FreshBooks Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

FreshBooks Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
FreshBooks Co-Founder & CEO Mike McDerment
Mike McDerment
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, top talents - one team culture/ mindset(in 9 reviews)

  • "The kind of work-life balance one can find at FreshBooks is rare elsewhere(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "We are feeling some growing pains as we are in the process of scaling fairly quickly(in 5 reviews)

  • "Recent departures may be a little worrying(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Maintaining client relationships with our high valued customers and upselling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreshBooks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    "Culture-Add", Genuine, Fast growing and work-life balance

    Cons

    If you're looking for a job downtown Toronto, it is - keep in mind it is in High Park area though. There is a Go station right beside it though and 20 min drive to core downtown/40 min transit.

    FreshBooks2019-11-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A call center by any other name."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Rockstar in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FreshBooks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Unlimited coffee, snacks and beer. -Private bathrooms with soft soap and high quality toilet paper. Best bathroom situation I've ever seen in an office. -Mostly friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    -Office is out of the way if you take transit. -Too many meetings. -A lot of unhappy customers due to ongoing product changes/unresolved product bugs. You'll be saddled with a lot of tickets you won't be able to resolve. -Low starting pay. Non negotiable 43k start and the pay raise structure was strange, based in "going market rate" (how they arrive at this figure is anyone's guess) rather than job performance. -My team leader would pester me within minutes of starting my shift if I wasn't on the phone, yet others would be logged off the phone for hours without consequence. Obvious preferential treatment. -Clients were generally rubes. Of course there were some nice, intelligent ones. But it's clear many of these people were starting their own business because they couldn't get hired anywhere. Incredibly frustrating to deal with. -It's the type of place where people declare their "pronouns" in their email signatures. You get the idea. This could be a plus or negative depending on who you are...

    Continue reading
    FreshBooks2019-11-23
  3. "so nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreshBooks part-time

    Pros

    ;one working for them

    Cons

    there's no growing in there e

    FreshBooks2019-10-31
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Rockstar 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreshBooks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Slew of in-office and as-needed amenities - Tremendous support for employee success - Friendly and authentic co-workers, comfortable open-concept office - Growing and ambitious company

    Cons

    Some customers will get upset with you, but that's the nature of customer support. Even then, however, the company has your back and will not allow you to be abused.

    FreshBooks2019-08-23
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FreshBooks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, work environment, people are nice

    Cons

    Extended work hours, communication issues, hard to see future

    FreshBooks2019-09-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Web Developer 

    I worked at FreshBooks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good people - Good mission - Beautiful office - Cross-functional practice is great

    Cons

    - Too risk-averse to technical changes, meaning debt gets solved late - Pay corrections are about impossible to get - Slightly culty vibe

    FreshBooks2019-08-05
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Unrealistic play at product space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at FreshBooks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The utmost respect goes to FreshBooks' quality of customer service. The kind of work-life balance one can find at FreshBooks is rare elsewhere. Whether this is due to lack of sense of urgency and accountability of timelines, or due to great corporate culture, is debatable.

    Cons

    By attempting to launch a product that appears modern, the product has abandoned important use cases of its core and most supportive demographic / most valuable customers. When does who gets to career progress what? A game of dice and luck.

    Continue reading
    FreshBooks2019-07-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "PHP sucks but developers were great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at FreshBooks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hires well. Worked with great people.

    Cons

    The culture is more suited for extroverts. Company has trouble hanging on to talent

    FreshBooks2019-06-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Progressive environment that rewards success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at FreshBooks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have chosen some top-notch directors in the marketing department. They give the staff a lot of autonomy, while providing support and direction. I've worked at FreshBooks for one year and our team has overperformed and we've got a lot of recognition and it feels great.

    Cons

    This is the best place I've worked in tech for over 10 years. The onboarding "month in support" could probably be shortened to better support their future teammates.

    Continue reading
    FreshBooks2019-05-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at FreshBooks full-time

    Pros

    Very fast moving and enjoyable workplace

    Cons

    High expectations of all employees, which is fair!

    FreshBooks2019-05-15
Found 74 reviews