Devon Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Devon Energy Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Devon Energy CEO John Richels
John Richels
202 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be laid off sooner than a lot of other oil and gas companies if downturn occurs(in 12 reviews)

  • "Their hiring process revolves around whether or not you are willing to stay in Oklahoma City long term(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, interesting work - loved going to work each day!

    Cons

    Devon Canada is no longer - assets sold.

    Devon Energy2019-10-07
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounting 

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Free Gym Access

    Cons

    Big push to automate jobs

    Devon Energy2019-10-08
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and Perks

    Cons

    Not much to say

    Devon Energy2019-10-19
  4. "Was good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Almost everything was great about Devon Canada

    Cons

    it exited canada and is no longer an option

    Devon Energy2019-09-05
  5. "The best, I loved working there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent compensation, always challenging work.

    Cons

    No flexibility in work schedule.

    Devon Energy2019-08-30
  6. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surface Landman in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good people to work with

    Cons

    No downsides - treated very well

    Devon Energy2019-08-27
  7. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Calgary, AB

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    -respect from senior management -focus on innovation and effectiveness

    Cons

    -little turnover over the years have created an environment where new ideas and new ways of doing business are received with uncertainty

    Devon Energy2019-08-21
  8. "Best Company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Operator in Bonnyville, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Above industry average wages. Good bonus incentives and motivation to succeed. Fantastic benefits. Corporate culture of respect for employees, environment, and regulatory compliance.

    Cons

    Could be indecisive at times. They sold us to CNRL.

    Advice to Management

    Come back to Canada. CNRL sucks.

    Devon Energy2019-08-14
  9. "Great Company to work for in Canada, Sad to see it go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for in Calgary, Great culture, people and benefits. Very collaborative and innovative environment

    Cons

    No Longer in Canada, only OKC based now

    Devon Energy2019-08-12
  10. "Great place in tough industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 

    I worked at Devon Energy full-time

    Pros

    Strong coaching and development Great benefits

    Cons

    Cost cutting led to lean model

    Devon Energy2019-08-02
Found 373 reviews