D2L Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

D2L Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 294 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
D2L CEO John Baker
John Baker
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is a key focus in the organization, and mental health is actually taken seriously(in 38 reviews)

  • "There are fantastic perks; WFH policies, dogs in the office, on-site gym, phone and internet stipend, and more(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not unique to D2L, but industry has high turnover(in 11 reviews)

  • "Company also made big mistake by hiring senior managers / losers from RIM/Blackberry(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be welcome very warmly

    Cons

    Sometimes you are overwhelmed with the work load

    D2L2019-10-11
  2. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Strong HR culture, great team activities

    Cons

    Raises are few and far between, and an absolute battle

    D2L2019-10-08
  3. "Great culture and leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment and helpful teams all around. Working with such smart and talented people is refreshing. Transparent leadership and great mission and vision. A company with so much heart!

    Cons

    There are none at this time.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-09-25
  4. "Great mission, vision and values to get behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Awesome mission to be a part of. Can see how your everyday work affects the world in an attempt to make it a better place.

    Cons

    Services side of the business is a great place to work especially if you are male.

    D2L2019-09-29

    D2L Response

    October 7, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback. At D2L, we value diverse teams and strive to create an inclusive work environment for all D2Lers. We understand that there is always room for improvement and feedback from our employees is extremely useful in helping us identify potential blind spots. We would welcome the opportunity to better understand your concerns and invite you to reach out to me, April Oman or your People and Culture Business Partner.

    Continue reading
  5. "Purpose over Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the non-profit sector before coming to D2L, so I was looking for an organization that had a mission to do something good for humanity and I've found it here. Not only are my co-workers empathetic and focused on doing good, but they also act with a high level of professionalism. I'm supported to work from home and we use communication tools that foster connection and make it easier for remote employees to feel connected. We get 2 days per year to use for volunteer activities and and a Wellness Stipend to put towards fitness classes, etc. Clients are generally quite happy with the product and our service, which makes the work environment pleasant.

    Cons

    No salary transparency, minimal annual increases (sometimes less than inflation, depending on where you live), so negotiate a high starting wage! As in all tech companies, change happens quickly (for better or for worse).

    D2L2019-09-11

    D2L Response

    September 16, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! At D2L we use the most up to date market data to ensure our pay is competitive across all regions. We strive to offer employees a Total Rewards package that allows them to do the best work of their lives, and evaluate employee pay twice a year to ensure we reward growth and development within the organization. We are actively working to build more pay transparency by ensuring our leaders are equipped with an understanding of our compensation philosophy, as well as ensuring employees are aware of all aspects of our Total Rewards offerings. We appreciate your feedback, and you taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  6. "Highly Recommend - A Company that is Learning and Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design and Development Leader in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Most mission driven company I’ve worked for. I love that I can apply my skills and efforts towards a cause whose value to society is so clear. * Great customers, very engaged in shaping our product direction. * Colleagues are as smart and talented as any I’ve worked with anywhere, including the San Francisco Bay area

    Cons

    * We have had to go through some big transitions like a major upgrade to our user experience and moving our customers to the public cloud. These big investments are valuable for our users and definitely worth it. But, it has required a lot of time from many of our top people. * We and our users have tons of ideas for how to make our products even better. It is difficult to have to choose to work on relatively few things at once. We can get better at the process by which we prioritize.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-08-07

    D2L Response

    August 23, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    This is some awesome feedback! I know we have a lot going on right now but we have some awesome leaders driving us through our mission. We have an amazing story and I agree we need to find more ways to spread what we've accomplished. Great to hear you are enjoying your career here. Really appreciate you taking the time to review.

    Continue reading
  7. "Stealthy good work increasingly being recognized in industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Ambitious mission - Huge growth potential - Maturing in all areas of the business

    Cons

    - Too much opportunity means it's hard to make tough choices - A tendency to continue to start new things, but, not so good at ending the old things

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-08-02

    D2L Response

    September 6, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review. It's such an exciting time as we are growing rapidly and mission driven. With that said, it does come with challenges but I feel we have the right leaders in place to keep us focused and inspired. Really appreciate the feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work from home options

    Cons

    Leadership, Team Management, Workload

    D2L2019-08-13
  9. "Couldn't Recommend this Company More!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fantastic company to work for, you can tell that they really care about each individual.

    Cons

    It would be nice to have a couple more tools to use on the sales team, but progress is being made in that direction.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-08-01

    D2L Response

    August 5, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review. I couldn't agree more! We have a talented sales team and always looking for new tools for efficiencies. Really appreciate the feedback :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Mission and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at D2L full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Education is a great mission. Beautiful offices and solid perks. Great people who are smart and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Trying to do all the things for all the markets. The organization continues to chase an IPO to the detriment of product success.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-07-07

    D2L Response

    July 10, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review. It's true, we are trying to focus on all markets but that's because the future of work depends on it, since learning shouldn't stop when you finish school. Respectfully, we're not chasing an IPO, we are adapting to the needs of current students entering the workforce and current employee's development to stay successful in the Age of Learning. We want our products to support life long learning and that's our mission. https://www.linkedin.com/feed/hashtag/?keywords=%23FutureOfWork.

    Continue reading
Found 294 reviews
</>Embed