Canadian Tire Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,256 of over 2,505 reviews

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Canadian Tire Chief Executive Officer Greg Hicks
Greg Hicks
236 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity to move around and try different things, profit sharing, employee discount(in 117 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance in the company(in 99 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Very demanding depending on the department for a minimum wage job(in 63 reviews)

  • "need longer breaks for long hours(in 38 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Canadian Tire is the best place to work

      Jul 28, 2021 - Front End Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is the best company and everyone in this place are very friendly. I would love to work there again

      Cons

      I dint find any cons in Canadian Tire in my last 3 years. I would say it was a very friendly environment to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Canadian Tire

      Jul 28, 2021 - Automotive Service Technician in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Profit sharing/pension plan. Potential paycheck bonuses. Flexible hours for scheduling. Ability to transfer stores if need be. Always quite busy.

      Cons

      As per a lot of job there is some drama and politics involved, but with such young staff it is to be expected a times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Culture and Benefits

      Jul 21, 2021 - Senior Operations Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and compensation with a very flexible remote working setup. They have gone above and beyond to give people options that work for them and we have the flexibility to choose what level of in-office vs remote works best for ourselves and for our teams. They reward employees that work hard, support advanced education (through compensation and paid time to learn in many cases), and have a lot of internal opportunities to grow your career.

      Cons

      Retail doesn't always compensate as good as other industries for doing equal work, but the benefits of working with a great culture outweigh the minor differences in salary from other industries.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Severely Underpaid

      Jul 29, 2021 - Marketing Promotional Planner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Like any company, sometimes you will have good or bad managers. In general there is a culture where the company wants to set you up for success in career. Lots of opportunities for career development, just difficult to move on as there can be some "soft rules" and red tape. If you are an exceptional employee then you will be rewarded.

      Cons

      The company seriously needs to review their compensation base salary. They are severely underpaying employees. The annual salary review is a slap in the face as it doesn't even cover inflation. Never hire backfills quickly which means employees are forced to work overtime with terrible pay. Executives get great bonuses while the workers get absolutely no benefit.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      OK Job.

      Jul 26, 2021 - Sales Associate in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. The store manager is considerate when you need flexible working hours. 2. The owners order free lunch for everyone once a month.

      Cons

      1. The supervisors are rude and do not care about your welfare. 2. Favoritism. They'd cut down on my hours whilst everyone on my team gets full hours. I'd constantly be scheduled to close all week during very bitter winter nights. I complained once and was told "take it or leave it" 3. No clearly written contract. 6 months on the job and I found out some folks get extra benefits. 4. Poor compensation.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Standard Corporate environment but not the worst

      Jul 13, 2021 - Senior Data Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      > friendly, respectful and resourceful colleagues > living up to the big data reality and reporting needs > decent benefits and fair compensation given my situation (senior role though with only 1 year of experience)

      Cons

      > slow corporate environment, therefore slow to change > many chains of command and not total "red tapes", but "yellow tapes" (warning, probably won't get done) everywhere > people leaving is faster than people joining (during my time anyway), so burnout is fast and bound to happen

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Jul 31, 2021 - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours and fair pay

      Cons

      Constant heavy lifting and boring

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Jul 24, 2021 - Analytics Developer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - You get to work with a variety of teams and learn a lot. - You get a 2000 budget to spend on education each year.

      Cons

      - Decision making can get very bureaucratical - Tech systems arent the best at training new people coming in, you have to learn on the job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Standard

      Jul 27, 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in various departments while I was a student and they were always flexible with my schedule.

      Cons

      Low pay, and 1 performance review over a 4 year period.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s good

      Jul 24, 2021 - Online Orders 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a job and you get benefits and I would recommend this job to a family member or friend

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons for this job just be open minded keep your head up

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,256 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Canadian Tire Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Canadian Tire? Share Your Experiences

    Canadian Tire logo
    or