Devon Energy Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
52%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Devon Energy President, CEO, and Director John Richels
John Richels
209 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be laid off sooner than a lot of other oil and gas companies if downturn occurs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Their hiring process revolves around whether or not you are willing to stay in Oklahoma City long term(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administrator II in Lloydminster, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Devon Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Safety Culture Active, Present, and Fair management Lots of training Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Remote work locations Job dependent on oil & gas prices, Cyclic

    Continue reading
    Devon Energy2020-01-30
  2. "Great Place to Work Except the Annual Purge"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Planning Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pays well Hires great talent so great mentoring Engaging work in some groups

    Cons

    Annual large scale job cuts CEO that is more interested in doing what investors want rather than what is good for the company

    Continue reading
    Devon Energy2020-01-23
  3. "Had a great work culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Vacation Purchase Top Tier Benefits Good Management

    Cons

    Not diversified in Canada Somewhat bureaucratic

    Devon Energy2019-11-09
  4. "Great Company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Accounting 

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Free Gym Access

    Cons

    Big push to automate jobs

    Devon Energy2019-10-08
  5. "Administrative Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, interesting work - loved going to work each day!

    Cons

    Devon Canada is no longer - assets sold.

    Devon Energy2019-10-07
  6. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and Perks

    Cons

    Not much to say

    Devon Energy2019-10-19
  7. "Was good while it lasted"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Almost everything was great about Devon Canada

    Cons

    it exited canada and is no longer an option

    Devon Energy2019-09-05
  8. "The best, I loved working there."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent compensation, always challenging work.

    Cons

    No flexibility in work schedule.

    Devon Energy2019-08-30
  9. "Enjoyable place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surface Landman in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good people to work with

    Cons

    No downsides - treated very well

    Devon Energy2019-08-27
  10. "great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    -respect from senior management -focus on innovation and effectiveness

    Cons

    -little turnover over the years have created an environment where new ideas and new ways of doing business are received with uncertainty

    Devon Energy2019-08-21
Found 384 reviews