Glassdoor Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Glassdoor Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 525 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Glassdoor CEO Robert Hohman
Robert Hohman
438 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "As transparent as they come"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    EMEA office is expanding at a rapid rate meaning the buzz about the office is electric. You don't feel like a small fish in a big pond, higher management are approachable and ready to listen, proactive. Not your typical run of the mill sales position, everybody within the office genuinely wants you to do well.

    Cons

    To 'smash targets' is almost expected, it's rewarded generously, but you feel that added pressure.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the transparency burning! To be kept in the know of the business operations and growth plans is powerful, it's keeps you wanting to grow with Glassdoor. All round you're all doing an amazing job, so hats off to you.

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  2. "Feels Like Home When You Walk In!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    During my interview process I felt comfortable. It felt more like a casual conversation than an interview. I was very blessed to have this opportunity.

    Cons

    I will let you know if I ever think of something but I wouldn't hold my breathe. It's a wonderful environment!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Glassdoor2018-12-08
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time

    Pros

    Loads of pros to working here! - Really welcoming and friendly environment to work in, management and coworkers are really approachable and great buzz in the office! - Not a typical cold calling sales role. - Great feeling of togetherness and people working towards the same goal - Management follow through on their aim to be transparent and like to keep everyone in the loop as much as possible! - Great... benefits - Lovely offices with no shortage of drinks and snacks!

    Show More

    Cons

    As the EMEA offices are still growing and an unstructured on-boarding means an overwhelming start, but with everyone so willing to help its easy one to get over. New programmes for on-boarding are being focused on now which means a very exciting time for new starters!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Glassdoor2018-12-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company but be prepared to work hard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Early stages of growth so an exciting time to be in the company and a lot of potential for growth and progression - Still a small company so you can feel valued and your opinion matters, even if you're just a new member - Not a typical cold-calling environment - more of a consultative approach to selling which helps you learn a lot more about the product / service from the beginning of your career - A lot of... nights out and company social events to enjoy - Relatively young team so there's a lot of energy and the culture is great - Great people to learn off and grow as a sales person - BAMF - Pizza Fridays - Free Snacks, beers, wine, VitHits

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be difficult at times and quota does not change if you have paid time off so this can be very stressful, especially for new starts which causes people to work unsociable hours and weekends - Promotion timeline and criteria has been very vague so expectations aren't properly set for new joiners

    Advice to Management

    - Have clearer expectations set for new joiners for promotion - As we start to grow, try to maintain the culture (BAMF, Kuddle etc.) - Be more realistic with quotas so that people don't feel guilty for taking time off

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome place to intern!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, great leadership, awesome projects

    Cons

    none, its a great place to work

    Glassdoor2018-11-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Development Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor is full of great people who you can learn from. The culture is great with plenty of social events. There are plenty of benefits, from unlimited annual leave, private health insurance, a good pension scheme and pizza on Friday's.. We also have free snacks (crisps, popcorn, cans of coke, vit hits, fulfill bars, pistachios etc). We also have a fridge of beers, wine etc. The EMEA region is expanding so there... are lots of opportunities to learn, grow and apply for new roles. The location is right beside Stephens Green in Dublin 2 so very central and easy to get to. Overall it is a great place to work, the team are all very supportive and are able to have a laugh!

    Show More

    Cons

    -Promotion timeline has been unclear and vague, so expectations were not set properly for new starters which leads to disappointment and frustration. -Quota is quite high and can be stressful. You don't get quota relief when you take time off, so it is hard to hit your monthly quota/targets. The workload can be a lot and pressuring. - If you don't hit quota, your commission isn't great -Work/Life balance can be... hard to maintain at times due to high quota

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -More transparency with regards to promotions and timelines -Each individual should be managed differently -Try to maintain the great culture we have as we continue to grow and expand!

    Glassdoor2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (29)

    "Highly political environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Mill Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Glassdoor provides individuals starting out a great opportunity for learning how to operate at a very high caliber, use data to prove a point and take on challenging work.

    Cons

    The environment here is highly political. If you’re not having lunch with the right people, going to most social events or making the right friends, it will be difficult to climb the ladder here.

    Advice to Management

    Crack down on office politics.

