D2L Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

D2L Reviews

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
D2L CEO John Baker
John Baker
210 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is a key focus in the organization, and mental health is actually taken seriously(in 39 reviews)

  • "There are fantastic perks; WFH policies, dogs in the office, on-site gym, phone and internet stipend, and more(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not unique to D2L, but industry has high turnover(in 11 reviews)

  • "Company also made big mistake by hiring senior managers / losers from RIM/Blackberry(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Switched Roles - New Challenges, same great outcomes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Some of the smartest individuals in the industry work here and are very accessible -So many learning opportunities if you are willing to set aside the time -Passionate people about the industry, company, and product -Product is constantly improving and I love the direction it's going.

    Cons

    -Some opportunities to be more open to internal feedback on direction setting

    D2L2019-11-05

    D2L Response

    November 26, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to review. Excellent feedback and glad to hear you are enjoying your new role! We pride ourselves on having a learning culture and promoting from within. We're going to continue working on career mapping for future employee development plans and opportunities for growth. Appreciate your insight and wish you all the continued success!

    Continue reading
  2. "Still going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with everyday, some of the most passionate and dedicated i have ever worked with. Leadership continuing to focus on fewer things.

    Cons

    Internal transfers take too long

    D2L2019-12-09
  3. "It's a decent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at D2L full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    RRSP matching (up to 4%), Ok benefits, relative job security.

    Cons

    Code base is dated and a nightmare to work with. Most work available is just patching/maintaining old problems from (over?) a decade ago.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-11-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly great people, not so good for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Smart people willing to share their knowledge. Some good perks. The mission and vision of the company is what attracts and keeps people

    Cons

    Not a great place to be a woman in technology. There are a handful of people that seem to want to take up arms against any effort to focus on recruiting women and removing barriers for our growth and success. There's the odd creepy, line-crossing person as well. The company tries to make in-roads here and there, but it often results in making women feel even more awkward and uncomfortable. Pay is quickly becoming low in comparison to other companies in the area. Lots of issues with directing resources toward pleasing one or two customers when they could be used to improve the product overall and innovate. Not much room for career growth as the company is fairly small.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-11-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    They have a decent improving product

    Cons

    Underpay and you need to fight for your raises!!

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-11-20

    D2L Response

    November 29, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to review. At D2L we evaluate employee pay multiple times a year to ensure we reward growth and development across the organization. That's very important to us. We also use the most up to date market data from industry leading salary surveys to confirm our pay is competitive across all regions. We appreciate your feedback and concerns and please know you are being heard.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Pay is lower than average

    D2L2019-11-08

    D2L Response

    November 18, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback, At D2L, we use the most up to date market data from industry leading salary surveys to ensure our pay is competitive across all regions. We also evaluate employee pay twice a year to ensure we reward growth and development across the organization. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  7. "Good Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be welcome very warmly

    Cons

    Sometimes you are overwhelmed with the work load

    D2L2019-10-11

    D2L Response

    November 29, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to review. We are a passionate, mission driven bunch for sure! Make sure you are addressing any work load issues with your manager. We don't want you to be overwhelmed. Work/life balance is important :) Appreciate the feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Strong HR culture, great team activities

    Cons

    Raises are few and far between, and an absolute battle

    D2L2019-10-08
  9. "Great culture and leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment and helpful teams all around. Working with such smart and talented people is refreshing. Transparent leadership and great mission and vision. A company with so much heart!

    Cons

    There are none at this time.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-09-25

    D2L Response

    November 7, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review. So awesome to hear you're enjoying your career here so far! Our culture definitely has heart and we take great pride in our mission. Appreciate the feedback! :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Purpose over Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the non-profit sector before coming to D2L, so I was looking for an organization that had a mission to do something good for humanity and I've found it here. Not only are my co-workers empathetic and focused on doing good, but they also act with a high level of professionalism. I'm supported to work from home and we use communication tools that foster connection and make it easier for remote employees to feel connected. We get 2 days per year to use for volunteer activities and and a Wellness Stipend to put towards fitness classes, etc. Clients are generally quite happy with the product and our service, which makes the work environment pleasant.

    Cons

    No salary transparency, minimal annual increases (sometimes less than inflation, depending on where you live), so negotiate a high starting wage! As in all tech companies, change happens quickly (for better or for worse).

    D2L2019-09-11

    D2L Response

    September 16, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! At D2L we use the most up to date market data to ensure our pay is competitive across all regions. We strive to offer employees a Total Rewards package that allows them to do the best work of their lives, and evaluate employee pay twice a year to ensure we reward growth and development within the organization. We are actively working to build more pay transparency by ensuring our leaders are equipped with an understanding of our compensation philosophy, as well as ensuring employees are aware of all aspects of our Total Rewards offerings. We appreciate your feedback, and you taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
Found 305 reviews
</>Embed