Devon Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Devon Energy Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 355 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Devon Energy CEO John Richels
John Richels
192 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be laid off sooner than a lot of other oil and gas companies if downturn occurs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Their hiring process revolves around whether or not you are willing to stay in Oklahoma City long term(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Strong technical leadership, skilled co-workers, compensation, long term incentives.

    Cons

    Unstable due to asset sales. The end of an era.

    Devon Energy2019-06-23
  2. "Joint Venture Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    The Well, trust, opportunity for more complex tasks, the people

    Cons

    Scope of work, micro management

    Devon Energy2019-06-22
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    They really care about their folks and always try to do the right thing. I have loved working here!

    Cons

    Too bad the just sold their Canadian assets. I will miss working at Devon!

    Devon Energy2019-06-11
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and company culture. Excellent benefits and savings plan.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to advance within the company.

    Devon Energy2019-06-06
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay and work life balance options

    Cons

    Moral has been down for years due to continuous mgmt change, layoffs and uncertainty

    Devon Energy2019-06-03
  6. "Many good years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Professional in Calgary, AB

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, vacation, flex days

    Cons

    people are a bit edgy due to uncertainty of current environment

    Advice to Management

    Good if them to treat personnel fairly to the very end!

    Devon Energy2019-05-29
  7. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Devon Energy full-time

      Pros

      - great organization with a gym in the building for staff. Excellent pay and great benefits

      Cons

      I really enjoyed my time working at Devon and have zero complaints or issues.

      Advice to Management

      Push for results. the company is known as a bit of a country club. Could lose a little to strive for growth.

      Devon Energy2019-05-02
    • "Was amazing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Middle Management in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good place to work and make a difference. Currently up for sale.

      Cons

      Things are status quo / quiet until divestiture is completed

      Advice to Management

      Keep employees up to date. Even if there is nothing to add

      Devon Energy2019-04-24
    • "Senior engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Devon Energy full-time

      Pros

      well structured, smart people to work with

      Cons

      company organizational heirarchy based mainly on seniority over talent

      Devon Energy2019-03-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "PRODUCTION OPERATOR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Operator in Lac La Biche, AB
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great pay, benefits and camp

      Cons

      J3 "D" Crew guys were way too clique-ish and alienated contractors and targeted employeees

      Advice to Management

      2017 to 2019: J3 "D" Crew operators were very disrespectful, arrogant and clique-ish. They alienated contractors and targeted employees. Members of the clique worked extremely well together but failed badly with the team concept. There were only three of them that were decent people.

      Devon Energy2019-03-18
    Found 355 reviews