D2L Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

D2L Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
D2L President & Chief Executive Officer John Baker
John Baker
209 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is a key focus in the organization, and mental health is actually taken seriously(in 40 reviews)

  • "There are fantastic perks; WFH policies, dogs in the office, on-site gym, phone and internet stipend, and more(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "No pay transparency, high turnover, long decision making processes, disorganized leadership(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company also made big mistake by hiring senior managers / losers from RIM/Blackberry(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Switched Roles - New Challenges, same great outcomes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Some of the smartest individuals in the industry work here and are very accessible -So many learning opportunities if you are willing to set aside the time -Passionate people about the industry, company, and product -Product is constantly improving and I love the direction it's going.

    Cons

    -Some opportunities to be more open to internal feedback on direction setting

    D2L2019-11-05

    D2L Response

    November 26, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to review. Excellent feedback and glad to hear you are enjoying your new role! We pride ourselves on having a learning culture and promoting from within. We're going to continue working on career mapping for future employee development plans and opportunities for growth. Appreciate your insight and wish you all the continued success!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Safe space to grow, but lacking intensity and Desire to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work life balance - Benefits and 4% RRSP Matching - Great Professional development system

    Cons

    - Very HQ focused for events - There is very little drive to over achieve - Fails at achieving business goals

    Continue reading
    D2L2020-02-13
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Company goal has been to make $1 for past 2 years. It's been a long slow fall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Operations in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at D2L full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Snacks, Dog Friendly, OK location, Video games Can hide under the radar of low expectations

    Cons

    There's no sense of urgency to get quality product out the door. Look around the office at 5:01pm there is no one around all. There's tons of issues in the software and no one cares. We can just fix it in a hot fix next week. Google is giving away a competing product for free. The CFO left 2 years ago he saw the writing on the wall. There been a huge staff exodus this year. (From IC's to VPs but tons of in middle management have left leaving a real vacuum) When people leave there's no back fill the high performers have left over the last year now all that's left are the lifers that can't find anything better.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-12-14
  4. "Still going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with everyday, some of the most passionate and dedicated i have ever worked with. Leadership continuing to focus on fewer things.

    Cons

    Internal transfers take too long

    D2L2019-12-09

    D2L Response

    January 10, 2020Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review. Having a career where you are surrounded by amazing and dedicated colleagues is awesome and what we're all about! As for our internal transfer process, we are always looking for ways to improve and it's something we will look at this upcoming fiscal. Appreciate your feedback!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Mostly great people, not so good for women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Smart people willing to share their knowledge. Some good perks. The mission and vision of the company is what attracts and keeps people

    Cons

    Not a great place to be a woman in technology. There are a handful of people that seem to want to take up arms against any effort to focus on recruiting women and removing barriers for our growth and success. There's the odd creepy, line-crossing person as well. The company tries to make in-roads here and there, but it often results in making women feel even more awkward and uncomfortable. Pay is quickly becoming low in comparison to other companies in the area. Lots of issues with directing resources toward pleasing one or two customers when they could be used to improve the product overall and innovate. Not much room for career growth as the company is fairly small.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-11-20

    D2L Response

    January 23, 2020CTO

    Hi, thanks for providing your feedback - definitely something I want to pay attention to. I'll start with the statement that at D2L, we value diverse teams and strive to create an inclusive and respectful work environment for women and all D2Lers. There is undeniably room for improvement and we've spent 2019 (and continue to increase it in 2020) getting feedback and help from our employees as it is extremely useful in helping us identify potential blind spots. Increasing women in roles where they are underrepresented at D2L is something our leadership team is very committed to and actively focused on improving. It’s concerning to me personally to hear that there may be areas within D2L that you encountered (and others may to) where you felt this is not the case, and that there could have been people not aligned to our diversity and inclusiveness goals. We need to work to understand and address this. Given the importance of this topic we would welcome the opportunity to better understand your expressed concerns and invite you to reach out in confidence to Meagan Good, your People and Culture Business Partner or myself to discuss (if you are comfortable doing so). At minimum I, our leadership team and PnC have been using this glassdoor post as an example of the nature of the challenge we need to address and why it's critical we do so. I want to work towards having D2L be a place that comes to mind first when talking about great examples of diversity, inclusion and belonging and acknowledge we have a way to go to get there. Thanks for helping in that change, I appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's a decent place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Kitchener, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at D2L full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    RRSP matching (up to 4%), Ok benefits, relative job security.

    Cons

    Code base is dated and a nightmare to work with. Most work available is just patching/maintaining old problems from (over?) a decade ago.

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-11-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    They have a decent improving product

    Cons

    Underpay and you need to fight for your raises!!

    Continue reading
    D2L2019-11-20

    D2L Response

    November 29, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to review. At D2L we evaluate employee pay multiple times a year to ensure we reward growth and development across the organization. That's very important to us. We also use the most up to date market data from industry leading salary surveys to confirm our pay is competitive across all regions. We appreciate your feedback and concerns and please know you are being heard.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Pay is lower than average

    D2L2019-11-08

    D2L Response

    November 18, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback, At D2L, we use the most up to date market data from industry leading salary surveys to ensure our pay is competitive across all regions. We also evaluate employee pay twice a year to ensure we reward growth and development across the organization. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to leave a review!

    Continue reading
  9. "Good Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be welcome very warmly

    Cons

    Sometimes you are overwhelmed with the work load

    D2L2019-10-11

    D2L Response

    November 29, 2019Senior Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to review. We are a passionate, mission driven bunch for sure! Make sure you are addressing any work load issues with your manager. We don't want you to be overwhelmed. Work/life balance is important :) Appreciate the feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D2L full-time

    Pros

    Strong HR culture, great team activities

    Cons

    Raises are few and far between, and an absolute battle

    D2L2019-10-08
Found 304 reviews
</>Embed