    Glassdoor2018-10-16

    Glassdoor Response

    December 12, 2018VP, Marketing

    Dear Glassdoor Marketing Alum, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value hearing what's going well and what we can improve upon. We strive to provide transparency in decision-making, to provide clear and actionable feedback to team members in support ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Mission-Driven, Impactful & Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Success Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    While I hate to start this off by mimicking the other reviews, the truth is that by far the greatest aspect of working at Glassdoor is the people. Though I worked on the Customer Success team, I became close with members across several other departments, and there really is a sense that everyone is in it together. The mission of the company to help job seekers find the job that fits their life and to help... employers tell their story and hire great talent is central to everything the company does. Yes, there are times when things can be a bit out of sync between departments, the overall vibe is that you're in it together. I think it goes without saying that the shining light for over a year now has been the VP of Customer Success. I joined Glassdoor's CS team at a time when people were leaving left and right, there was no path for anyone to grow, and you weren't really sure what your priorities and function were. Chris came in and turned the whole org (and frankly the company) on its head and has made everything significantly better. I left a review about a year ago stating that he had stated a goal of making Customer Success THE department that people want to work in; and while I was extremely skeptical of that stretch goal (given the history of the department in the year leading up to then), I am extremely happy to say that I believe he has achieved that goal. In the CS department, I really felt that he cared about the team's successful, as well as my own personal success. My managers supported and empowered me, and the position of CS within the company became one where CSMs were respected for the work they did and looked up to as experts in a number of areas. Additionally, he addressed a major pain point by elevating salaries to a competitive level for the SF Bay Area. Beyond that, bringing in a fantastic Director of Customer Success up-leveled the work we were able to do. I don't know if it was intentional or a happy accident, but by hiring someone with a complete opposite personality I believe the complement each other beautifully and create a great leadership team for ~50 CSMs. Had it not been for an amazing opportunity that I couldn't have passed up, I would've surely stayed at Glassdoor. And lastly, who wouldn't love free parking, free food, fantastic work-life balance, a waterfront location, and dogs E V E R Y W H E R E.

    Show More

    Cons

    Keep showing the love to CS and letting the CSMs do their thing. Really, the only major cons I can think of would be assistance in paying the GGB toll to get to and from the office in Mill Valley and stability in book changes and CSM/AM alignment changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do, and try to find a way to better connect the MV & Chicago CSM teams.

    Glassdoor2018-10-01

    Glassdoor Response

    November 15, 2018VP Customer Success

    Dear Glassdoor CS Alum Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review! It's always valuable for us to hear about the experience of working with our team. It's really great to hear that your time in Customer Success at Glassdoor was a positive experience for you. ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (35)

    "Sales - great place if you are positive, patient, and adaptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mill Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great People from Peers to Leaders - working here is genuinely fun and the people are awesome! In addition to senior leadership being super personable and humble, I've made some great friends here and am almost always happy to come into work every morning to see my coworkers/friends even though I have the flexibility to work from home! I do not take this for granted as I know what it’s like from past jobs to dread... going to work every day. * Constant Learning Opportunities - there is a lot to learn in Account Management. From formal Franklin Covey Sales Training to tribal knowledge (and a pretty unique knowledge-sharing sales culture) to working with clients in a variety of industries I am constantly sharpening my skills. Even when you know how to do your job there is ample opportunity to get involved cross-functionally, with trainings, interviews, etc and continue learning about business. * Managers in Growth - tend to be awesome. I’ve worked closely with all of the managers in SMB Growth and have found them to all be incredible people. I've loved both my managers and they have definitely been instrumental in motivating me to stay at Glassdoor through good times and bad!! * Flexible Schedule/Travel Opportunity - Managers in Growth are understanding about working from home which is amazing. I don’t use it that often but it’s great to feel like I am trusted and treated with respect. I often feel like I truly am the owner of my own business (my book of clients). Working with clients across locations and industries is really fun and we get the opportunity to plan our own travel to in person client meetings which is awesome! * Mission - easy to get behind. For all the random tech companies to sell for, I might not be saving lives but maybe I’m helping a company hire people who are :) * Dogs in the office are the best thing ever, definitely make my day every day! * Office Location - being on the water in Mill Valley is amazing. The reverse commute is easy, it is serene environment and beautiful to get out of the city and have lunch outside every day * Food - I genuinely appreciate the daily catered lunch, tea/snacks. They have options for every dietary restriction which goes a long way!

