understaffed, too many of these processes exist in slack channels that aren't responsive. Strategically, there is too much of an emphasis on the Customer Success and Self Serve functions and not nearly enough focus on... further product development and innovation that will help sales land new logos and help account management grow existing business. Lastly, the LTIPS are not the least bit meaningful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Less focus on Self Serve - MUCH more on how to best enable Enterprise New Business & Account Management.

    Glassdoor2019-09-18
  4. "A critical inflection point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits program, casual office, free snacks, tons of events and happy hours. Great existing product that works really well, and some of the best people you'll ever work with.

    Cons

    Glassdoor is in the critical stages of post-startup mode. The acquisition by Recruit Holdings was supposed to provide the financial backing and fuel needed to accelerate the already high growth the company was experiencing. Instead it's left the organization in a sea of turnover (particularly in leadership) and left boots on the ground employees with far more questions than answers. For a company who's entire... existence is centered around employer transparency, internal communications are impressively opaque. Changes continue to be communicated last minute and fundamental business issues go months without any updates from leadership. As someone on the sales team, the 4 departments that support sales efforts (being Marketing, Product, Sales Operations, and Sales Enablement) are all woefully incompetent and mismanaged. Marketing has no idea how to string together grammatically correct sentences, let alone educate employers on our unique value proposition. Product has finally pushed forward 1 meaningful update to the solution that we can sell, the first in the nearly 19 months I worked here. I legitimately have no idea what they do all day. Sales Operations is constantly understaffed and stuck under inefficient manual processes that keep them constantly behind on their caseload while basic pieces of our Salesforce instance fail to work properly. Sales Enablement is either spending their time running trainings that are either totally redundant or of little value, or they are doing seemingly nothing at all. We went more than 9 months as a team without a single training run by Enablement until they were finally able to scrape together enough budget to bring in an outside sales trainer for 1 day. Meanwhile, the company is struggling to maintain sales volume and seems to have no answer to this problem. Most managers are still running 1 on 1 meetings with their direct reports that have little substance. Very little is going on in terms of coaching and development, just a lot of people relying on the same old strategies that no longer work. As a result, a lot of their best employees have left the company for greener pastures.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Glassdoor has an awesome mission, a great product, and a great culture. But if you don't start investing more in your employees and leadership and find ways to stop regrettable turnover, you'll lose your opportunity to become just as essential as your major competitors (and sister company) are to employers and job seekers.

    Glassdoor2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (54)

    "Glassdoor changed my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Glassdoor was my first job right out of college. I moved to a new city where I didn't know many people. The reason why I wanted to work at Glassdoor was that I believed in the product and it was something that was useful to me in my job search. Little did I know that a short three years later I would be looking back at my decision to accept my first job at Glassdoor as one of the best decisions of my life. Many of... my closest friends were made through my time on various teams throughout the Glassdoor organization. I know every review says it...but the best part of Glassdoor is truly the people. - Career Progression - There are plenty of opportunities for promotions for top performers. If you work hard and stand out, you absolutely will be moved from role to role quickly. -Strong Managers- I've had four managers at Glassdoor and every single one of them has been wonderful. -Compensation- Top performers are compensated like top performers. The ability to both hit and exceed quota is very real and can be accomplished by anyone who is willing to put in the work. -Benefits- Top of the line (and free) health/dental benefits with a ton of fun stuff around the office. Snacks, beer, ping pong, and darts. -Work/Life Balance- Amazing flexibility based on manager and position. Employees are treated like adults and allowed to WFH or take PTO when needed.

    Show More

    Cons

    Any company has cons no matter how great it is. Glassdoor has always done a good job taking feedback both from public reviews and internal feedback and laying out a plan to make changes. However, it sometimes takes longer to accept/see the issues and put into place fixes since we've grown so quickly. -Sales Operations- Many of our systems are very, very, very broken. This can occasionally lead to over or... underpayments that you as an employee you have to watch out for. This SEEMS to be getting better lately and I know is top priority to be fixed this fiscal year. -Billing Department- As a sales rep, your compensation is tied to your clients paying (or not paying) your bills. This means that you are often times working with the Billing Department to resolve payment issues for clients. Our Billing Department is painfully understaffed and emails/Slack messages go unanswered for weeks creating tough situations with clients who expect resolutions quickly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting your people first, we all love you for it. Focus on the Billing Department, we're losing revenue due to a lack of accountability and responsiveness. Put people into Sales Operations leadership positions who have experience setting up and managing our systems. You've clearly noticed the issues and seem to be on the right track.

    Glassdoor2019-02-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Very strong mission which we all believe in, working towards more transparency when applying for jobs. The people are great to work with and management are inspiring, particularly the CEO. The pay and bonus structure is strong and targets seem achievable. Really nice offices throughout, particularly in Chicago. Get to work with amazing clients with a truly fantastic product, its enjoyable to talk about Glassdoor... all day, especially as I completely believe in all that they stand for.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of people banging the drum here but benefits in the UK need to get better to encourage people join/stay, they currently aren't in line with other tech firms of this type. Most countries outside UK at Glassdoor seem to have unlimited PTO including Ireland, but in London we have only 25 days, why is this? Maternity pay in the UK is really poor also, which does not support females in this role when starting a... family, which ultimately will not support a diverse female environment in the office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To act on consistent employee views for equality across benefits Globally.

    Glassdoor2019-08-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Everything you could ask for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Services Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -competitive benefits (401K with match!) -generous PTO that you can actually use -comfy office with frequent surprise catering/games/amenities -lots of room for career growth if you know where to look -stellar culture with lots of fun, genuine people

    Cons

    -high volume of work with tight resources, especially during end of year

    Advice to Management

    Leadership for TS/Support has been consistent in setting goals/expectations for the teams and acting on our feedback. They are a model for what managers should be!

    Glassdoor2019-07-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good working environment so far

    Cons

    Nothing so far you wouldn't find anywhere else

    Glassdoor2019-08-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "We need a better internal interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for internal candidates to be interviewed for promotions and cross functional opportunities

    Cons

    We do not treat our internal candidates the same as external candidates. Not only was it a multi-month long process but the recruiters paid no attention to the process. The recruiter actually missed our first "interview" with no explanation. It was a less than pleasing process from there. While they provided interview prep, which was welcomed, there was no follow up after any interviews and no expectations set for... timelines or feedback. I love working at Glassdoor but if this was an external candidate, this would be a horrible process and first impression.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We treat our employees outstanding and this should be translated to the internal interview process as well.

    Glassdoor2019-08-12

    Glassdoor Response

    August 14, 2019Global Head of Talent Acquisition

    I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and appreciate you giving us the feedback. We completely agree we need a better process for our internal interviews, and are in fact working on developing a process this quarter to ensure our internal employees are treated wonderfully ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A review of my 1st tour of duty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Enterprise Account Manager in Rocklin, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Mission Colleagues Managers C Suite Work Life Balance Autonomy World Class CSMs Remote Work Clients SWAG Team/Tier Events Life long friends Personal Growth

    Cons

    No New Products Quota Issues Content Team Programmatic Candidates over Clients. Monday Moves

    Advice to Management

    Help people find their why. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I LOVE Glassdoor.

    Glassdoor2019-08-08
Found 528 reviews