Family Insurance Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Family Insurance Solutions Reviews

Updated May 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Family Insurance Solutions CEO Graham Doerr (no image)
Graham Doerr
1 Ratings
  1. "Best Company I Have Worked For."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Family Insurance Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family offers an incredibly supportive environment where employees are valued as much as their customers. The company has great benefits and work life balance is ingrained in the culture. More than that, I feel like my ideas get heard and are appreciated by my manager. Your career is what you make of it and if you have the drive to succeed, it can happen with Family.

    Cons

    I have tried to think of a realistic con but nothing comes to mind. Compared to a lot of other companies out there, Family is doing it right.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees and continue to make them feel like valued members of the team.

    Family Insurance Solutions2018-02-20
  2. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Family Insurance Solutions

    Pros

    great benefits, lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    Salaries are not very high especially in underwriting apartment

    Family Insurance Solutions2018-05-30
  3. "If you want to progress in your tech career, look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Family Insurance Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many great people at this company and the benefits are amazing. Interactions can be just like a 'family' at times, some may see this as a con, but I enjoyed the honest atmosphere.

    Cons

    There are communication inefficiencies and severe language barriers in the development department which senior management will not address. I would not recommend a career in this department for this reason alone, it is nearly impossible to understand the messages being delivered.

    Advice to Management

    You need to change the guard in certain departments if you want to attract talent that wants to stay with Family.

    Family Insurance Solutions2018-02-14

    Family Insurance Solutions Response

    June 4, 2018HR Manager

    On behalf of our COO: I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. You’re right about how great our people are at Family, I am proud of the talented team members we have, not only in our technology department but across the organization. I am pleased that you found our benefits to be amazing, we strive to offer a great total rewards package. At Family, we are proud of our diverse and inclusive work environment, our company is stronger because of the varied work and life experiences, backgrounds and perspectives our employees bring to the table each and every day. Our technology team have created and continue to do an remarkable job enhancing our proprietary POS system, let me thank you for the contributions you made during your time here. I am sorry to learn that your overall experience at Family was impacted by communication barriers, we value and consider all feedback and we’ll continue to look for ways to improve communication. Graham

    Show Less
  4. "Positive environment that values its people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Family Insurance Solutions

    Pros

    *Recognizes that we 'the employees' are important to the companies success and values us and our opinions. *Good work/life balance *Great benefits, perks and social events

    Cons

    no cons come to mind that aren't prevalent in other companies/industry. We are always re-assessing the way we do things, to do them better and some people find this more difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Keep asking your people for their input and empower them to make changes.

    Family Insurance Solutions2017-03-02
  5. "Work at Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Family Insurance Solutions for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and accepting environment, smart staffs, nice management! good place to work!

    Cons

    The P&C industry in BC is relatively not quite active as other province

    Family Insurance Solutions2015-07-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good times at well funded and organized insurance company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Family Insurance Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    Family Insurance has great people, is a very accepting workplace, stable environment and comfortable work environment. People work hard, but have a very regular hours.

    Cons

    They are a little inflexible on scheduling and the insurance industry is not particularly exciting

    Family Insurance Solutions2013-08-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Family Insurance Solutions

    Pros

    Very good benefits, work-life balance is alright with 3 weeks' vacation. The senior management makes some effort for the staff.

    Cons

    Departments do not talk to each other. The culture can also be very different from one department to the next. The pay is fairly average.

    Family Insurance Solutions2013-05-28
  8. "Accounting Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Family Insurance Solutions

    Pros

    good leadership, great department to work in.

    Cons

    no flexibility, poor work life balance but not too bad.

    Family Insurance Solutions2016-06-07
Found 8 reviews