    Show More

    Cons

    * Culture on the Decline - Our culture has suffered a lot recently, and I'm not sure why or how to fix it. The Fun Committee has pretty much disappeared. Monthly happy hours that used to be a blast have virtually zero attendance. It makes me sad how impersonal/automated company and department wide communications have become. * @Sales Leadership: Bluejeans Sales Huddles suck! It was way more fun and motivating when... we convened in the cafe. I am guessing these measures have been taken to save time/efficiency but the result is a disjointed community and everyone is multitasking, not actually paying attention to the meetings as we would in person. This also takes away face-time with leadership that we really enjoyed! I also feel this way about the Video Company All Hands - which I’m guessing <50% of the company actually watched. I don’t think I'm the only one who STRONGLY prefers real meetings. * SMB Growth partnership with CSS on Job Ads is NOT working. We need to allow high-spending job-ads accounts to have CSMs. I want to sell my clients the product that is the right fit to help them succeed, but it is getting to a point where i am fearful to move clients from slots to ads because there is a major risk the campaigns will not launch and will not perform as they are barely managed. When growth reps are measured on MCV and selling POCs we are being set up to fail attainment-wise if the trials we sell do not even launch so we obviously can’t prove performance in a short period. Glassdoor is an amazing product when we launch and when educated CSMs are managing campaigns - please help us help our clients succeed!! * FY19 Sales Changes are a Bummer - We moved from a Bookings attainment model to Monthly Contract Value (MCV) and it has been a nightmare. Even after finally understanding how it works (far into the fiscal year, and I’m sure some people are still lost), it became apparent how flawed this model is. It is not motivating in the way Bookings was and forecasting is a headache and a half. MCV doesn’t make sense for getting promoted/switching roles or leaving the company because there is no way for reps to get credit in these situations and it's shocking that there was no foresight into this. Leadership tries to spin it as that we should do what is best for the business but at the end of the day that is an unreasonable ask - I am a sales person and am motivated by getting credit for what I sell. Please switch back to bookings in FY20! * Forecasting Mess - I know this has been mentioned in other reviews. We switched forecasting tools form Clari to Aviso which has been a struggle since Aviso doesn’t work, deals randomly fall out, notes won’t update etc. I spend 2x as long on forecasting as I used to when we used Clari. This tool was supposed to be rolled out to use at the start of FY19 (April) but it is now almost half way through the year and it is still not working. It’s hard to get excited about promises made at SKO when the result is this far off year after year. How does it take this long? * Onboarding is Not Great - important note if you are considering accepting a job at Glassdoor: our on boarding experience in growth can be a bit of a “find your own way” experience as training is geared towards new business. Luckily, people are generally really nice and happy to help, but it’s not a hand-held easy training experience last time I checked. Be ready to make your own way, start-up style... even though we are not a start-up anymore which is awkward. * Billing & Sales Ops are both ridiculously understaffed, which has a major negative impact on sales teams. Leadership/HR if you read this - please please hire more billing people!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I know we as Glassdoor do our best to “walk the talk” of transparency and valuing the employee experience. I am proud to work here and love being a champion for Glassdoor and working with my clients. I would not do anything differently, and hope to continue wanting to stay here for several more years. That said, morale in Growth is pretty low right now and I’m starting to worry I won’t be motivated to get promoted... to Enterprise Growth if things don’t change due to the pain they are experiencing (per the recent reviews). I am hopeful that you will listen to my and others' feedback and try to make change. Thank you for reading this!

    Show More
    Glassdoor2018-08-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work but financially rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Glassdoor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, really good training and learning curve. Everyone is working towards a common goal. Office is in a fantastic location

    Cons

    More challenging then it seems.. can be difficult to work towards, meet & exceed target assigned. Work life balance is hard to maintain if you are not on track to overachieve

    Advice to Management

    Longer ramping period. More transparency on changes within teams.

    Glassdoor2018-11-10
Found 525 reviews